Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Football managers, long dark winters, blondes & The Hives!
Sweden rocks, and if it weren't for their winters, I'd probably investigate moving there.
This album, a compilation of the The Hives best from previous releases, is B*L*I*S*T*E*R*I*N*G!. 110% full-on, buzz-saw, post-punk adrenaline. And every song sounds like the perfectly crafted tune as well. This is an album that will test your stereo max levels - there's no way...
Published on 9 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A couple of good ones.
Opener is good lively post punk guitar rock.The rest of the tracks are a bit samey/ordinary but ok to listen to in the background.
Published 15 months ago by concerned shopper 1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hives, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
This has been bought as a Christmas present so not for me so I can't really say what it is like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Make a beeline for the Hive!, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
cracking music delivered with talent, gusto, power and enthusiasm. If you have I player try and catch their act on later with Jools Holland new year's eve 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars '28 Odd Minutes Of Skull Crushing Stuff', 16 Feb 2013
By 
Antony May (East Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
Combining the raw musical edge of traditional British punk bands like The Exploited with the humour of 70's Punks like The Dickies, 'Your New Favourite Band' is an enjoyable ear splitting romp.

As with all such albums, musical variety is not on the menu here and the first two tracks are incredibly similar riff wise. As with the very best punk music from the past, however, there is a lot going on here lyrically (if you can pick out the words!) and in spite of musical appearances an intelligent mind is obviously behind these creations. Venting your fury at 100mph is what punk is all about and as such those into shouty, throat tearing, vocals and urgent, muffled and grunted backing 'vocals' will love these tunes. 'Hate To Say I Told You So' is of course the most pop friendly of the material here as most of this collection (bar the last instrumental track) will not appeal to anyone who doesn't enjoy their brain being kicked about inside their head!

As a compilation of work it could perhaps have been better compiled as far as the running order goes but I very much doubt most punks worry about the subtle art of making an album anyway...

Good fun stuff and a throwback to what the word punk used to mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A couple of good ones., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
Opener is good lively post punk guitar rock.The rest of the tracks are a bit samey/ordinary but ok to listen to in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight-ahead Punk-Pop, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
This 2001 compilation album from Sweden's finest, The Hives, is a youthful, exuberant set of sub-3 minute (with one exception) punk-pop songs, sounding something like The Ramones (without the fuzz guitar sound) or Dr Feelgood on 78rpm (albeit there's nothing here quite up to Wilko's guitar standard). Comprising 4 songs from the Barely Legal debut album, 4 songs from the Veni Vidi Vicious follow-up album, 3 from the a.k.a I-D-I-O-T EP and one from the Hate To Say I Told You So single, this album, with its nicely ironic and presumptuous title, provides around 30 minutes of compulsive listening, pretty much without taking a second to catch its breath.

With their highly regimented dress sense (usually in uniform black or white jackets/suits) the band has clearly always had image very much to the fore, and this has stretched to the songwriting credits where they have maintained the mythology that the credited scribbler on all the songs, Randy Fitzsimmons, is an (unseen) sixth band member - albeit Randy's most likely identity is that of guitarist Niklas Almqvist. No matter, what is particularly interesting about The Hives' songs is that (a bit like The Ramones, in fact) their lyrics are actually remarkably sophisticated, extensive and, at times, poetic for such a primal style. OK, they (in the main) focus on issues of youth rebellion, disaffection and girlfriends, but there are some nice touches, such as in Supply and Demand ('She said, "Shiny hair that's my life ambition but I'll devote my time to a new omission, the rizzle-razzle kitsch of paranoid city) or in the superb a.k.a I-D-I-O-T ('But it's not a question of low IQ, cause if it was then the answer wouldn't be me but you').

Whilst there's not much to choose (or, probably, distinguish) between the 12 songs (all of which are certainly worth the admission price), my personal favourites are some of the fastest, namely Untutored Youth, Outsmarted, Mad Man and the aforementioned a.k.a I-D-I-O-T. The only song that departs from the trademark feel of a non-stop ear assault is the closing, more medium paced (but still infectious), instrumental The Hives Are Low, You Are Crime. This somewhat increased musical sophistication was developed further on some of the band's follow-up albums, of which 2004's Tyrannosaurus Hives comes particularly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars HUGE FUN AND DEEPLY SILLY, 21 May 2011
By 
J. McCarraher "HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE" (Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
Sweden gave us Abba, but now they have given us the fabulous Hives! It is hysterical that this wonderful Swedish group have taken punk rock, repackaged it and sold it back to us! Each song is a short, sharp shock - daft, punchy lyrics, buzz-saw guitar and snappy song writing. Terrific, adrenilin-fuelled compositions that would make the Ramones proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Best of, 22 July 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Let it be said that when "Your New Favorite Band" was first released, it was far too early for the Hives to have a "best of" album -- they only had EPs and two albums in the bag. But it is a good sampler of their best songs, and a good introduction to their rough, raw brand of garage punk.

"Your New Favorite Band" takes four tracks from their breakout album, "Veni Vidi Vicious," four from their debut predecessor "Barely Legal," and finally four from their EP work. These songs are almost undeniably the best of the batch, like the roaring "A.K.A I-D-I-O-T," "Mad Man" or "Main Offender."

What these songs all have in common is an adrenaline-powered rawness, and a fast-paced energy that most garage and/or punk bands try to achieve, but few do. Okay, they don't have the most original sound in the world. They have, instead, vibrancy and a lack of musical pretension -- they are influenced by bands like the Stooges, but they don't wear those on their sleeves.

The kinetic riffs give the group half their sound. Each song is a roiling mass of percussion, guitar and bass, endearingly nasty and very entertaining. Howlin' Pelle Almqvist provides the other -- he sounds like he's literally foaming at the mouth when he sings stuff like "Mad Man." He lives up to the "Howlin'" part of his name, definitely.

"Your New Favorite Band" serves as an effective "best of" album, although the band seemed too young to have enough for such an album. In a nutshell, it's a great way to revisit the best of these energetic Swedish rockers, or to introduce newbies to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half an Hour of REAL Punk Power, 12 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
Since folding Creation and setting up Poptones, Alan McGhee has made some pretty flawed signings, the gay Mexican Communist Elvis impressionist coming to mind as an especially daft one (face it, if the guy was a straight Conservative voter from Guildford he never would've been signed). But when he discovered these Swedish rockers he found a band who excited him as much as that famous night at King Tut's when he first heard Oasis.
This CD has been termed as a 'Best Of', but that's not quite accurate. In an attempt to promote the band, he has included the whole of their AKA IDIOT EP, and their other 7 singles from tehir later albums Barely Legal and Veni, Vidi, Vicious (their independantly-released debut Oh Lord! When? How? is wisely overlooked).
Hate To Say I Told You So and Main Offender are the ones you'll all know already, and they make a good introduction to the band's sound, all jagged guitars, rough 'n' ready lyrics and a real joie de vivre assoicated more with the Buzzcocks, MC5 and the Ramones than Sum 41, Blink 182 and similar corporate clones.
My perosnal favourite has to be Here We Go Again, a stop start number from Barely Legal, showing that their sound has matured a little since then. Die, All Right! and Automatic Schumuck are other likely favourites. In fairness, a few of the fillers from teh EP are less impressive, and once you've heard this you'll be keen to get the albums, making this less impessive value, but the videos make it worth owning at this price anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best thing to have ever come out of Sweden, 15 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
This is an excellent CD, and I strongly recommend it to any fans of punk rock. This is however, the other end of the punk spectrum to American pop-punk eg. Blink 182, New Found Glory. This CD is closer to traditional 70s and early 80s punk rock. The CD is a collection of tracks by the Swedish band the Hives from 2 LPs, 'Veni, Vidi, Vicious' and 'Barely Legal' and an EP, 'A.K.A. I-D-I-O-T'. There's also the instrumental 'Hives are law, you are crime' from the 'Hate to say i told you so' single. 'HTSITYS' itself is the first track and one of the best, but i think the best of all is 'Main Offender', with its powerful guitar riff and crazy vocals. PC videos are also included for 'HTSITYS', 'Main Offender', 'aka I-D-I-O-T' and 'die alright!'(another great track). Basically, go out and buy this - they WILL become your new favourite band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A guideline for how rock and punk music is heading in 2002, 17 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Your New Favourite Band (Audio CD)
I first heard 'The Hives' in January 2001 when i bought an epitaph video for which their stunning 'Die All Right' track was on. Their combination of rock and '70's punk is truly stunning and so original. When i got the album i wasn't surprised to find that i liked all the tracks including their new single 'Hate To Say I Told You So' which is one of the CD's highlights. A couple of months before i got the album i saw them on 'Later With Jools Holland' and what a performance. Their lead singer has so much energy and the rest of the band sound even better live. So in short, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa441a4)

This product

Your New Favourite Band
Your New Favourite Band by The Hives (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews