Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Star of David rises against the yoke of the swastika
Overall a thrilling, inspiring and moving film. Recreates the events of the Warsaw Ghetto uprisings of Jewish fighters against their Nazi murderers.
Begins in 1939 with the bloody German invasion of Poland. shortly after which we see the Jewish population of Warsaw herded into the small cramped, ghetto, where they are subjected to exposure and starvation , and...
Published 10 months ago by Gary Selikow

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plays Fast and Loose with the True Events
I watched the DVD of Uprising and and had an opportunity to compare it with a factual account recounted in the book "Two Flags Return to the Warsaw Ghetto" by Marian Apfelbaum.

I found the movie Uprising moderately entertaining as an action movie if I didn't dwell on the factual details too much. The best part of the movie was the build up to the Uprising. The...
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by Nicodemus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars true story, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
II World War movie based on true stories from the ghetto, worth watching, and to be added to your movies collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uprising, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been trying to find this on Region 2 DVD for ages and picked this up secondhand very cheaply. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunning film record of true heroism, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is a stunning and sensitive portrayal of one the landmark moments not only of the Second World War, but of the 20th Century.

The cast turn in believable, moving portrayals of both major and incidental characters. Whilst the story of the events concerned is harrowing, the producers resist relying too heavily on graphic violence with the result of not losing the impact it has when it occurs.

My only criticism is of the seller who provided my copy. What I received was the 1 disc version. However, the seller gave me a full refund and is to be complimented for their service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this as a xmas present., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I bought this as a xmas present I have not broken the sealed polythene wrapper to try it, keep fingers crossed its ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING EPIC WILL BLOW YOU AWAY, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those intrested in ww2 and in particular the holocaust (as i myself am) this is unmissable its so well made and oh so exciting as well as chilling its quite simply one of the best ww2 movies ive ever seen (and ive seen just about every film and documentry i can find)............. so do NOT miss this it really is the most FANTASTIC AMAZING movie youll ever see ,it stands side by side with Schindlers List and the difference here is its in Colour and the sets ,cast and the true story will stay with you forever.....OUTSTANDING !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Also sad at the same time, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uprising (Amazon Instant Video)
Uplifting and well acted. Also sad at the same time.. Above average
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 28 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only decided to buy this after seeing an advert on American television for it. It was extremly good and definetly worth the price!
It has some really great actors in it including, Friends star, David Schwimmer, Hank Azaria and other very famous actors and actresses. The story is very good and althouth on a serious subject is filled with excitement and suspense.
Some of the fighting scenes in Warsaw are really quite amazing especially when you see what few weapons the Jews in the Warsaw ghetto had compared to the Nazi army. It is quite amazing how they fighted against them in real life - and I think that this film does give the true story justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE USUAL SLOOPY ERRORS IN RESEARCH, 4 April 2013
By 
Roger Edward Deshon "Laudator Temporis Acte" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a major - or is that Lt Colonel - problem with research in military programmes and on this one there's a glaring error in the uniform of SS-Reichsfuhrer HIMMLER. In the scene where he being driven through Warsaw why is he wearing the old SS Black uniform with swastika armband that was phased out for the grey SS / SD uniform in 1938? I would imagine the Reichsfuhrer would have been the first in line to receive the new grey uniform when it was issued.

Also on the cap of SS-Brigadefuhrer { Major General } STROOP the cap eagle badge looks like it was stuck on any old how at the last minute. If the SS was anything it was smartly turned out in uniforms. Why is it so that German uniforms, especially SS uniforms, are so often wrongly depicted in movies and TV series such as the 1978 'Holocaust' ? Is is because the Germans lost that they don't matter where accuracy is concerned?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Sep 2014
By 
G. W. Whitehall "Gordon" (Liverpool (UK)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NICE BOXSET DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DVD Uprising (DVD)
Very good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uprising (2001) [DVD] [US Import]
Uprising (2001) [DVD] [US Import] by Jon Avnet (DVD - 2001)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews