Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Dancing And Humming A Rock 'n' Roll Melody..." - Rockpile by ROCKPILE [feat Dave Edmunds] (2001 CD Remaster)
This 2001 Expanded CD gives us all 10 tracks of Dave Edmund's rare debut album from 1972 and bolsters it up with the A&B sides of 3 singles that preceded its release. Repertoire REP 4966 breaks down as follows (50:54 minutes)

1. Down Down Down [written by Trevor Burton of The Move]
2. I Hear You Knocking [Stereo Album Version] [written by Dave Bartholomew...
Published on 8 Jan. 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaing but depends on your taste.
It was just what I wanted and it was a next-day delivery. What more could one want?
Published 5 months ago by THE ABBOT


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Dancing And Humming A Rock 'n' Roll Melody..." - Rockpile by ROCKPILE [feat Dave Edmunds] (2001 CD Remaster), 8 Jan. 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
This 2001 Expanded CD gives us all 10 tracks of Dave Edmund's rare debut album from 1972 and bolsters it up with the A&B sides of 3 singles that preceded its release. Repertoire REP 4966 breaks down as follows (50:54 minutes)

1. Down Down Down [written by Trevor Burton of The Move]
2. I Hear You Knocking [Stereo Album Version] [written by Dave Bartholomew and Pearl King, a Smiley Lewis cover]
3. Hell Of A Pain [written by John David (Williams)]
4. It Ain't Easy [written by Ron Davies, a Nashville songwriter. It was covered also by Three Dog Night, David Bowie (on "Ziggy") and Long John Baldry. Baldry even named an album after the song in 1971 (UK Warner Brothers K 46088) - his version of the track was produced on that album by Rod Stewart and featured both Ron Wood of the Rolling Stones on Guitar and Maggie Bell of Stone The Crows on Backing Vocals]
5. The Promised Land [written by Chuck Berry]
6. Dance, Dance, Dance [written by Neil Young]
7. (I'm A) Lover Not A Fighter [mistakenly credited to Collier - it was written by Jay D Miller, a Louisiana record producer who first gave the song to Lazy Lester; it was released by Lester in 1958 on Excello Records 2143. It was also covered by The Kinks on their 1964 debut LP (correctly credited to Miller). Dave Edmunds' cover of the song combines elements of both versions]
8. Egg Or The Hen [written by Willie Dixon, a Koko Taylor cover]
9. Sweet Little Rock & Roller [written by Chuck Berry] (lyrics featured above)
10. Outlaw Blues [written by Bob Dylan]

Tracks 1 to 10 make up the album "Rockpile" issued June 1972 in the UK on Regal Zonophone SLRZ 1026 and on London/Mam Records MAM-3 in the USA

11. I Hear You Knocking [7" Single Mix]
12. Black Bill [An Instrumental written by Dave Edmunds]
Tracks 11 and 12 are the A&B of his first solo single issued October 1970 in the UK on Mam Records MAM 1 [Mono] (reached Number 1 in the charts). Its US issue was on Mam 45-3601.

13. I'm Coming Home [cover of a Traditional Stephen Foster song called "Old Black Joe" reworded and reworked by Jerry Lee Lewis]
14. Country Roll [written by Dave Edmunds]
Tracks 13 and 14 are the A&B of his second solo single issued March 1971 on Regal Zonophone RZ 3032 [Stereo]. Its US issue was on Mam 45-3608.

15. Blue Monday [written by Dave Bartholomew and Fats Domino]
16. I'll Get Along [written by John Williams, the Bass Player]
Tracks 15 and 16 are the A&B of his third solo single issued July 1971 on Regal Zonophone on RZ 3037 [Mono]. Its US issue was on Mam 45-3611.

(NOTE: Tracks 1 and 4, "Down Down Down" b/w "It Ain't Easy", were also issued as a 4th UK 7" single in July 1972 on Regal Zonophone RZ 3059. Tracks 11 to 16 were all non-album at the time of their release)

The musicians on "Rockpile" were:
Lead Guitar, Keyboards & Lead Vocals - DAVE EDMUNDS [Love Sculpture]
Second Guitar & Drums - ANDY FAIRWEATHER-LOW [Amen Corner]
Pedal Steel Guitar - B.J. COLE
Bass & Backing Vocals - JOHN WILLIAMS
Drums - TERRY WILLIAMS

The inner flap of the gatefold card digipak pictures 4 rare 7" picture sleeves while the 8-page liner notes feature an affectionate and expertly written history on the album by long-time Decca associate JOHN TRACY. John has done huge numbers of acclaimed liner notes for early Decca and Deram CDs - Thin Lizzy, Savoy Brown, Ten Years After etc.

The great news is the quality of the remaster - the tracks are wonderfully clear and full; there is some minor hiss on the MONO single mixes, but not too bad to make them a chore to listen to.

As you can see from the detailed track breakdown above, the album is top-heavy on cover versions, particularly those songs that have a rhythm 'n' blues or rock 'n' roll feel to them - Edmunds beloved field of expertise. "The Promised Land" was recorded in the summer of 1966 - and I suspect it wasn't re-recorded precisely because this version has that all-important `feel' to it. His version of Dylan's "Outlaw Blues" (from "Bringing It All Back Home") is a fantastic way to end the album.

In the near two decades that I've been mail-ordering rare records, this album on original UK Regal Zonophone vinyl has turned up maybe twice in decent condition - so it's a blast to have it finally reissued - and sounding so good too.

I've always loved Dave Edmunds and his particular slant on rock 'n' roll - a modern version of an old sound - filtered through a soul still enamored with those glorious old 45s.

A great little set really. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taxi to the terminal zone, 1 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
This is another great edition to any collection whether you are a Dave Edmunds fan or not. I am.. so the review may be somewhat biased, but the superb version of the 'Promised Land' is worth the money alone.
Also great haunting songs on here such as 'Hell of a Pain' and 'Egg or the Hen', the better known driving song 'Down, down, down', all compete for my affections.
This is not one his most well known albums, but there are hidden gems on here the show his true talents.
This is a guitarist and half who has never really gets the recognition he deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 18 July 2010
By 
Calum (Blairhall Fife) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
There is no such thing as a bad Dave Edmunds album. This is one both for people new to his music, and for people like me who have enjoyed the music for decades. Here we have a collection of his early classics, the stunning "Down Down Down," and the classic, "I Hear You Knocking," - and some lesser known beauties, noteably Bob Dylan's "Outlaw Blues."

A truly great album, and a fine introduction to "Dave Edmunds eary years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful first album by Dave Edmunds, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
G. Eggens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
Wonderful first album by Dave Edmunds. Recorded mostly by himself between 1969 and 1972 in his primitive studio. An eclectic mix of country, blues and a lot of good old rock 'n roll.
My release also has 6 bonus tracks being two non album singles, b-sides and the mono mix of his breakthrough (not counting the Love Sculpture hit) single 'I Hear You Knocking'.
I was 7 years old when that song was a hit in The Netherlands in 1971 but I can clearly remember the song being played on the radio.
Great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IT IS A 'PILE' BUT GETS SAVED BY SOME OF IT'S CLASSIC TRACKS, 29 May 2015
By 
E. Kelly "keypad" (Didcot,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (MP3 Download)
This was Dave let loose in the studio with too much experimentation at a mixing desk being allowed, making the sound quality quite suspect. It, nevertheless, is an O.K album to me even though the guitar on 'The Promised Land' sounds distorted and out of tune. Dave never got much of a pop or rock following as, I believe, he was trying to appeal to both camps and missed both buses in the process. This sounds even more odd and rough after not hearing it for about 40 years. It's not his best release and the mixing desk got used more professionally after this album. I have just remembered that I thought there was something wrong with my record player or the album's pressing when I first had it, Nope, just badly mixed it seems.

Eamonn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DAVE EDMUNDS : ROCKPILE (ROCK BEAT RECORDS), 23 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Dave Edmunds Rockpile (Audio CD)
I TOTALLY IGNORED THIS WHEN IT WAS FIRST RELEASED IN 2011, BECAUSE DUE TO THE TRACK LISTING LISTED ELSEWHERE ON THIS PAGE, I THOUGHT I ALREADY HAD THIS. THE SONGS LISTED, WERE WITH THE SAME BONUS TRACKS AS THE 'ROCKPILE' ALBUM RELEASED ON REPERTOIRE RECORDS IN 2001. I SINCE FOUND OUT THAT THIS RELEASE ON 'ROCKBEAT RECORDS', HAS ALTERNATIVE BONUS TRACKS. THESE ARE FROM TRACK 11 AS FOLLOWS; 11. KING OF LOVE 12. BLUE MONDAY 13. DON'T ANSWER THE DOOR (DAVE EDMUNDS WITH LOVE SCULPTURE) 14. I'LL GET ALONG 15. I'M COMING HOME 16. STAY WITH ME TONIGHT.
THIS ALBUM IS WELL WORTH THE PURCHASE, EVEN IF YOU ALREADY OWN MOST OF THESE SONGS, AS IT HAS SOME SUPERIOR STEREO MIXES, TO OTHER RELEASES. THE ALBUM MIX OF 'I HEAR YOU KNOCKING' ADDS A NEW DIMENSION, TO THE OFTEN HEARD MONO MIX, (ORIGINALLY AS A SINGLE BACK IN 1970) AND ENHANCES THIS PERFORMANCE.
THIS IS ONE ABSOLUTE SONIC PLEASURE, WHICH I RECOMMEND TO ALL FANS OF DAVE, GUITAR MUSIC AND PURE ROCK'N'ROLL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaing but depends on your taste., 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
It was just what I wanted and it was a next-day delivery. What more could one want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
Good price and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dave Edmunds best?, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
Early Davenport Edmunds. First album after break up of Love Sculpture, features classic single 'I hear you knocking'. Mix of covers and self penned tracks all with classic Edmunds sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some ordinary tunes on it, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockpile (Audio CD)
I thought there would be more good rock tunes but there are several that are not very good at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockpile
Rockpile by Dave Edmunds (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews