Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another decade of music redefined by Madonna
As a teenager in the 1980s, I absolutely loved Madonna; I refused to go a single day without listening to at least one Madonna song. By the time the 1990s rolled around, the obsession had faded and, while I still liked Madonna, I really didn't keep up with her music (or pop music in general, the poor quality of which finally pushed me over to the oldies stations on my...
Published on 10 Feb 2004 by Daniel Jolley

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss compilation from yoga queen
It is testament to an pop artist's humungous success when they can pick and choose which songs go on their greatest hits albums, instead of cramming them all on and chucking in a few b-sides/album tracks/pointless remixes to make up the numbers. Madonna did it before on 'The Immaculate Collection' (ignoring such gems as True Blue and Who's That Girl?) and she's done it...
Published on 19 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another decade of music redefined by Madonna, 10 Feb 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
As a teenager in the 1980s, I absolutely loved Madonna; I refused to go a single day without listening to at least one Madonna song. By the time the 1990s rolled around, the obsession had faded and, while I still liked Madonna, I really didn't keep up with her music (or pop music in general, the poor quality of which finally pushed me over to the oldies stations on my radio). For me, GHV2 is a perfect match. My previous exposure to most of these songs ranged from a little to none whatsoever, so I basically rediscovered Madonna when I bought this collection. Madonna has never gotten the respect she deserves for her music; all I heard about her for many years were criticisms of her movies, jokes, etc. Most of the critics seem to dismiss her music altogether, yet she unleashed some huge hits (not to mention impressive albums) during the 1990s, most of the best of which are included in this retrospective collection. Now I know that Madonna is larger than life and that her music is really only a part of her persona. Many people have disapproved of some of her antics over the years, including myself on occasion, but I have always loved and admired her strength, resolve, and undying commitment to be a complete individual and do whatever she wants to do. It's easy to get lost in all the ephemeral nonsense that surrounds the woman, but her very foundation is her music, and this collection shows what an amazing performer she really is.
Madonna has been around quite a long time now, as hard as that is for me to believe. The reason she is still turning out hits while many other artists from the early 80s are gone and forgotten comes down to her unmatched ability to completely recreate herself. Not only does she adapt to changes in the musical scene, she leads the charge for change herself. Over her career, this has allowed her to excel across a wide spectrum of song types. I'm no dance music expert, but Madonna lays down the most infectious dance beats I know of in songs such as Deeper and Deeper (featuring a brilliant bridge into a part of her earlier song Vogue) and the totally funked up Music. Beautiful Stranger is another great dance song (but I'll never be able to hear this song without conjuring up images from the music video featuring Austin Powers). Of course, Madonna has her naughty side, as revealed in the edited versions of Erotica and – depending on your state of mind - Bedtime Stories. Madonna never looks back or has regrets, a trait I greatly admire, and she makes this fact pretty clear in the sexually mischievous song Human Nature. What It Feels Like For a Girl makes the point even more convincingly as it points out the ways in which men and women are judged by different standards.
Madonna is also the voice behind some of the best love songs of the 1990s. Classics such as The Power of Goodbye, Frozen, and Take a Bow are just beautiful, featuring some of the most moving choruses I've ever heard in pop music. The lyrics, for those who stop to listen to them, are really quite poignant and touching – you won't find any bubble gum pop on GHV2. Then there are the great songs I find hard to classify: Ray of Light is almost cosmic in its appeal and manic in its musical expression. Drowned World/Substitute For Love carries a life-affirming beat in support of its unusually touching message. Then there is Don't Tell Me, a song I like more and more each time I hear it. I remember hearing it for the first time on the radio, as the deejay assured the audience that the "skips" we were about to hear in the early moments of the track were actually supposed to be there. In the 1990s, Madonna was still taking chances, still taking music in new directions, and still turning out some of the best music in the business. GHV2 is a great joy for Madonna fans and ample proof to all the disbelievers out there who deny this remarkable woman's musical talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not necessarily a sequel..., 3 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
Like most great artists, Madonna's career also suffered the "lows" during the 90's. However, she continues to amaze her fans by quickly getting into a new "high" unexpectedly. "The Immaculate Collection" is without question one of the best "greatest hits" ever made. Digitally remixed and remastered, TIC closed the 80's and opened the 90's.
GHV2 is not necessarily the sequel to TIC. It is not chronologically arranged, no new tracks included, no Shep Pettibone or Goh Hotoda to engineer or oversee the entire project. While some fans may look for her ballads in GHV2, they were already released in 1995 via "Something to Remember." And since Madonna is known not to "repeat" track releases, she excluded them to pack more materials. GHV2 is a real mixed bag of Madonna's second decade, and for that we should already appreciate such release because this is all for the fans.
While GHV2 closes yet another era of Madonna, fans of the Icon are just waiting again what her new incarnation might be and what "The Immaculate Greatest Hits Collection Volume 3" might sound like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great hits collection, 13 Aug 2004
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
GHV2 opens with the brilliant dance track "Deeper & Deeper", which ends with the familiar lyrics "You've got to / Let your body move to the music..." from her classic "Vogue". From this, you know what to expect. Polished, mature and likeable pop music from the undisputed queen of pop. Madonna's Erotica phase continues with title track "Erotica", a seductive and slightly scary exploration of human sexuality, which is another classic track in the bag. In fact, so many of these tracks are simply amazing, from the dance-pop of "Human Nature" to the brilliantly produced "Music", that it's hard to describe simply how good this album is. The only dip in quality is during "Don't Cry For Me Argentina" and despite this being a pretty good song, it really doesn't fit here. GHV2 does the unthinkable and manages to rival The Immaculate Collection, which is something that few albums by Madonna have ever done. Good on her!
The only problem is the lack of new stuff. Unfortunately, there are no brilliant new tracks like there were on The Immaculate Collection ("Justify My Love", "Rescue Me"), although this is the first of her albums that "Beautiful Stranger", the bouncy, summery Austin Powers theme, has appeared on.
GHV2 is a must for anyone who missed Madonna's 90s albums, and it gives you just what you want - all killer, no album filler...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate, Definatife, Classic, Pure Pop, A Decades Work., 26 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
Madonna Second Greatest Hits Collection. This album has already gone platnuim in Britan X2! Madonna 1st G.Hits Sold 22,000,000 Copies Worldwide! This second hits edition can be granted the same sucsess. Containing gold, silver, platnuim and No1 songs it's a mega bargain. Contaning only the greatest hits of a decade there are 15 defineative songs of the albums Erotica, Bedtime Stories, Evita, Ray Of Light & Music. Conating A No1 and 14 Top 10 hits it is cool. All the songs are special club versions so eat your heart of Mariah, Faith & Shania. Including her mutli-platnuim singles Music, Ray Of Light & Frozen. Gold singles like Don't Tell me & Secret. There is a thunderpuss. Megamix going about with 9 of the 15 tracks together. This is truley a mega mildstone in Madonna's carrer. And I Feel!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss compilation from yoga queen, 19 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
It is testament to an pop artist's humungous success when they can pick and choose which songs go on their greatest hits albums, instead of cramming them all on and chucking in a few b-sides/album tracks/pointless remixes to make up the numbers. Madonna did it before on 'The Immaculate Collection' (ignoring such gems as True Blue and Who's That Girl?) and she's done it again with GHV2; only 2 of the five Erotica tracks she released appear here, 'You'll See', 'I'll Remember' and the other two Evita tracks aren't present and correct but, perhaps most suprisingly, she omits American Pie - a UK number one (remember, she didn't have that many in the 90s). Madonna's musical influences were all over the place during the last decade and that is reflected here - it is definitely a patchy compilation which contrasts Madonna's successes (pretty much everything from her latter two albums) with her more miscalculated attempts (the awful, unsexy 'Erotica' and uncomfortable-sounding 'Bedtime Story', for example). GHV2 is an interesting listen with some classy tunes; however it lacks the sheer quality of her first hits package, suggesting that after all her experimentation, pop is what she should stick to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A (near) Immaculate Collection II, 14 Nov 2001
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
Only the true greats of pop make it to Greatest Hits Volume 2 stage. Half the production line, stage school rubbish that we avoid day-in day-out should think themselves lucky to even achieve Volume 1 status.
With her continued musical greatness in mind, I doubt very much that anyone out there would bet against a Greatest Hits Volume 3 from Madonna appearing sometime around 2011 when the undisputed Queen Of Pop will be more of a Grand Empress Dowager by then!
Whereas lesser mortals are forced to cram anything that even faintly troubled the charts (along with pointless 'filler' remixes) onto their compilations. Madonna, being so enduringly successful, and having a bumper crop of hits to choose from, can afford to leave out Top Ten hits like 'Rain', 'This Used To Be My Playground', 'Bad Girl', 'I'll Remember', 'You'll See', 'Nothing Really Matters' and even No 1's like 'American Pie' , and not lose any sleep, or expected sales - I think the limitations of a 75 minute capacity CD might have something to do with it too!
This collection literally 'hits' the ground running with songs culled from her 'Erotica' period - the hugely enjoyable 'Vogue' and 'Rescue Me' splice that is 'Deeper and Deeper', and the fabulous groove - 'Erotica'. Personally, I am so glad that Madonna chose to include these classics, as I know a lot of (dull) people will feel a bit uncomfortable about her reminding us of her 'Tut! Tut! What isn't she wearing now?' era. But who cares? These are brilliant tracks, worthy of inclusion even if, at the time, she was daring to flirt with lesbianism whilst trying to sell us metal bound books full of 'artistic' black and white photos of herself cavorting around in the altogether (and yes, I DO have one). Good on her!
She immediately answers her crabby critics with 'Human Nature'. Far from being a 'great hit', I don't think that this song remained long in the collective consciousness, or the charts for that matter, to be included here. And, apart from that, it's not much cop by Madonna standards. Madonna also includes three more songs from her 'Bedtime Stories' album; The simple, yet hummingly satisfying - 'Secret', the lovely, almost oriental sounding ballad - 'Take a Bow', and the weirdly wonderful Bjork/Nellee Hooper collaboration - 'Bedtime Story'. I think at this time, Madonna was a bit mixed-up musically and emotionally, and it shows here - She wasn't sure if she was to be an R&B Diva, a Celine soundalikey, or a mad 'pots for rags' Bjork type.
Some may argue that she chose the Dion path, namely her bop free 'Something to Remember' collection that appeared mid-90's. The songs became slower, slushier and bereft of any controversy whatsoever - in fact, the most shocking thing to me was that my parents started to approve of her (!!!!). And then her 'Evita' period, of which 'Don't Cry For Me Argentina' is included here. Now I don't like musicals, never have done, never will do, and not even Madonna in all her talents will convince me otherwise. So let's quickly pass on that one, eh?
Thankfully, for most of her true fans anyway, Madonna fled the retiring pastures of Easy FM, and took off back into Orbit (pun intended) with her most seminal work to date - 'Ray Of Light'. We have 'Frozen', 'Ray of Light' 'The Power of Goodbye' and 'Drowned World' included here. All amazing, and all emblazoned with the spooky, kooky aural magic that Mr. Orbit so masterfully conjures.
One more collaborative effort resulted in 1999's groovetastic 'Beautiful Stranger' (Track 8) which like the hero of the movie it is taken from (Austin Powers 2), is an endearing 60s/90s oddity that just makes you want to smile and dance all silly.
Madonna launched her campaign for 21st century world domination by collaborating with a strangely powerful Afghan, who has hardly ever been seen outside of his HQ...NO CALM DOWN! NOT THAT ONE!!!! The reclusive musical wizard, Mirwais Ahmadzai, manages to produce even weirder blippy and thwarpy noises than Orbit and together with Madonna, they came up with the dancefloor killer - 'Music' and the Acid Nashville genius of 'Don't Tell Me'. Which brings us right up to the present day. One can't help but wonder what her next move will be - Electro Aboriginal Skiffle anyone? But whatever it will be, you can be sure that Kylie (God Love Her in her own wonderful right!) and Co will be scrambling for their notepads, whilst we'll all be reaching for the volume control - to turn up au naturellement!
Therefore, a near perfect collection. To be an absolutely perfect musical anthology of Madonna's last decade - my advice would be to dump 'Human Nature', 'DCFMA' and the drearily drab 'What It Feels Like For A Girl'. Bring onboard the powerful 'Rain', the Love Martyr's anthem - 'You'll See', and the strangely hypnotic 'American Pie', and then she could have safely called it The Immaculate Collection II and wouldn't have broken any Trade Descriptions Act.
4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection of pop music classics, 3 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
Madonna's second greatest hits compilation is just as good as 1990's The Immaculate Collection. GHV2 presents the best of Madonna's strangest era from the "Sex" days to her spiritual Ray Of Light era.
This album is a true hits collection. It features such international #1 hits as "Erotica", "Don't Cry For Me Argentina", "Take A Bow", "Beautiful Stranger" and "Frozen". You can see how Madonna has grown as a songwriter and a singer during the 90s. "Don't Cry For Me Argentina" and 1998's smash hit "Ray Of Light" are best examples of her beautiful and powerful vocal talent. You can hear how her voice has changed since the days of "Deeper And Deeper" (1992).
This is a collection that leaves no-one cold. There's upbeat dance tunes (Beautiful Stranger, Deeper And Deeper, Music), lush ballads (Take A Bow, The Power of Goodbye, What It Feels Like For A Girl) and mid-tempo grooves (Secret, Don't Tell Me, Drowned World/Subsitute For Love). It's simply a perfect collection of pop music from the most significant female artist ever.
Even though the 90s were a turbulent decade for the Queen of Pop she managed to record some unforgettable classics. In the end it's the music that matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Madonna, 2 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
Bought this after recently buying "Celebration" and realising that I still have gaps in my Madonna collection! Although I have all the songs on other albums (apart from "Don't Cry For Me Argentina"), this is a CD I will play again and again. Hearing the songs here, mixed up, makes me appreciate them in a brand new way. I will always love 80s Madonna but it is fascinating to see how she was transformed by the end of the 90s, through personal challenges and events that deepened her as an artist - who would have thought listening to "The Immaculate Collection" that on her next Greatest Hits she would be singing an Andrew Lloyd Webber song with such emotion? "Take A Bow" is becoming my favourite Madonna song, I love it more each time I listen to it and hearing "What It Feels Like For A Girl" followed by "Drowned World/Substitute For Love" is incredibly powerful. Madonna has been the soundtrack to all the most emotional moments of my life, she has an album for any emotion you are feeling, and this one is perfect for any mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonnalicious!!!, 26 April 2006
By 
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
The undisputed queen of pop closed out the 90's with her most critically acclaimed album of her career to date (Ray Of Light) and to top it off came GHV2, a searing collection of Madonna hits from 1992's Erotica through to 2001's Uber cool electro clash jaunt that was Music. Having granted the fact that her sales took a dip in the 90's (Dip not fall!!)Madonna unleashed her most inner creative desires throughout the 90's becoming more experimental, fun, and down right funky with her choice of musical styles. Not only was she eager to embrace new sounds but visuals as well. She circum-navigated the globe through her choice of visual direction and inspired millions including a few other female entertainers to boot, from the gay clubs of LA and NYC in Deeper and Deeper and Erotica through to the world of Barbarrella in the Bedtime Story clip, our hero also took on the world of the Geisha and Cowgirl with Ray Of Light and Music. There wasnt much that the 1st lady of pop wouldnt undertake, like a jugernaut she trashed through every culture snapping up pieces on the way, the result is an album that shows an artist fully in control of her career able to make the choices she wants directing where she goes. GHV2 in retrospect is a kind of thankyou to the millions of fans for sticking by her through thick and thin, her choices of musical styles may not have been to everyones taste in the 90's but she proved that you can either follow the crowd and become staid or stike out and become a vissionary!! Madonna chose the latter and im so glad she did! The tracks themselves are a mish mash of old and new, Deeper and Deeper compliments anything on the album as its straight up camp disco, her latter work fits uncomfotably next to hits such as Secret yet songs from the same era compliment the new- Bedtime Story and Frozen for example. My only gripe is that there were fabulous hits missed of this collection most notably the Edit one mix or video version of Fever, Rain, Nothing Really Matters and You'll see plus other hits such as Bad Girl, I Want You (with Massive Attack)and You Must Love Me. To date this album in the UK alone has sold over 920,000 so not such a flop after all. I think the lack of some new tracks to publicise the album and accompanying DVD (lets be honest her Hits DVD collection 93-99 missed out the best)let the sales down, but, all in all a fantastic snap shot of a woman at the top of her most creative powers, heres to the next decade and a GHV3!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superior collection - you may disagree because ........, 2 Jan 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) (Audio CD)
it doesn't iclude every hit since The Immaculate Collection. Therefore for this very reason some people will bemoan certain ommisions. But perspective folks - this is an album of a range and quality that really outdoes your average greatest hits collection, from "secret" to "ray of light" to "don't tell me" it is easy to see why she has had such an enduring career. What other artists can afford to leave out a host of top ten hits, including a number one and compile a body of work like this?
One tip though, for the the ballads missing ("rain", "you'll see", "i'll remember" and "this use to be my playground"), get the Something To Remember ballads collection and then your madonna hits collection will br truly complete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2)
GHV2 (Greatest Hits Volume 2) by Madonna (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews