Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars66
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£28.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2001
To begin to appreciate this album, you have to look at the circumstances surrounding it's recording. Ulich Roth had left the Scorpions after 4 studio and 1 live album, and Michael Schenker had left UFO. Michael briefly rejoins the Scorpions and plays on 3 tracks on this album, the rest feature the Scorpions' new guitarist Matthias Jabs. From the opening track, "Loving you Sunday morning" to the closing track, "Holiday", the Scorpions are perfect. Every track is a Scorpions classic. There are high-energy rockers and two soulful ballads. Check out "Is there anybody there" and "Another piece of meat" for sheer brilliance. This album really has stood the test of time, the Scorpions still play many of these songs today (check out the Acoustica DVD). I realise that every Scorpions fan owns this CD, if you don't, do yourself a favour and buy it. You won't be disappointed!
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2006
If I could award an album six stars, I'd do so without hesitation for `Lovedrive', undoubtedly the Scorpions' finest studio moment. From the opening chords of `Loving You Sunday Morning' to the closing notes of `Holiday', this record is sheer hard rock perfection. It's the first work of the definitive Scorpions line-up and it's easily their best. With Uli Jon Roth having moved on to a solo career, the band had lost a gifted guitarist blessed with originality and flair and, for better or worse, their sound would never be the same. However, instead of continuing (and undoubtedly stumbling) along in the same direction, they closed that chapter of their history, brought in a new, more metal-hearted guitarist and redefined their sound.

`Lovedrive' is slick, professional and sophisticated. Every track is a classic and every moment is an absolute joy and as such it's difficult to find a low point and impossible to pick a favourite song. `...Sunday Morning' is a deliciously chilled-out melodic rocker, `Another Piece of Meat' and `I Can't Get Enough' are fiery metallic monsters. `Always Somewhere' is a ballad par excellence, the beauty of which is matched later by the simply exquisite `Holiday' and with `Coast to Coast', the Scorpions made one of the great instrumentals of the heavy rock world. `Is There Anybody There' provides a different vibe and a chance for a great singalong yet fits the mood perfectly, and the title track is a masterpiece, possessing a gutsy, driving bass and what is without question one of the finest heavy metal guitar solos in existence, courtesy of guest Michael Schenker.

If I were to pick any flaw in this masterwork, it would be the occasional lyric - they've never been the strong point of the band. Fortunately Klaus Meine can often be indecipherable, so it hardly matters.

This is definitive Scorpions, an album that has stood the test of time and still sounds remarkably fresh, yet has the indelible mark of classic Seventies hard rock. It remains an essential purchase.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Now this is more like it! After recording a few average, or below average albums throughout the 70s; the Scorpions finally deliver a better, more accessible set packed full of rocking tunes such as Another Piece of Meat; Loving You Sunday Morning; Coast to Coast, and the excellent title track. I like that lyric "my scorpions got it's sting".
And theres the controversial cover art. A man reaches his hand to grope a womans breast, only to find out that she put copious amounts of chewing gum on the nipple, and, well you know the rest!
Always Somewhere is the quieter of the tunes, and musically anticipates an 80s rock sound 1 year early. Best track on the album is Holiday. This "lighters in the air" acoustic orientated ballad is a masterpiece and makes you want to sing along to it. Along with In Search of the Peace Of Mind, this is their best song.
I think that the Scorpions finally got it right with Lovedrive, and was a vast improvement on earlier recordings. The record buying public acknowledged that too; making Lovedrive their first charting album in Britain, and made Is There Anybody There? their 1st hit single, peaking at #36 and #39 respectively.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 January 2016
Stunning album,stunning deluxe remastered edion,had this on vinyl for 35 years or so,bought the last remaster,which was really poor all tinny and a thoroughly unpleasant listen,this however rights those wrong,a superb release.

Disc1, original album, no need for a track by track review,suffice to say they all sound wonderful,big,bold sound bolstered by excellent remastering,there's also 2 bonus cuts ,the first 'Cause I Love You' decent but was never going to displace any of the original tracks and a whopping 9 minute plus version of 'Holiday' ,which is absolutely outstanding.

Disc 2 40 mins approx live from Tokyo 1979, i'd never seen it,so it was a treat for me along with a documentary discussing the making of the album,

Comes in digi pak format with decent ,if minimal, liner notes,all in all a superb release which is well worth purchasing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
Love this album. One of my favorites and to have it remastered is icing on the cake. Scorpions are remastering some of their back catalog/ The dvd is great to have and the info that's on there is a must for any Scorpions fan.
Do yourself a favor and buy this. You wont regret it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2001
i was never a big fan of heavy rock,but this cd opened many new aspects of rock to me. on the one hand you have no holds barred rock,in tracks like another piece of meat,to far removed mood inspired tracks like always somewhere,to guitar orionated rock,in coast to coast. if any rock inoriated fan does not have this album,do yourself a favior and buy it now!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
One of my all-time favourite albums made all but unlistenable by a screwball (re)mastering engineer. Everything, every single instrument and vocal, is adjusted to be at exactly the same volume completely ruining the balance of the music. Without quiet bits you haven't got loud bits! It even sounds bad in the car it's that poor.
Unfortunately one of many albums given this treatment recently, apparently it's done to sound "lively" to people using ipod earphones.
Buy the old, unrematered, version if you can get hold of one to hear it how the Scorpions wanted it to sound....
22 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
Finally all the rare Scorpions Live concert footage & interviews that were only available to buy as bootlegs
for Decades now, has now been officially released to the Public, to hardcore scorpions fans
to celebrate 50th Anniversary of the scorpions
from Taken by Force to Savage amusement are now reissued as 2 Disc Deluxe editions
the last remasters were done by EMI back in 2001
so obviously Scorpions have changed record Labels for these new Deluxe editions
unfortunately Virgin killer, Intrance, Fly to the rainbow will not be reissued
cause they're owned by Different label so it's obviously a copyright issue

one of these Deluxe editions is LOVEDRIVE
personally i prefer 2 Disc Jewel case packaging so it fits in my CD case
but these Deluxe editions are fold out Digi-pak's only
Lovedrive Digi-pak opens up to 2 Discs with a new booklet of rare photos and new liner notes
1st Disc is obviously the album remastered with new 2015 technology
and there's obviously a big Difference in sound quality compared to the old 2001 technology
also new bonus tracks on Disc 1
Demo versions of Cause i love you & Holiday
none of the bonus tracks from the old 2001 remasters have been carried over
2nd Disc is a DVD of the scorpions 1979 Japan tour for the first time ever officially released
this concert which was Pro shot filmed by Japanese TV has only ever been available as a bootleg dvd
well now it's been officially released and remastered aswell in 1:33:1 fullscreen, about 40mins of footage NTSC ALL REGIONS
We'll burn the sky, Lovedrive, Life's like a river, Fly to the rainbow, is there anybody there, Another piece of meat, can't get enough
the picture & sound quality is only a remaster transfer, not blu-ray quality, but it's better than bootleg quality for sure
so be thankful it's now available to have in this Deluxe edition
there's also a special extra on this DVD the making of Lovedrive Doco-45mins
new interviews with Klaus meine, Rudolf schenker, Mathias Jabs, Herman rarebell
Definitely worth watching Documentary
if you have the very old EMI remaster time to throw it out & upgrade to this new Deluxe edition version
5 stars for this new Deluxe edition
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
the first of the trilogy of albums which kick started scorpions career..timless classic lovedrive with Michael schenker inspiring to produce a sound which would caterpult the german band into the eighties at full speed...never easy losing a world class guitarist in ulrich roth, but with the powerbase that is the schenkers this offering could never be anything other that very special..klaus meine outstanding on vocals, this was to be his last album before surgery to his throat which nearly ended his career.. and in my opinion his voice was at a perfect peak at this time..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
Part of the 2015 remaster series by the SCORPIONS so its the album remastered and loads of extras. I,ve brought 5 of the series and i,m glad i did. I had the original cds but this series of remasters is far superior. I also had the albums back in the day and i can tell you theres no conparison to these remasters. The sound is full on, loud and clear which original albums in the 70,s and 80,s lacked, even Heavy Metal bands like Motorhead there albums even lacked power in the 70,s. The series costs between £10 to £15 and with all the extras its worth it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.