Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cliff's lounge album!
Sure, I've been expecting new material from Cliff and not cover versions of (good) old songs. Sure, being a 26 year old Cliff fan and having seen him quite a few times on stage, I've been expecting a more up-tempo, rockin' album (one that Cliff hasn't made for a long time now, though rock 'n' roll was and is his specialty, and I'm sure he feels best when singing r'n'r...
Published on 15 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars was abit disapointed
wanted by cliff richard although i am a fan of cliff, i wasnt over impressed with this cd, not one of his best, its easy to listen to, but not alot of tracks that i like,
Published 21 months ago by jean eskdale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cliff's lounge album!, 15 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
Sure, I've been expecting new material from Cliff and not cover versions of (good) old songs. Sure, being a 26 year old Cliff fan and having seen him quite a few times on stage, I've been expecting a more up-tempo, rockin' album (one that Cliff hasn't made for a long time now, though rock 'n' roll was and is his specialty, and I'm sure he feels best when singing r'n'r songs). Sure, Alan Tarney seems to have lost somehow his magic touch with his new songs. BUT, THE TRUTH REMAINS THAT "WANTED" IS CLIFF'S MOST RELAXING AND UNWINDING ALBUM EVER, A TRULY LOUNGE ALBUM, KEEPING UP WITH THE LATEST LOUNGING FASHION IN MUSIC WORLDWIDE! I've been playing the album on my car CD every morning going to work and every evening just before sunset and it fits perfectly at that time! Being Greek, I can't imagine a better spot to listen to Cliff's album than a beach on a greek isle as the sun sets in! "Cafe del Mar" is dead, long live "Wanted"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cliff goes Reggae !, 24 Nov 2001
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
Cliff opens with his new single Some where over the rain bow/A Wonderful world in a reggae style, a Christmas hit. This CD album is NOT just covers they sound NEW fresh different.
If you have seen Cliff's TV show "The Hits I Missed" Then you have heard the album "WANTED" This is a CD you have too listen to several times to get into it and it will be worth it. What's Love Got To Do With It should have been a Cliff song which got away, here it is for kids to dance to and will if DJ's play it.
A new song by Tarney and soon to be single in 2002 Let Me Be The One this is a song which will go down well in concert. A lovely song which I did not care for till after hearing a few times, is a lovely haunting song to end the night in someones arms.
"ALL SHOOK UP" is not 50s elvis this is 2001 Cliff with an Alan Tarney beat, an all NEW song which I like the best. If you don't MOVE IT to this then you have no soul no life in you. This song put a spell on me. It's not ment to sound the same as the originals it is NEW FRESH!
Ok this is not "I'm Nearly Famous" Cliff more "Sincerely" Cliff. Light pop to relax too and play in the car. Moon River, When You Walk In The Room, the Tarney/Black This Love You Will Never Forget. This CD you will never forget also, it will be played again & again. Then when you hear the originals you may find that you now prefer Cliff's and the kids will think that they are his anyway.
THE LADYS WILL LOVE THIS CLIFF FOR XMAS.
You need to have a soul to love this CD which has gone GOLD. And Cliff fans have SOUL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid re-teaming with perhaps his most successful producer, 7 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
After his previous album Real As I Wanna Be was largely overlooked by the music-buying public, Cliff seems to have come up with a formula to get back into the higher end of the charts by re-teaming with Alan Tarney who produced his two most successful albums, Always Guaranteed (1987) and Stronger (1989), to record a bunch of already well-known hits.
This formula generally works well and is likely to appeal to a great many people. It will also likely give him another platinum disc.
Standout tracks on this album are a medley of Somewhere Over The Rainbow/What A Wonderful world which is presented with an interesting semi-reggae flavour, Tina Turner's What's Love Got To Do With It, a new song called Let Me Be The One, a disco-flavoured All Shook Up, James Taylor's You've Got A Friend given a pop/R&B treatment and a bouncy cover of The Searchers' When You Walk In The Room.
While some have complained about the programmed drum-beats and synth machines, this album is pure pop and has never pretended to be anything else. If modern pop music doesn't appeal to you then you may not enjoy this album, but if it does then I can't see anyone going wrong with Wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best work Cliff has done in over a decade, 11 Dec 2001
By 
Gerald J. Corcoran "Karen" (Summerville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
I think his year off certainly paid dividends - this CD is great - good rocking songs done in his own old style which I think is superior to any he has tried in the past few years. The ballads are smooth & well done. Hope he continues on in this tradition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what a surprise, this is unexpected magic, thanks Cliff, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
I was not expecting too much from this Album. I like Cliff alot and over the years have heard the very good and not so good from this always class act. This is VERY GOOD indeed. Yes I agree with some of the other reviews about 'Love me Tender' but apart from that the other songs are a joy to listen to. Many of the renditions make you think you are listening to a 'new' song. He has really re-written the way some of the songs are sung and put the trade mark 'Cliff' on them. I loved the rendition of Over the Rainbow/Wonderful World, incredibly well blended together, beautifully sung. My absolute favourite on the Album has to be 'Let me be the one' This has hit single written all over. PLEASE CLIFF if you read this review release this as a single and I reckon you will have another smash hit on your (very nice photo of) hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class album from a class act!, 9 Nov 2001
By 
Patrick Murphy (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
This is a first-class pop album. The songs are good, the production is slick, the treatments are clever and Cliff is in top form. This time, there's no submerging of his voice within an overproduced mix. Instead, he sits clearly on top of the backing track. And with his voice and singing smarts, that's precisely where he should be.
Some folks may take issue with the prevalence of covers. But really, that's a bit of a red herring. The versions here are not copies of the originals. Indeed, some of them (such as Like Strangers, All Shook Up and You've Got A Friend) are vastly removed from the versions you've heard before.
The lead-off track, a light reggae blending of Somewhere Over The Rainbow & What A Wonderful World, is a stunner. It'll be a real contender for the Christmas #1. But there are lots of other gems. Just to mention a few, there's the decidedly non-folky You've Got A Friend, a drivingly infectious When You Walk In The Room and a cleverly catchy new Alan Tarney composition called This Love You Will Never Forget.
While it's true that the instrumentation tends to have a canned, synthetic feel, it doesn't really detract from the overall quality of the piece. Do your ears a favour and listen to this album. Better still, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another hit from Cliff!!, 11 Nov 2001
By 
Namir C. Shammas (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
Sir Cliff and Alan Tarney did it again! This album is a winner with wonderful hits like "All shook up" and "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" are wondeful. Cliff's voice and the music is very addictive. Listing to the Beatles' hit "And I Love Her" made me think that this is another masterpiece sang by a superstar like Cliff. I highly recommend this album. Thanks Cliff and Alan for another wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great album from cliff, 8 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
long awaited album proves to be one of cliff's best ever, "let me be the one" is the highlight,and
his version of the searcher's "when you walk in the room" is a great remake of a great 60's pop song,with eleven other tracks all done with the help of alan tarney this is one cd that is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MOdern Classics, 6 Nov 2001
By 
Mr. A. J. Crick "yidarmy12" (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
Once again sir cliff has come up with somthing to annoy the critics. In the Sunday papers they were branding the album a travesty and how he was wrecking great songs. What rubbish. All he has done is put a modern twist into some of his favourite songs and come up with anther great album. Songs which everyone knows have been made more singable than ever, along with new tracks like the fantastic Let Me Be the One. How come when Westlife and other talentless "boy bands" do cover versions they get nothing but praise, but when Sir Cliff does he gets slated? A great album which will prove the critics wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful easy-listening CD from a polished performer., 5 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wanted (Audio CD)
The tracks on this CD lend themselves to Cliff's voice - a light baritone/tenor; the arrangements are excellent and the content easy on the ear. A relaxing listen from a very polished performer, with professional backing as one would expect upon a Cliff Richard CD. A wonderful addition to my CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wanted
Wanted by Cliff Richard (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews