Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
67
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£28.94+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2014
My favourite Scorpions album - rock with a surprisingly melodic edge to it and a good one to play to Scorpion virgins!! A must buy, Lovedrive itself is a corkingly good tune and Loving you Sunday Morning is a real classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
Well what can i say their 50th Anniversary remasters sound amazing, could not wait to buy all of the 8 special editions with loads of extras! As we all know The Scorpions had a couple of album covers at that time were a little controversial, as it was later replaced with a blue Scorpion on the front so it's great to have the original cover, it's the music that counts right? After Uli Roth departed their music had a more commercial sound, leaning towards a radio friendly edge, gone were the early Hendrix influences in some of their earlier material, and boy did it work, with Blackout, Love At First Sting they could do no wrong cracking the American market & world domination was on the way and deservedly so from the legendary
Scorpions a brilliant album, i'd better not mention the cover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
the first of the trilogy of albums which kick started scorpions career..timless classic lovedrive with Michael schenker inspiring to produce a sound which would caterpult the german band into the eighties at full speed...never easy losing a world class guitarist in ulrich roth, but with the powerbase that is the schenkers this offering could never be anything other that very special..klaus meine outstanding on vocals, this was to be his last album before surgery to his throat which nearly ended his career.. and in my opinion his voice was at a perfect peak at this time..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
This is the album that started The Scorpions' ascent to being superstars!!! If you were to only buy one Scorpions album in your life - buy this one!!!! I dont need to say to say much, the writing is already on the wall about this album - its a Scorpions classic !!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Stupid but hard-rocking, melodic and entertaining album from the Hannover five. Lovedrive is easily their best album and, along Animal Magnetism, Blackout and Love At First Sting, concentrates in hard rock instead of ballads and yukky songs about Soviet Union's demise. Michael Schenker guests on three tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
This is a classic Scorpions album,Every song is a classic and i really like the different version of Holiday. the live DVD is also good although shot on a budget. If the BBC (apart from Tommy Vance) and sections of the UK music press hadnt been anti German. Scorpions would have been as big a band in the UK as they are in most countries in the rest of the world.This was the album that started world domination.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
This was great melodic metal and it made the scorps popular among metal fans far more than their earlier output had. Some people call this arena rock , all that means is that this band was good enough to sell out arenas! Other bands were stuck in small venues and could never capture the fanbase that this great band did. Up until this point the scorps were heavily hendrix influenced among other styles and it was great stuff with uli roth playing his best. But this sound was a new direction and it was more melodic than what can before. This one set the standard for the band in coming 3 decades. It even has Michael Schenker on a few tracks again , the first since 'fly to the rainbow'. Mathias Jabs has to take credit for the way the new sound flows and I loved the older scorpions. I really did but this was the type of cd that every song was filled with flowing energy. They still play some of these songs live too. The sound is great on this cd so that's a added bonus. There are no bonus tracks though and the scorps need a boxset someday to put all their rarities on and there are many of them. I have many rare tracks on single cd's etc. Anyways this is a great one to grab for all fans of 1980's sounding metal. And this was released in 1979!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
It's classic Scorpions - big riffs, bigger chords and catchy lyrics. It probably hasn't aged as well as other Scorpions offerings - . That said it's still a good album and rightfully deserves classic status.

Stand out tracks for me are Holiday, Coast to Coast and Loving you Sunday Morning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Ah, I can remember all those years ago playing the first single from this album,the almost punk like, Another piece of meat, and was a devoted Scorpions fan from that point on.This was the album that turned the Germans from being big only in Germany and Japan into a world wide name.It was, I believe, the first post Uli Jon Roth album with Mathias Jabs taking over the high squiggly notes and marked a distinct change in sound.Previous albums, while great, had a very watered down sound and lacked any real raw power. A great example of how 70s rock development into metal in the 80s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
My first rock album - and no it wasn't for the cover! - and 30 ish years later it's still a belter. The instrumental coast to coast, Always somewhere and the outstanding Holiday for the lighter waving brigade, and for the front row sweaty armpits another piece of meat. No-one commands a stage like the Scorpions..... must be something to do with class.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.