Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Movie
This is the first time that I thought a movie was not worth seeing and waited until now. This time I will admit I made a mistake. This movie was fun to watch. It is well written and the interactions of the two main actors show a great chemistry.

Nicolas Cage plays the Special Agent in Charge of the Secret Service detail guarding a former First Lady. The First...
Published on 6 Oct. 2007 by M. A. Ramos

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars unwatchable
Great story, great acting but whoever produced the film made it unwatchable because of the incredibly loud constant 'background' music. We kept having to turn down the deafening music but then we couldn't hear the voices - such a shame because everything else was fine.
Published on 11 Feb. 2013 by pause


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Movie, 6 Oct. 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
This is the first time that I thought a movie was not worth seeing and waited until now. This time I will admit I made a mistake. This movie was fun to watch. It is well written and the interactions of the two main actors show a great chemistry.

Nicolas Cage plays the Special Agent in Charge of the Secret Service detail guarding a former First Lady. The First Lady is played well my Shirley MacLaine. The agent feels he is wasted in such a detail and wants desperately to get back on detail to the White House...and the First Lady wants him to stay. The two seem to thrive on confrontation with each other. She does her best to break every procedure the Secret Service is supposed to follow.

If you pay attention in the movie you will see why the First Lady actually loves the agent so much and wants him with her. And I think the picture shows us a very accurate relationship that occurs between agent and his protectee. Though it could be seen as a comedy; there is a just enough drama and a mystery which Cage character solves. A very well directed with perfect pace and timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nic at his best, 21 April 2004
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
By far one of the best films that Cage has turned out. A year before his oscar winning film 'Leaving Las Vegas' Cage appears to be so at ease you wouldnt be surprised if he canned this one yesterday. Fun, witty, fast paced and at times deeply moving. All the acting is sharp, even that from the director who plays the slighty erractic phone president (you never see him, but is posibly one of the funniest characters in the film). All the fun culminates to a exeptionally emotive finalle which will give you 'that warm feeling'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars neil hunt, 15 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Guarding Tess a must film to see for any Nicolas Cage fan. Nicolas Cage is at his best,playing a secret service agent who has to guard an ex presidents wife that he dos'nt want to. Shirley Maclaine plays the ex presidents wife who always wants things done her way.It's abit like the odd couple at times.I liked the way she went off on her own just to spite him and how he alway got introuble with president when he stopped her from doing her own thing.It was good to see them get on in the end after the kidnaping and how they became close. I have seen this film over and over again and still find something new to see in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guarding Tess review, 21 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] (DVD)
Guarding Tess is a very good story about a woman who was once a presidents wife and still has a lot of well connected friends. She became a countries treasure, so she is now still being looked after and due to having friends in high places she has to be guarded.
She has a lot going on in her life she is trying to deal with and she wants things her way and resents the restrictions of movement to do things in her life so she tries to rebel against this and causes many problems for team or protectors. Shirley Maclaine is a fantastic actress to play this part and makes it very real.
The head of her protectors really does not want to be there and wants to be a body guard for someone more higher up in Washington, so he also seems to resent his job, but does it to his best ability and wants things done by the book as a professional, but Tess makes this a very hard job to do. This character is played well play Nicolas Cage.
Without trying to give the story away, Tess does end up being kidnapped and it has an action packed sequence of events showing how they try to find her and how it affects their jobs.
I had this on a video and I am now exchanging them all for DVD's and this is one I wanted to replace as I could watch over again and keep it to watch later.
I would recommend this to anyone of the age 15 up to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guarding Tess - very watchable, 22 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
It's an unusual storyline, Secret agent in charge, played by Nicolas Cage, protecting an old lady who just happens to be an ex-president's wife, played by Shirley Maclaine, who plays the part as a cranky and hard to please dame. Cage has to pander to her every whim, though it drives him mad, as she has the backing of the current president who supports her vociferously, and she has to be protected at all costs - what would the American public think if she wasn't, gosh, shock, horror. If she treats Nicolas Cage so badly, why did she want him back after he completes his tour of duty ... all will be revealed, and a few more twists and turns as well. It's got humour, tragedy, love, and humility, and a lot more besides, a memorable film, and nicely done. It's definitely one for the collection if it finds its mark with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guarding Tess, 9 Jan. 2009
By 
Aquinas "Alec" (North Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
A hugely enjoyable film about the relationship between an ambitious, but decent CIA operative (Nicholas Cage) and his impossible, but lonely ward (Shirley MacLaine). A solid effort from Cage, but outclassed by MacLaine's understated, but masterful performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guarding Tess, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
S. L. Hedges (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] (DVD)
Guarding Tess....Well all i can say is i think in a way weve all been there. We all have those grumpy grandparents that want it done and done propally. haha. I think this film is great! Really highlights the old story of you treat the ones you love the most in the worst way.

Tess hates the fact she is relying on these special agents but instead of refusing them makes their lives a living hell. Shes full of life and very sassy. Nicholas Cage well you gotta feel sorry for him as he takes the brunt of Tess' rages but he is the only one she truely trust as we see in the end.

I loved this film it was funny, and just so enjoyable. Fully recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars unwatchable, 11 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] (DVD)
Great story, great acting but whoever produced the film made it unwatchable because of the incredibly loud constant 'background' music. We kept having to turn down the deafening music but then we couldn't hear the voices - such a shame because everything else was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family fun, 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, it is just pure family fun, with a great cast, a no brainer that lets you have a Sunday snuggle on the sofa with a hot choclate and a relaxing afternoon - hope you enjoy it as much as i do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a really good story and no unnecessary sex or violence, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guarding Tess [DVD] (DVD)
shirley maclaine is really good at playing the grand-dame who doesn't suffer fools and makes life difficult for those around her - and nicholas cage is a strong enough actor to hold his own against her
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guarding Tess [DVD] [1995]
Guarding Tess [DVD] [1995] by Hugh Wilson (DVD - 2002)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews