Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Al Green
This album truly is the very best of Al Green and if you are looking for an album that you can slip on while you are with your lover...this is it here, the songs truly touch at the core of what love is all about. I especially love 'Let's stay together'. Al Green has the voice and lyrics to go with it, that just make you want to fully appreciate your significant other all...
Published on 16 Nov 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
download is a bit tinny and sounds very dated - have heard better but okay as background music which is what I wanted
Published 14 months ago by Trish


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Al Green, 16 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This album truly is the very best of Al Green and if you are looking for an album that you can slip on while you are with your lover...this is it here, the songs truly touch at the core of what love is all about. I especially love 'Let's stay together'. Al Green has the voice and lyrics to go with it, that just make you want to fully appreciate your significant other all the more. Very smooth and soothing, yet romantic and great at mood setting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul, 4 Jan 2004
By 
Craig Mansfield (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
What can I tell you about Al Green that you don't already know ?
"Simply Beautiful"- is just that, one man, a guitar, a tape recorder, a microphone, and the capturing of undiluted naked soul, from the inside of a human being.
"How can you mend a broken heart ?" - go and live, fall in love, break up, and have your world torn apart, then realise Al did it 30 years before you, he equates the importance of his heart and the magnitude of his pain, with questions that have baffled humans for all history
"Let's stay together"- "I...I'm SO in love with you....what ever you want to do, is alright with me" sang with the most perfect combination of soul and tireless production values of the day
I love this CD and I love Al Green, because you can hear every little bit of the instruments, the hand and plec hitting the acoustic guitar, the reverb of the room, the snare on the drum, then the gorgeous warmth of the horns, and of course the perfect and versatile singing voice, with some very heart felt and perfectly formed lyrics.
Every now and then, a musician comes along and you know he/she is special, and Al Green is definatley one of them.
Not everything on this cd is classical though, but to be honest, I would buy it for 2 or 3 tracks which are actually timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars! No Questions!..., 20 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I brought this album for one purpose and one purpose only 'Let's Stay Together'
I didn't know who sung it because I was an 80's baby raised in the 90's it was before my time, but eventually found out that Al did.
After owning this album 2 months now I have been gripped by Al's presents on the mic, I now have 15 favorite songs on the album, they don't call it greatest hits for nothing!!
I feel so strongly about this album because when ever I hear it, it just makes me feel good, I literally have a smile on my face throughout the album!!
I have an ultimate favorite, but it was hard to pick with great songs like 'Simply Beautiful' 'Sha La La' 'Tired of Being Alone' and 'How Can You Mend a Broken Heart' getting in the way, but 'L.O.V.E.' is just fantastic!!
I now own 5 of Al Greens albums!

Anyone who's looking to get into classic Soul/R'n'B I recommend to start with Al Green, this guy is a legend!! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soul master, 9 April 2005
By 
James Kennedy Howarth "jkh24" (leeds uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
this is the third greatest hits album from soul legends and this is by far the best. every song is great and it has the best song ever in "lets stay together" and has some great heartbreak songs in "how can u mend a broken heart" and "so tired of being alone".buy this album it is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 29 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Al Green's voice is sensational. Most of the songs are great. Singing along to them is a must plus 'simply beautiful' has to be the ultimate getting-it-on song ever. What more can I say! I love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the very best of Al Green, 12 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
If the music you love is pre-1990 and has soul,i bet you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't get better than this, 20 Feb 2010
By 
A. E. Eldred "Ang" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Al Green's smooth tones drift out and you feel good. Excellent for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Al Green, 20 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
The Very Best of Al Green

Excellent CD for all Al Green fans - has all his hits on it. Great value! Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Al Green, 17 July 2009
By 
Ms. K. L. O'connor "Keren" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
A fab album, with every track well worth listening to. A great album to chill out to, and also great for romantic evenings in...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful collection and Al Green is one of the greatest soul legends. This CD was value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6da4ea0)

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by Al Green (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews