Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get up, get out, get inside the outside
This album doesn't seem to enjoy the popularity of Hellbilly Deluxe, Rob Zombie's first solo release, but I consider The Sinister Urge the better album of the two. The music seems to be more important this time around, as Zombie experiments with or conjures up new means by which to communicate his unique message. (go to) California, for example, seems to begin with a...
Published on 26 Feb 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not brilliant, just average
Now, just because I'm a big fan of the Zombie doesn't mean I'll say this album is better than it actually is. Trouble is, it just doesn't compare to the far superior Hellbilly Deluxe.
It's got eleven tracks, of which two are instrumental filler. So, of the nine remaining only four really stand out, being Dead Girl Superstar (all 2.5 mins of it), Iron Head, Feel So...
Published on 19 Nov 2001 by mike_k_edwards@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get up, get out, get inside the outside, 26 Feb 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
This album doesn't seem to enjoy the popularity of Hellbilly Deluxe, Rob Zombie's first solo release, but I consider The Sinister Urge the better album of the two. The music seems to be more important this time around, as Zombie experiments with or conjures up new means by which to communicate his unique message. (go to) California, for example, seems to begin with a strange lilting sound to it, and Zombie's voice is somewhat subdued on the verses, providing a nice contrast with the more forceful chorus. Of course, there is plenty of hard rocking on this album, especially on the three most familiar tunes: Never Gonna Stop (the red, red kroovy), Feel So Numb, and Demon Speeding. Demon Speeding reminds me a lot of the Hellbilly Deluxe tracks, but the other new songs have a different sound and style than what Zombie has given us before. These songs are catchier and are more prone to hang around in your head reminding you of their visceral greatness; some might say Zombie got a little soft and added a touch of pop to a few tracks here, but I don't think that is the case at all. If he has added anything, it is a complexity that makes his music all the more impressive.
One song that certainly deserves special mention is Iron Head, which features none other than Ozzy Osbourne helping out on the vocals; the way he and Zombie alternate lines makes Ozzy's input especially effective. Dead Girl Superstar is a great hard-rocking track, and I also really like Bring Her Down (To Crippletown), another song which features a dramatic contrast between the verses and chorus. Scum of the Earth isn't bad, but I would consider it the only light-weight song on the album. There really isn't as much filler material on here as some might think. Sinners Inc. introduces the album with some horror movie-type dialogue, Transylvanian Transmissions Pt. 1 features a dramatic, malevolent reading of horror-laden, strangely philosophical lines, and then the singular House of 1000 Corpses closes out the album with rather a significant bit of what some would call filler material surrounding an otherwise gleefully evil song-more horror movie dialogue about murder, cannibalism, and similar dastardly deeds, voices of innocent little girls, a satisfying number of screams, and-somewhat inexplicably-a couple of minutes' worth of background noise. At almost ten minutes, House of 1000 Corpses is definitely the longest song on the album, but I for one enjoy taking my time to enjoy the pleasure offered by musical rumination upon the darker things in life.
I might note that this album, unlike its predecessor, provides listeners with the song lyrics; it's not always easy to understand Zombie's edgy vocals, and now, while some of the lyrics don't make a great deal of sense, I at least know what I'm hearing. Overall, I recommend this album wholeheartedly to those who like their music dark and forceful. Even though Rob Zombie brought a musical legacy with him from his White Zombie years, Hellbilly Deluxe had a bit of a gimmicky feel to it and proved a little uneven in places. The Sinister Urge, on the other hand, is consistently good from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Zombie is a very loud, but great sound, 24 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
I have in the space of just a few weeks become a huge Rob Zombie music fan. Since hearing one of his songs on WWF TV (Never Gonna Stop of this album is used by Edge) I have been rounding up as much of his music as I can. It's great. Very distintive from the stuff you'll find in the top 40 charts list. It's Rock, It's Loud and I feel everyone should listen to this album and his other album 'Hellbilly Deluxe'.
I recommend the songs, 'Never Gonna Stop', 'Feel So Numb' and 'Dead Girl Superstar' the most. So what are you people waiting for?...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST ALBUM I heard in AGES!!! Well Done Rob...., 3 Jun 2002
This review is from: sinister urge (Audio CD)
This album may only struggle to make the 40 minute mark, but don't be put off: what you get in that short time are top ear-bashing tunes! The highlights for me were definitely "Demon Speeding", "Never Gonna Stop" and "Feel So Numb" (even though the whole album is great!) I prefer the cover of the import CD and it certainly takes more pride of place in your CD rack as an imported CD. Tracks such as "Sinners Inc." and "Transylvanian Transmissions PT" provide a break in the non-stop rock and offer some freaky 'Rob Zombie like' lyrics for you to marvel at. This album will make you look at the lyrics several times as you think: 'did he really say that?' and have you humming and tapping the catchy guitars and drums for weeks on end! Overall: BUY THIS ALBUM NOW!! Guaranteed to be the BEST MUSIC you have heard in a long time and certainly Rob's best work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night of the Living Dead, 3 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
When better in this era of Korn,Limp Bizkit & Linkin Park for industrial rocker Rob Zombie to release his long-awaited 2nd studio LP "The Sinister Urge". Since bursting onto the scene with his criticalley acclaimed album "Hillbilly Deluxe" he has been revolutionising a flagging genre & making Marilyn Manson look tame. Fans of "Hillbilly Deluxe" may be surprised to see that this album is not nearly as hard as it's predeccesor & relys more on well-written lyrics & groovy bass. I must say that I personalley was not a fan of "Hillbilly Deluxe" but with this album Rob Zombie has made a fan out of me. This is the ultimate album for all metalheads,sorry Ozzy but Rob Zombie is the new king of Rock. Long live the king!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic alternative to a dried up metal scene., 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
What can you say, Rob Zombie delivers a venomous slab of post industrial, B movie noise that is the perfect antidote to a stale scene. Rob Zombie not only takes the crowns of his influences, but delivers it back to his audience for pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not Hellbilly standard, 7 Jan 2002
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
Whilst Hellbilly was one of the finest albums of the last decade, urge is not! thats not to say it doesn't have its good parts, Feel so numb is a great song but most of the album feels a little less "Zombie" and merges in with the rest of heavy goth rock, Marilyn et al. Still I'd say buy this one but if the next album isn't better this is one Zombie fan who may find himself turning elsewhere for his musical buzz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More please Mr Z, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (MP3 Download)
My only criticism of Rob Zombie is that he does so many remixes of his older stuff. He still churns out thumping new rock beats too though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars go, rob zombie, go go yeah yeah yeah, 16 July 2007
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
i was very surprised at some of the other comments about this album. i thought this was fantastic. great heavy metal stuff and typically brilliant rob zombie. i might be dreaming, but i think this is his best, like i said, it might just be me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not brilliant, just average, 19 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
Now, just because I'm a big fan of the Zombie doesn't mean I'll say this album is better than it actually is. Trouble is, it just doesn't compare to the far superior Hellbilly Deluxe.
It's got eleven tracks, of which two are instrumental filler. So, of the nine remaining only four really stand out, being Dead Girl Superstar (all 2.5 mins of it), Iron Head, Feel So Numb and Scum Of The Earth (although most fans will already have this as it was released last year). The others aren't bad, they just don't rock and don't have the catchy chorus lines we've come to expect. Also the tempo of them has been slowed down, seen most on the rather tedious Never Gonna Stop, California and House Of 1000 Corpses.
Like Hellbilly the album clocks in at less than 40 mins. I could handle this if like Hellbilly it was full of instant classics, but it isn't. Also the lyrics seem a little less well conceived than on previous outings. They seem tacked on as an after thought.
So, considering it's taken him 3 years to produce something new, it's a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Rob Zombie masterpiece, 4 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sinister Urge (Audio CD)
Rob Zombie fans have waited a long time between his last album (Hellbilly Deluxe) and this one with only the remix album to keep them sane. It was worth the wait. 11 tracks of madness from the Zombie will leave only leave fans wanting an encore. Some of the tracks are better than others, as always, but it is not a CD to miss if Death, Doom and Destruction are your mediums. Warning: This CD is not for the faint hearted!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sinister Urge
The Sinister Urge by Rob Zombie (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews