Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly smashing
The Smashing Pumpkins were one of the greatest bands of the 90s, a mixture of dreamy pop and stark grungey metal, set against Billy Corgan's poem-like songwriting. And "The Smashing Pumpkins - Greatest Hits" almost lives up to its name -- there are one or two songs that don't quite fit here, but most of them are indeed the "Greatest" that the band produced...
Published on 22 Jan. 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as Great as I thought
I really enjoyed their music back in the 90s, particularly Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie, and although this album features songs from those and their debut album, tracks 2-10, the other nine songs pale in comparison and feel extremely flat. Probably explains why I didn't hear much of them after the Infinite Sadness - they had gone off the boil. Those two albums still...
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by Fopstar


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Exactly Smashing or Rotten, 18 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as an introduction to the music of the SP's. I know that most "best of" collections are nothing of the sort and viewed as such by many fans.
I found the album rather confusing. There's nothing I really dislike but on the other hand I don't feel any real excitement either. Neither bad nor good. It just seemed to pass me but without any stimulus. So it;s not for me at this moment; perhaps a different set of songs my change my opinion but not as yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something that shouldn't exist, 19 July 2002
By A Customer
"Smashing Pumpkins" and "greatest hits" are two phrases that shouldn't ever have appeared on the same album cover. Not because the Pumpkins weren't a great band, nor that they didn't produce hit singles, but simply because their songs are far too diverse and numerous to condense into one so-called "greatest" hits record.
Inevitably, this was always going to be a record biased towards a slightly "popular" audience, and the inclusion of so many of the band's singles reflects this fact. My 3-star rating does not indicate that these singles are bad songs, but simply that the Pumpkins have written better songs over their 12 years together (Rhinoceros, Drown, Tonight Tonight and Stand Inside Your Love are possible exceptions). The fans ask, "where's Soma? Mayonaise? Thru The Eyes Of Ruby? Muzzle? For Martha?", knowing that to find these songs, amongst the vast collection of the Pumpkins' remaining best material, one has to buy Gish, Siamese Dream, Mellon Collie and Adore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is really useful if you want to play music by the smashing pumpkins from a cd player. That's all I use it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great American band, 13 Nov. 2006
I borrowed this CD from a roomate a few years ago. I'd seen Tonight Tonight on MTV before but it didn't do anything for me then.

This is the best way to introduce yourself to unheared of bands, as opposed to picking up one of their albums at random. While bands like The Pumpkins are great, and have had some brilliant songs, they also tend to have done alot of garbage. On the greatest hits, you don't that- it takes all the singles (best of) and presents them in a good order.

I like how they moved away from being a random American grunge wannabe band to go onto morph into this melancholy indie sound in a league of it's own. One offs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The long awaited greatest hits was worth the wait..., 19 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
As with most greatest hits albums this is simply a singles collection, but there are some truely classic songs on here. The first disc 'Rotten Apples' is a tour of the Pumpkin's music from their grungey roots to their experimental groundbreaking later work. Even hardcore fans will find something new here, with 11 unrealsed tracks spanning the two cd's. The bsides and rarites collection 'Judas O' makes up the second disc and is a great incentive to buy for those fans wanting to finish off their collection with some unique tracks. The Pumpkins show great diversity in this collection covering screeching rock epics to soulful ballards. The music is techincally impressive, thought provoking and seriously alternative, the perfect antedote to the mainstream rubbish that Billy Corgon blamed for the band's premature demise. Littered with classic songs such as 'bullet with butterfly wings' 'today' and 'ava adore', this is an impressive full stop to the career of the Smashing Pumpkins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tunes,Good album,Good band?....., 7 April 2002
By A Customer
When i bought this cd i wasn't really into the pumpkins but my friends were so i thought i'd give them a go. When i heard the album i was impressed but also shocked that thease particular tracks were supposebly their best songs from their whole career. You know that feeling you get when you think that alot of the tracks blend in and sound the same, well i got that big time.
Ill admit that some songs stand out above the rest like "bullet with butterfly...'' and "everlasting gaze'' but alot of the slower ones seemed to bore me a little.
As i am proberbly under threat from fans of the band ill end saying that i didnt get alot of the emotional signifigance behind the songs which is why (if your like me)this album is a better bet than buying the individule ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews