Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timely Pink Floyd compilation which gains high marks
Compilations are often so dry and boring, with their carelessly-written biographies and their tedious chronological tracklists. This album is remarkable for both its musical strength and (being a Pink Floyd album) its sleeve design.
The main risk with producing a Pink Floyd compilation CD is that the band produced so many really long tracks. How could these...
Published on 10 Nov 2001

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Considering compilations?
Having attended many teenage parties in the 70's and burning joss sticks to 'Us and Them' and 'Great gig in the Sky'. 'Dark Side Of The Moon' and 'Wish You Were Here' have always been close to my heart. I have both these and the excellent 'Animals' all on Vinyl. But not posessing any CD versions of Pink Floyd I...
Published on 17 Feb 2006 by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timely Pink Floyd compilation which gains high marks, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
Compilations are often so dry and boring, with their carelessly-written biographies and their tedious chronological tracklists. This album is remarkable for both its musical strength and (being a Pink Floyd album) its sleeve design.
The main risk with producing a Pink Floyd compilation CD is that the band produced so many really long tracks. How could these favourites be included on a CD without being murdered by editors or left out altogether? Yes, some tracks have indeed been edited ("Shine On You Crazy Diamond", "Echoes", "Marooned"; but not obviously (though the crucial Part 9 of "Shine On" and much of "Marooned" have been cut out). Yes, some wonderful lengthy tracks have been omitted ("Atom Heart Mother", "Dogs"), but you can't have everything. Not without buying the original albums, anyway.
Notwithstanding the above, the wonderful feature about this album, which far outweighs the edits, is the way in which the tracks have been sequenced. Each track is carefully segued into the next, and the result is incredibly good - it sounds like a true Pink Floyd album. For example, the link from "Marooned" into "The Great Gig In The Sky" into "Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun" is seamless - the former two are merged by a B minor chord that effectively makes them the same track! The trademark Floyd wind sound effect links many of the tracks of Disc 2, as it did on the albums "Meddle" and "Wish You Were Here".
The sleeve artwork is, as you would expect, impressive. Every feature of every Pink Floyd album cover of the past has been incorporated into a new selection of intricate photographs, reminiscent of the "Umma Gumma" concept.
The album is a musical delight, and has a variety of music wide enough to satisfy Barrett, Waters and Gilmour-era fans. Of course, the old adage that Floyd songs should be listened to in the context of the rest of the album (particularly from "Dark Side Of The Moon" through to "The Final Cut") holds true.
Still, it's a good entry-level album, and even if you own all the Floyd albums, this compilation is a fascinating album to listen to, and a must to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent value for money introduction to Pink Floyd, 19 Nov 2001
By 
A. M. Geake (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
The first thing to say about this double CD is that it is remarkably cheap for normal Pink Floyd product. This best of therefore gets 5 stars for value. There is a good spread of material within this anthology, though it would have been nice to have seen a couple of tracks from More, Atom heart Mother, Ummagumma and Obscured by Clouds. Careful with that Axe Eugene would have been a nice extra as well. Still, the main stuff's there with ample helpings of Wish YWH and Dark Side otM and ofcourse Comfortably Numb. Also good to see Echoes itself in there, though for die hard Floydies, the considerable editing of this track was probably not a good idea...likewise the excerpt from Marooned...that's one of their best instrumentals..what a pity it was abbreviated. Old Syd gets a good look in. Overall then a good package and certainly worth 4 stars. I'd have gone for 5 but the editing and 'a bit too much' re-mixing spoiled a potentially brilliant double CD. Andy, London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just... just buy it., 11 Mar 2002
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
Just imagine what the "best of" collection of perhaps the greatest rock band ever would sound like. Well, now you don't have to, because it's here. Beginning with the first track from Floyd's debut and ending with the last, it takes in pretty much everything in between of any note. Of course some tracks (Comfortably Numb, Money, Another Brick..., Wish You Were Here etc.) were complete no-brainers, but it's nice to see a decent number of Syd songs on here as well. Quite why "When The Tigers Broke Free" (from The Wall's motion picture release) is on there I'm not sure, and I personally would probably have included "Have A Cigar" in its place, but this was a collection that there was always going to be some debate on anyway, because no matter which songs had been included, someone would always have been complaining that one of their favourites was left out. Tunes running into one another was of course a Floyd staple, but these ones aren't always next to the same songs that they originally linked to, and the way some of the re-working has been done is also very clever.
All in all, it's just as near to perfect as any best-of could ever be. Get it and be reminded of just how good Pink Floyd could be when they weren't making The Final Cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 155 minutes of classic Floyd -- extraordinarily good value, 5 Nov 2001
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
Floyd have previously issued a compilation, but not on a double CD. A single LP was never going to do adequate justice to the band, even though it was attempted with the earlier COLLECTION OF GREAT DANCE SONGS. No collection could claim to be the best of the Floyd without including, say, all 23 minutes of 'Echoes', and that blows half an LP right away.
This album contains almost all of 'Echoes', together with almost all of almost every other Floyd that one would expect to hear on a 'Best of' collection. I say almost all, because the tracks have been judiciously segued into each other, in most cases just before the fade-out on the original. To some, it may seem sacrilege to interleave DSotM tracks such as 'The Great Gig in the Sky', 'Money', 'Time' and 'Us and Them' with other Floyd classics, but believe me, it works. The only classic which I'm disappointed not to see here is the opening track from OBSCURED BY CLOUDS.

There can be few Floyds fans who don't have the classic sequence of four albums from the 70s -- MEDDLE, DARK SIDE OF THE MOON, WISH YOU WERE HERE and ANIMALS. But there may be many who, like me, have never bought a Pink Floyd album on which Syd Barrett played. The early stuff -- for instance, 'See Emily Play', 'Arnold Layne' and the glorious 'Bike' -- has been ingeniously blended into the meld, despite the production standards of the period appearing primaeval compared to Alan Parsons' work on DSotM.
It's a wonderful, wonderful collection. I re-purchased my Floyd albums on CD too early -- i.e. before they were re-mastered. I assume that the tracks chosen here are from the re-mastered CDs, and it's frankly a relief that I cannot tell the difference in sound quality between them and my memory of my CDs. That's a small fortune saved!
The CD inlay booklet is up to the usual Floyd standard, with a cover reminiscent of UMMAGUMMA. We get the lyrics and we get the info on who-played-what. This is the early Xmas present you need to give yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Floyd fans, and those who might want to know more, 11 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
This has been long awaited and many will not be disappointed.
It's easy to forget about how many good songs until you hear them all together.
My main moan would be the omissions of anything from Atom Heart Mother, which AHM itself would make the collection longer, and, like Echoes I suppose you can't have too many very long tracks.
What about Summer '68, Eclipse & Brain Damage, or Interstellar Overdrive.
That said however, Bike (what lyrics !!) and Set the Contro;s for the Heart of the Sun are very welcome inclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Done with time and a lot of thoughts, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
The point that prompted me to buy this album is the fact that it has a rather unusual track-running order and includes every type of songs Floyd has ever done (except for the noise-collages), including every style, some of the longer pieces, experimentals, popsongs from the Post Waters Era and it mixes up short psychedelia like Jugband Blues with intuitive rocksongs like High Hopes and what can I say: it works! Somebody (I don't know who exactly compiled the songs) mixed the tracks regarding mood, tempo, general atmosphere, style, rhythm and even key (!) in a very well thought manner. They paid attention to a lot of details like the sonic depth finder at the beginning of echoes with the same sound returning in the following track Hey You. Its even lyrically coherent (Sheep from Animals following Keep Talking or High Hopes being surrounded by youthful tunes from old friend Syd Barrett). They are always keeping a consistant stream of atmosphere like the overwhelming triple Marooned, The great gig in the sky and Set the controls for the heart of the sun. Some of the songs are edited to fit into the concept like the shorter version of Echoes and the 17 minutes version of Shine on you crazy diamond spanning about 3/4 of the whole original masterpiece from Wish you were here with Parts One and Two mixed together. When the tigers broke free from The Wall-Soundtrack is included and the ending of Us And Them is newly mixed. The latter facts guarantee that the tracks on the CD are in a unique mix eliminating the possibility to use software at home to clone the compilation from the Floyd back catalogue.
The songs are wisely chosen representing everything the Floyd has done and exactly that point makes it a very good compilation only for Pink Floyd devotees. The casual listener will be put off by at least one of the styles. To develop enthusiasm for Keep talking, Shine on you crazy diamond AND Arnold Layne you have to be somebody who admires the band as a whole for its progression and musical creativity throughout the career. For me the CD is an exciting musical journey and the compilation kinda refreshed my enthusiasm for Pink Floyd having a quite rare appearance in my CD player the last years. Its a pleasure to hear their creative output in such a skilful compilation of well chosen tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a genuine "best of" for the Floyd!, 7 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
With as long and varied back catalogue of material as Pink Floyd, you're never going to be able to please everyone on a double CD Best Of compilation, but to be fair to EMI, they have stretched CD technology to its limit and squeezed 160 minutes onto Echoes, and by and large the track listing is as good as one would hope.
There will be many "but why isn't xxx on it?" but that's part of the fun. Having said that, two or three tracks stand out as having no business on any Pink Floyd compilation - Fletcher Memorial Home, When The Tigers Broke Free and Keep Talking spring easily to mind. As for omissions, the only really crucial ones for me are Fearless from Meddle, Brain Damage from DSOTM and Mother or Run Like Hell from The Wall. Now if they could have slipped in Saucerful of Secrets from Live at Pompeii I could forgive them all that - ah well.
Everything else is a gem. Remastering sounds good and the packaging is adequate if a little run of the mill. If you don't have a Floyd collection, go out and buy it immediately. If you DO, you'll probably buy it anyway - like me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, what can I say?, 5 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
I'm a very new Pink Floyd fan, and having not ever brought or even hardly listened to any of their albums, it is true to say that this is some of the best music written of the 20th century, if not ever. Of course, I had heard of Pink Floyd and their amazing albums but I had never really made the effort to investgate any further until I was presauded by a friend. Now I think that I'm absolutely made not to have got into them earlier, but hey, I probably chose the best time because this compilation is fantastic.
The way each song runs into the next is very well constructed. For example, Marooned flows extremely well into The Great Gig in The Sky even though they were both originally written for completely different albums. Shine on You Crazy Diamond is Beautiful and Echoes is weird but also beuatiful. Comfortably Numb and High Hopes are also briliant. But if you're a long time Pink Floyd fan who's reading this you probably already knew that.
The way the compilation ends, with Syd barret's 'Bike', is weird, funny and probably represented what Pink Floyd was/is all about, but how can I judge? I'm just a newbie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 9 Jan 2002
By 
R Allen (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
This album is just, as the title says, incredible. Pink Floyd don't write music, they write pure poetry. Their work is musical art. Every single song is a masterpeice. The lyrics are so well thought out, and moving to listen to. It's good to hear music which isn't just about love all the time. You'll find yourself tapping, or playing air-guitar to so many songs in this album. I was given this for christmas and I haven't stopped listening to it since. It's totally addictive. It's almost a crying shame when a song ends, because you get so caught up in it you want it to continue forever. I've been telling all my friends about this album, and what they're missing out on. I don't care who you are, how old you are, what type of music you listen to, even what language you speak! Get out your credit card and buy this album, NOW! I promise you'll not regret it. You'll adore it. Absolutely incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the Full Monty, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Sentinel (Essex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) (Audio CD)
This is a great and truly representative double collection of Pink Floyd, from throughout the changing faces of their career. There's the early Syd Barret influence (though I mourn the absence of the gorgeous 'Julia Dream'), through the classic period of 'Dark Side' and 'Wish you Were Here', right up to Waters inflated epics. Tracks are neatly segued together, but the downside is that parts of 'Shine on you Crazy Diamond' and 'Echoes' are cut to fit everything on, rather than discarding some weaker tracks (too much from 'The Wall' for my taste). Having said all that, this remains a beautifully remastered compilation of some truly mouth-watering classic Floyd tracks (excellent sound quality) where the magic and the mystery of this often otherworldly band are very well showcased. A fine 'instant anthology' for Floyd fans, and a wonderfully inexpensive introduction for those lucky enough to discover the band for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd)
Echoes (The Best of Pink Floyd) by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews