Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best controller
Well i bought a gamecube a couple of weeks ago and i thought what a weird controller, but when i held it in my hand it felt like there was nothing there, and the buttons were perfectly placed, the thumbstick is good (N64 thumb stick) and the C stick is good. It is light to. I then held a Xbox controller (Controller S) and it was uncomfortable. The A button is perfect and...
Published on 29 Sep 2005 by shouten92

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware unofficial controllers sent as substitute
This listing clearly shows an official nintendo gamecube controller. However the controller I was sent was a substitute and not the official controller I expected - Beware!
Published on 3 Feb 2008 by Woody


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best controller, 29 Sep 2005
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
Well i bought a gamecube a couple of weeks ago and i thought what a weird controller, but when i held it in my hand it felt like there was nothing there, and the buttons were perfectly placed, the thumbstick is good (N64 thumb stick) and the C stick is good. It is light to. I then held a Xbox controller (Controller S) and it was uncomfortable. The A button is perfect and the shoulder buttons are done very well, and all the other buttons like Y,X,B and Z are all perfect. Well done Nintendo. If i could give this 10 stars i would. Kepp making those controllers like you do. 5/5 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Controller?, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
The Gamecube , The PS2 and The X-Box everybody knows what there favourite console is but i dont think anyone can argue with the best controller , it is without a doubt the Gamecube's one . A shape that fits perfectly in your hands , easy to reach buttons in all situations , pressure senseative shoulder buttons , a camera stick which allows you to view all the perfect graphics around , a center button which does all of ther main features in a game and a perfect 3d stick which allows for total gaming bliss . If you thought it couldnt get any better than that , think again , for all of the older gamers out there like myself who have decided that purple is not really the colour for then , well then there's a slick looking black colour to keep all gaming fans happy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done Nintendo!, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
This controller is an immediate classic. You may not be able to tell that at first glance, it almost looks like it could snap in two, but you just need to hold it to see how well it works.
The controller is extremely logically built, it almost feels as if they molded it on the cast of a gamer's hands. The fingers immediately grasp the L and R buttons while the left thumb holds the analouge very snuggly and the right thumb hovers over the buttons on the right hand side.
Everything is arranged by usefulness aswell. While the A, L and R buttons are very large and obvious (they usually are used for physical movement or shooting, etc.) the other buttons are tucked away beside them neatly (They are usually used for changing menus, etc.). The Analouge is very firm and responsive and the vibration works well without being uncomfortable.
There are things that did annoy me slightly about the controller though, the 'Z' button is placed just above the R button which your finger almost sinks into, so you can't slide your finger between buttons comfortably. The Cable is also very short compared to the other console's cables and it seems to fall out of the socket a touch too easly for those competitive 4 player games that Nintendo are so proud of.
All and all though, this really does put Sony's antique pad and MicroSoft's national monument of a controller to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamecube beats PS2 and Xbox once again..., 6 Jan 2003
By 
J. Day "Swift" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
...but this time in the controller department. Instead of lazily using the control pad from their previous console (*cough* Sony) Nintendo have gone all the way by creating a brilliant pad to boost the Gamecube's playability even more. Unlike the hand-cripplingly-small PS2 and the hideously chunky Xbox pads this feels perfect even in my big hands. Turning the Camera buttons from the N64 into a C-stick means for more precise camera controls and other buttons are styled perfectly for just about every game on the market. One thing I do miss from the old N64 pad is the Z-trigger on the back but the large a button makes for a more comfortable 'fire' button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a pad!!, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
This is the best pad out of all the next gen consoles!
It isn't to small like the PS2's and it isn't too big like the X-Box's. It is just right!
The L and R shoulder buttons are analog and you can push them to varying degrees of pressure. There is a definitive click at the end which makes these the best triggers since the Dreamcast pad.
The Z button is nicely situated just in front of the R button.
The X and Y buttons are small yet easy to reach with a very large A button just below them. To the bottom left of the A button is a small yet bulky B button, and below this is the C stick.
The analog stick is nice, designed like the Dreamcast's so as not to wobble with age like the N64's.
The D-Pad is tiny but still easy to press the individual directions and there is a start button in the center of that pad.
This is without doubt the best pad available for any console. Every unofficial pad for the Gc also pales to this official one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Controller ever!, 28 Sep 2004
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
The PS2 controller is small, fiddly and, overall, pretty rubbish. The Xbox controller is more comfortable, but twice the size it needs to be. The GameCube one, however, balances everything perfectly. It's not too bulky, but not too small either. It shaped so that it fits perfectly into your hands really comfortably, and all the buttons are well spaced out so that while you don't have to stretch across it in order to reach all the buttons, you are unlikely to accidently press 2 at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Rather Nice, 5 July 2004
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
I own an X-box, which is a dumb thing to say in gamcube territory, but anyhoo, the gamecube control is very nicely shaped and doesnt feel alien in your hand, i think the buttons are very well positioned apart from the Z-Button which can be irritating, for most games; mario sunshine, mario party5 and zelda i have no problems, the controller looks pretty wearproof but i have not seen an old one, they are comfortable and practical, buy a few and have fun with your mates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Controller?, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
When you first look at a Gamecube controller you'll probably think it looks stupid, when you first use it you'll most likely find it uncomfortable. After about 10 minutes play, you'll forget you're even holding a controller! The Gamecube controller is, in my experience, the best one for current consoles. The shape moulds into your hands perfectly, meaning you can concentrate on whatever game you're playing. The button placement is the best I've seen, all buttons and sticks are in easy reach, although there's nothing wrong with the PS2 controller in this department; the Xbox on the other hand...
The buttons also have a good solid feel to them, and are nice and chunky compared to the fragile face buttons of the PS2, although the start button is perhaps a little small, it wouldn't have hurt to make it a bit bigger. Also the cable is very short, and should have a quick release system like the Xbox, although the Wavebird sorts this out if you're willing to shell out 35. The built-in rumble is used to great effect, especially on games like SSBM where it is used on a very subtle level, which adds a whole new dimension to gameplay. Overall the Gamecube controller is the best I've seen, I haven't used the Xbox Controller S, but I very much doubt it can be as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamecube Controller, 3 May 2002
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
This is the best EVER controller (speaking as an owner of a gamecube, PS2, N64 and dreamcast). Both analogue and D-PAD are very easy to reach and you feel that the controller generally moulds into your hands. Vibration is great on this. On STAR WARS, if someone shoots in the front-right, that is where on the controller it will vibrate!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ergonomic Heaven, 3 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: GameCube Controller Black (Video Game)
This controller has had a hell of a lot of time spent on it. It shows as after 30 seconds of using it, you can immediately find every single button on the controller without having to think about it. In fact, that is the great thing about it as you forget you are holding a controller and are completely imersed into the game...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

GameCube Controller Black
GameCube Controller Black by Nintendo (GameCube)
Used & New from: 9.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews