Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game made me cry!
We bought Pikmin the week it came out, then left it alone. We felt disappointed. It all seemed such a faff. Little creatures, little spaceships. Little action. Some months later, we gave it another try. What were we thinking? Suddenly the penny dropped. This game is so cool, and such fun.
You need to stick with the original day or so of getting all your Pikmin...
Published on 12 May 2003 by Alijazz

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing... yet oddly disappointing...
I was itching to get this game when I bought my Cube. I love those types of game that are puzzly/strategy type affairs. And for the first day I couldn't have asked for anything more. The graphics are delicious, the characters fun, the story compelling and the game play is superb...
Then came the second day...
I was quite surprised to finish the game (albeit...
Published on 12 Aug. 2002 by Stuart Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pikmin ain't just for kids!, 22 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Pikmin (GameCube) (Video Game)
I know what you're going to say.... Pikmin is a game aimed @ Children. But... the game offers much more than the childish impression will lead you to believe. This is an incredibly playable game, with a strong strategy element and some frustrating and difficult gameplay.
The game is, as expected, graphically superb. The controls are simple and quick to learn and the game itself is immersive, requiring a level of intelligence to collect all the parts necessary to guide Miyamoto's latest creation to safety. However, it does feature several cut-scenes when the Pikmin enter - but these fall naturally in the game. The occasional text on screen can become a little tedious, but does not interfere with the game.
Ultimately, this is a very credible game with more good features than disappointing ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Childish...think again!, 29 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pikmin (GameCube) (Video Game)
Pikmin is a great game of which adults and children can enjoy. The game requires a lot of skill and brain power, but is also easy and enjoyable to pick-up. The colourful graphics are not saying it is for children. It is better aimed at older children and adults. The idea behind Pikmin is you control an army of creatures named 'Pikmin'. The Pikmin have many uses: They can push, attack, be thrown and many other things. There are three colours of Pikmin. Red Pikmin are the best worriors and can withstand boiling temperatures. Yellow can jump higher and can pick up bomb rocks. Blue Pikmin, however are the only Pikmin that can swim. Get this game - its innovative and great fun. You won't regret your moneys worth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nintendo, 17 Jun. 2002
This review is from: Pikmin (GameCube) (Video Game)
Pikmin is an intresting concept, one which some will dismiss without sampling. For those who give it a chance, will find it a very rewarding and enjoyable experience.
Without giving too much away (in fact theres not much of a story), you are a space traveller called Captain Olimar who crash lands on a strange planet after being hit by a meteor. This leads to the (near) destruction of your ship and so follows a hunt to find 30 ship parts that have been scattered throughout this strange planet.
You'll soon find your not alone in your quest, when you discover the 'Pikmin', a mysterious carrott shaped creature that inhabit the planet. And it's around these that the games main play mechanic revolves. Pikmin follow your command and you can give them various tasks to help you gain access to new areas and ultimately, return all your ship parts. The Pikmins skills include fighting (in huge numbers), building, and collecting food and pellets to harvest and further increase your Pikimn army.
Puzzles are relatively simple, some requiring some thought, and in most cases, planning. Time management is important as you are required to complete tasks in a day by day cycle, of which at first, dont appear very long.
The game is extremely polished as you'd expect from Nintendo, the visuals are splendid and are perfectly suited to the game, vibrant colours, and nice lighting effects as the day passes.
Overall, Pikmin is a very enjoyable experience, some may sneer at its relatively short life-span, others will find joy returning to play again and again. Nevertheless, everyone should try it, it's rare a game this innovative and vibrant comes along.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing, 11 Dec. 2010
By 
Alan J. Cartwright (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pikmin (GameCube) (Video Game)
I rediscovered this in my collection a few weeks ago and, just like the first time I played it through, I really have to say it's an absolute gem of a game - and indeed, I find the original to be much superior to the sequel (and the sequel is still a really good game).
If you're not aware of the premise, a quick summary would be: Captain Olimar crashes his spaceship on foreign planet, finds tiny little creatures (pikmin), uses them to help recover the missing parts of his spaceship. However, the game is so much more than that.
You'll take your little pikmin around with you everywhere, using the right ones for the right situation (blue can survive in water, etc etc.) You'll collect pieces of your ship and fight off monsters. At the end of each day, you have to get back to your ship with all your pikmin or all variety of monsters will come out and get you.
It's hard to describe in a review what makes this game great but it really is worth picking up. Interesting, funny, cute, exciting, clever are all words I'd used to describe it, and it's one of the few games I'd say you'd HAVE to play before you die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the only games i will rate 5 stars for!, 4 July 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This game IS what the gamecube is remembered for! and now it has the chance of a second lease of life from people playing in on the Wii. I have never come across a game like this before. The graphics are fantastic and i love the little touches with the Pikmin noises! although the noise they make as they drown or get burnt by fire is a little heartbreaking!. At times it can be frustrating as you realise you have navigated your way across a tough terrian to find one of the ships parts but havent got enough Pikmin to carry it back! *whoomph* thats the sound of throwing the controller on the floor!. You HAVE to try this game out. Its cute, clever and crazy! you will fall in love with the little Pikmins as they follow you round wide eyed and theres plenty of humour as you go along but also some challenging puzzles to keep you on your toes. If you finish this game you can move on to Pikmin 2....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pikmin is fantastic., 17 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. Simon M. Perry (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Pikmin should be the saviour of Nintendo. While games like this are being produced, I see no reason not to support them. Pikmin is fun, engaging, and easy to play, without being overly simple. The graphics, creatures, and puzzles are practically flawless, and my only qualm with the game is it's perhaps lack of longevity. There is limited replay value (although there is some) and the career does not take a particularly long time to figure out. Challenge mode is a welcome addition, although by no means the best thing about this game.

However, for the amount of enjoyment you will receive from playing, Pikmin is a worthy investment, as is its sequel.

I'd probably give it 90%, for the innate fun of playing this game, but no more because of its slightly short lifespan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tired of blood and violence?, 7 July 2002
By 
Yu Li Hsiang "zaku0083" (Geneve Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pikmin (GameCube) (Video Game)
Like Super Mario Bros, Pikmin can be another benchmarking title for the industry. An innovative concept, taking and growing little alien beings to perform tusks. Evolve them for better performances, gather them to break down or build up objects, Pikmin is a healthy and definitive not childish game to play. Certainly a title that the entire family can enjoy, the puzzle solving, surprises of discovery tradition found in earlier Nintendo titles such as Zelda and Super Mario Bros has been carried forward into this title. Easy and short segmentation of the game into Days not stages meant that the player can have unlimited methods to complete the game. The three logs for saving progress meant that each member can have their own log and compete against each others. Unlike most of the 3D engined games available on the market, the game offered a beautiful,relaxing and yet addicting game. The level of violence is at its minimal, even if war is to occur, it emphasis on not the violence nor bloody scenes, but a comedy expression of battle scenes. This game displayed to players the different concept between Eastern and U.S. game designers, violence is a method to the goal but not the goal itself. A must have to Game Cube owners that may even bring the family together infront of the screen to enjoy and interact. (A single player game yes, but observations, suggestions and experience may be very helpful from others). Try Pikmin for a change, excitement and intensive game play does not have to come with violence or gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easily the greatest game of all time........., 19 Jun. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Pikmin (GameCube) (Video Game)
Yes, i kid you not.imagine having armies of tiny intelligent individual beings,that you can command to multi task,some building,some fighting,some gathering etc.when you want more you pick them out the ground.you are rebuilding your space ship so you can fly home.the pikmin help you.with amazing highly original graphics,and best of all easy controls.and there is an infinite ways you can play it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant innocent game for all ages., 3 Jan. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
A really cute game for kids to adults(i loved it). It is so addictive i got Pikmin 2 straight after i finished it.

it has a lovely story and stuff to collect so that you can take off in your damaged space ship again. It really gets your brain working too as all the pikmin work together and you have to keep them safe.

The best gamecube game that i have ever played!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing classic by nintendo!, 2 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Pikmin.

Pikmin is a great game which i got a long time ago and i still havnt got bored of it.I love this game because of the fantastic storyline and because of the great about of play value.I realy love this game and i think its well worth the money!

*************************buy it!*************************
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pikmin (GameCube)
Pikmin (GameCube) by Nintendo (GameCube)
£25.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews