Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bottom 4 Live *****
Top notch. I saw this live in Bristol not so long ago, and thought that it was really, really good. I am an avid bottom fan so you could say I am giving a biased opinion, but it was, a great show. The duo sweat it out as they do their usual combination of swearing, violence and plain vulgarity. Its not going to be as good as Hooligan's island, but what makes it so...
Published on 7 Nov 2001 by mildred_iii@hotmail.com

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bottom of the pile.....
Having been an avid fan of Rik Mayall and Ade Edmondson since their Young Ones days, this latest jaunt into the world of their Bottom characters, Eddie and Richie is the most disappointing.
Something I feel which was key in the previous 3 "live" outings was the banter between Rik and Ade when things went wrong....forgotten lines, props messing up etc. In...
Published on 12 Jan 2002 by blade1971ad@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bottom 4 Live *****, 7 Nov 2001
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Top notch. I saw this live in Bristol not so long ago, and thought that it was really, really good. I am an avid bottom fan so you could say I am giving a biased opinion, but it was, a great show. The duo sweat it out as they do their usual combination of swearing, violence and plain vulgarity. Its not going to be as good as Hooligan's island, but what makes it so much better then the t.v. series is the interaction with the audience, and the fluff ups!!! An absolute must for any bottom fan, or anyone who just wants to relax and laugh themselves silly!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!, 5 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I went to see Bottom live 2001, and I spent the entirity of the show in fits of laughter! If you are a fan of the Bottom TV series, the previous Bottom live shows, or you are fans of Rik Mayall and Adrian Edmundsons type of slapstick physical comedy, then you will adore this DVD! Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bottom of the pile....., 12 Jan 2002
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Having been an avid fan of Rik Mayall and Ade Edmondson since their Young Ones days, this latest jaunt into the world of their Bottom characters, Eddie and Richie is the most disappointing.
Something I feel which was key in the previous 3 "live" outings was the banter between Rik and Ade when things went wrong....forgotten lines, props messing up etc. In this show however, it all seemed so "scripted" including the ad-libs.
The plot is a carry on of sorts from Hooligans Island. The first Act was quite good. Some good gags in there and some generally funny moments. Act 2 however was a complete waste of space. It's almost like they ran out of ideas for this part and cobbled together some kind of "Twilight Zone" interlude to fill up the remaining show, which ends with Richie and Eddie singing of all things.
I wore out my videos of Bottom Live 1 and 2....3 got a bit of a caning as well, but I'm afraid I haven't watched this one since I bought it. Stick to the other shows. This one really wasn't that funny at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as we want, 28 Aug 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
released in 2001 and following on from the brilliant bottom live parts one and two,and part three which was good sadly live part three just doesnt command as the first two did,a real lack of stortyline hinders this along with trivial jokes and a rehash of old material.
Bottom as a tv show was first released in 1991 and thats how long i have been a fan then,i remember getting live part one for xmas as a young pup and going insane for it,live part two had the same effect,live part three was good and this version just doesnt really have its own identity and its own edge,the first act here is more or less the same as the first act of bottom live part three,so thats a bit lazy.
At times this show drags,the usual blue jokes fall over the place,some land and some miss but essentially this isnt the bees knees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad you people say, pretty good actually!, 13 May 2005
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
After seeing the first and 2nd bottom live shows (brilliant shows) i bought this one and I have to say its actually damn funny, unfortunataly theres no real script but both acts are really funny.
I loved it apart from the crap last 5 minutes where they sing
Apart from that its great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is This The End???, 30 Dec 2004
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
All in all there are about half an hours worth of funny bits and the rest has been pieced together. The first act is OK, the second act just look like they rab out of ideas and pieced together the first thing that came to their heads. Some parts of the show drag on and the end result is not that funny, however give it a chance but if you want better, concentrate on the first, second and third live shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 21 July 2002
By 
Mr. S. J. Walton "Wacton" (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
The previous three bottom live's were excellent. I did notice a decline in number three - Rik seemed to act a lot zanier and in places it just didn't work. This episode sees Rik's character back to his old self, but the quality of the plot and jokes are very average in comparison. It's still funny stuff, but the guys must have rushed this one out the door. If you loved the others though, it's worth your money for the entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
After finding out that rik mayall and adrain edmundson were making another live tour it was a have to see!!! after seeing all previuos ones i thought yes lets see it and it was fabulous it was great to see Rik mayall back upon stage after all the truma he has been through lately after his accident! This is a must buy for all Bottom Fans! It had me in stitches the whole way through great to see the comic duo back on stage again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Bottom all round!!, 21 Nov 2001
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This was an absolute scream!! I went to see the show in Liverpool and it was brilliant, Rik and Ade were on top form and the way they interact with the audience is pure genius. When a couple of the audience members decided to get a bit more vocal than usual they were quickly shot down by the wisecracks of Rik Mayall, the man is comedy in itself! As for the plot forget about it and frankly there is no need for one, I enjoyed all the old jokes that made bottom so funny plus the references to what was happening nowadays where hardly any of the celebraties got away without having something ripped out of them! All in all it is one of the best live shows I have ever seen and I strongly reccommend this to anyone who has ever watched bottom and found it funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What to do..., 12 Jan 2002
This review is from: Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Oh dear, I had read the comments and taken note of the negative feedback, after the 3rd Bottom live I knew that things were going bad. Unfortunatley this really is not that funny at all, I have all of the bottom tv series and live and this is the worst, what a shame. They do actually use a lot of the jokes that they had done before.
Its just not funny, it really is ITV sort of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991]
Bottom: 2001 - An Arse Oddity [DVD] [1991] by Adrian Edmondson (DVD - 2001)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews