Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changing the direction of Hip Hop
One of the few Hip Hop albums to genuinely change the direction of the genre - and inadvertently give the culture its controverial 'gangsta' image. With its crashing 808 drum kicks, James Brown samples and industrial strength scratching this was innovative music for a forgotten generation.
Standout tracks include 'South Bronx' a partiotic allegiance to the birthplace...
Published on 5 Jan. 2002 by R. Lowther

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Krs is the one
Good album, some of the later tracks wain and it has all the tracks without lyrics after the full songs, DIY for wannabe rappers if you will
Published 7 months ago by Joe Sloman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changing the direction of Hip Hop, 5 Jan. 2002
By 
R. Lowther - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
One of the few Hip Hop albums to genuinely change the direction of the genre - and inadvertently give the culture its controverial 'gangsta' image. With its crashing 808 drum kicks, James Brown samples and industrial strength scratching this was innovative music for a forgotten generation.
Standout tracks include 'South Bronx' a partiotic allegiance to the birthplace of Hip-Hop, which delivers a blistering dis to those that suggest otherwise.
This debut album captured the discontent of 80s inner city America more effectively than anything before it. The cinematic narratives it contains take the listener on a brutal but informative ride to the dark side of New York.
Inevitably, this album has dated somewhat, but its influence lives in interminable samples and lyrical cross references by todays MCs. The groups DJ - Scott La Rock, was tragically killed shortly after the albums release, and so never so the influence he eventually inspired.
Whilst the group recorded several more albums, none were quite as radical, (with the possible exception of 1988s By Any Means Necessary). The groups MC, KRS1, today variously records and lectures at Universities across the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for any collector!, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I saw that this box set included three CDs, I didn't know quite what to expect. I'd already heard most of the Criminal Minded original album on YouTube, and wanted it in an existing form for myself.

Upon arrival, I popped all three CDs in my carousel stereo. The first CD in the bundle is the full Criminal Minded album; with great tracks like "Criminal Minded", "Poetry" and of course "9mm Goes Bang".

The second CD is hard to put a single label on. It's contents include live radio interviews featuring Scott La Rock and KRS-One, extra songs like "(We've Got To) Advance" etc. This second CD preserves the general hype of the first album - and includes explanations as to why diss songs "South Bronx" and "The Bridge Is Over" were recorded.

The third CD is an instrumentals CD of all the songs that span the other two CDs; perfect for any budding freestyling rapper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Krs is the one, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
Good album, some of the later tracks wain and it has all the tracks without lyrics after the full songs, DIY for wannabe rappers if you will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
The best hip hop album ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sept. 2014
By 
E. Assche - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Minded (Audio CD)
Landmark project. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 9 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Criminal Minded Deluxe (Audio CD)
If I had been able to buy this back in 1988, then I would have liked it. The original album has a few good tracks on it, no doubt, but most are fillers and should have stayed as demos. They should have just leased a 12" with the couple of good tracks the album contains and leave it at that. Whilst I have respect for Scott La Rock, his achievements, his mentoring of KRS-1 etc., BDP's music improved immeasurably after his death imo. The following album was light years ahead of this first release. Back in the day, when I borrowed Criminal Minded and By All Means Necessary, I loved the latter, to death, but this album, I was never particularly impressed with. At the time, even I thought half the tracks sounded terribly dated, not something I would say about real quality old school from the same era from the likes of Just Ice and Mantronix etc. The Bridge is Over is particularly ironic. MC Shan's original, The Bridge, is an excellent track and still sounds fresh today. The Bridge is Over by BDP on the other hand, which uses the same beat and is a 5 minute exercise in telling people how Queens are fakers and the real hip hop came from the Bronx. Be that as it may, The Bridge is Over sounds awful and the rapping on it is pitiful, like a bad nursery rhyme. And it sounds really small minded and bitchy. To me it is a total waste of space and maybe it appealed to the resident hip hop fans of the Bronx at the time, but only because he was dissing Queens. I would save your money and buy the expanded version of By All Means Necessary, unless you are a purist and want this for historical value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Criminal Minded
Criminal Minded by Boogie Down Productions (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews