Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I love you, Miss Kubelik."
Buddy Baxter (Jack Lemmon) is a meek and mild nobody in a big company who has an "arrangement" with his superiors: They can use his apartment to entertain their ladyfriends in exchange for recommendations for his promotion. The deal works out fine, until he discovers that his big boss (Fred MacMurray)'s girlfriend is the object of his own affection, elevator operator...
Published on 9 Oct 2006 by Kona

versus
1 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor !
Think I've been put on the wrong planet!

Just got a lend of this off a neighbour and wasted two hours of my life! Can anybody quote me one funny line out of this supposed "Comedy" ???

The doctor in trying to revive Shirley McClaine slaps her about and then pours scalding hot coffee down her gullet while she's unconscious!, maybe that was the comedy...
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by Beedee


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I love you, Miss Kubelik.", 9 Oct 2006
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
Buddy Baxter (Jack Lemmon) is a meek and mild nobody in a big company who has an "arrangement" with his superiors: They can use his apartment to entertain their ladyfriends in exchange for recommendations for his promotion. The deal works out fine, until he discovers that his big boss (Fred MacMurray)'s girlfriend is the object of his own affection, elevator operator Fran Kubelik (Shirley MacLaine).

It's a quiet, character-driven comedy about shady dealings in the world of big business, with just enough touching dramatic scenes to tug at your heart. "The Apartment" won the 1960 Best Picture Oscar, thanks to the excellent cast and honest script. Nobody played the Everyman character as well as Lemmon. He's involved in an unsavory situation, but is so sweet, likeable, and noble that you really care about him. MacLaine gives an uncharacteristically subdued and thoughtful performance, and MacMurray is perfect as her philandering paramour. The beautiful title tune is one of the loveliest movie love themes ever. The subject matter was considered somewhat racy back then, but now it would probably be rated PG today. Clever, sweet, and entertaining movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can almost smell the evocative smell of the pasta..., 29 May 2007
By 
Hiro "Tokyoite" (West Hampstead, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
Am not talking about Delia Smith... I watched this film when I was 12, and still love it.

The scenes were meant to be very cool and modern at the time the work was released, And, 37 years later on, amazingly, the film still is as just cool and modern, and the film now also has the air of romantic nostalgia.

Jack Lemmon is a great actor. He acts a meek young man in this film - a bit like a male Bridget Jones in 1960s, dare I say. But his acting is superb. Watch the short scene when he makes spaghetti with meat balls (very American). Even though this film is monochrome, you can almost smell the evocative smell of the pasta he is making.

This one is to be watched around Christmas with someone you love on a sofa in a warm room - not that I have done this yet...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wilder Comic Genius, 6 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
The comic genius of Billy Wilder was never better illustrated than by this bitter sweet romantic comedy. It's focus ranges from the general with its' seering indictment of the corporate world to the particular and a wonderful exploration of the central characters's lives in the persons of Lemmon, MacLaine and MacMurray.

Lemmon's performance as the central "everyman" or John Doe character caught between career enhancement and love, is superb. MacLaine provides a wonderfully tragic heroine and McMurray is immoral corporate America personified.

Laughter freely mingles with tears as Lemmon struggles to assert his identity against a rising tide of corruption and infidelity. It's warm, it's funny, it's wonderfully evocative but most of all it makes you consider the ethics of the corporate world and their impact on society at large.

An all together superior romantic comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the DVD, 26 July 2013
By 
G. L. Craig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I though the DVD quality of this classic was not bad till I saw this. As a Blu-ray website review says, the picture has been well cleaned up and the sound improved. What does show up in the greater detail of Blu-ray is the fine grain of the film print. Looking back at my old copy, this seemed to have caused havoc with the DVD encoding. There were odd artefacts, especially on horizontals. This is fixed by this Blu-ray release in a much cleaner, more stable picture. The other bonus is that this disc has decent extras that the DVD does not. I haven't listened to the commentary yet, but the two documentaries are good. The only thing is that the film auto plays and I had to search about on my Panasonic player to find the extras (on a pop-up menu).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic 1960s Love-Tangle Comedy-Drama, 10 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
This is a classic film from the 1960s which deservedly won 5 Oscars (including Best Picture, Director and Screenplay ALL for Billy Wilder).

It is essentially a love comedy, but still manages to include some sinister undertones, to create a very entertaining story about a man attracted to another employee at the insurance company where he works, but where she is already involved with another man....

The lead actors, Jack Lemmon and Shirley MacLaine, beautifully portray their characters with verve and great emotion and there are several other contributors who add to the overall impact of the film.

Of course, the most influence factor is that of Wilder, who moves the plot along at a perfect pace and injects many moments of pure dramatic and comedic brilliance, courtesy of a faultless screenplay.

This DVD has an excellent picture quality, with only the occasional blemish appearing, and a clear soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the way it crumbles, cookywise!, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Sverdlov "Jokerman" (Cromer, Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
Great great romantic comedy, at once warming and cynical, sharply observed - Wilder indeed at his best. MacLaine is wonderful, Lemmon superb. Be a mensch! is the message - relevant now as then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully-written screenplaywise, 20 Dec 2013
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
What struck me about this film was the number of raw emotions exposed in this 'comedy'. The characters reveal a lot of loneliness and pain. The bachelor, the lift attendant and the secretary all nurse disappointments. The presentation of the corporate workplace is superb - I worked for a law firm in the 1990s and it was very familiar. You see people in recognisable situations: watching the clock, shaving, making spaghetti, killing time waiting to get back into an apartment, getting stood up. And the small coincidences tip the plot in different directions. I found myself pausing the DVD to work out how the scriptwriters were going to get through the next five minutes.

The scenario of a man allowing other men to use his room was excellent, because you couldn't quite understand how it worked, but you were intrigued. It was louche and rather shocking. The film is a 'picture' of life in a certain place at a certain time. It shows great sympathy for what people have to go through, and how difficult it is to find love in dark places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The extras are worth having, too, 21 Nov 2013
No need for me to repeat what others have said about this great film. I just want to draw attention to the extras on the disc, especially the commentary by Bruce Block. Unless you're familiar with the new process, i.e. no menu, they are well hidden. Thinking there was something wrong with the disc, I asked the supplier how to access them and he said to press "Title/Popup" on the remote control, when the film has started. The commentary gives a lot of information, including an insight into film production - things most of us have never noticed or thought about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A FAVOURITE, 31 Dec 2011
By 
WSH (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
Billy Wilder turns a limpid eye upon the swinging sixties (right there at the beginning) in New York -- cheating husbands and hardbitten good-time girls ('the takers'); hopeful lovers and buddy boys ('those who get took') -- and from out of this mire lifts up two memorable, redeeming characters, played to perfection by Shirley MacLaine and Jack Lemmon, at the height of their powers. As you would expect with something written for the screen by Wilder and his associate I.A.L.Diamond, the story moves through a perfect arc of comic situation, misunderstandings, misdirected desires, thwarted hopes, and on to a believable resolution that draws these elements along with it but trumps them all. The dialogue is witty, and the comedy is as broad as the satire is cutting -- one never dominates or displaces the other; we laugh and we sigh at once. There are one or two lacunae in the action -- coffee that should scald; old cooked spaghetti that should no longer be limp -- but to focus on these, and ignore the much that is real and effective, would be a terrible mistake. The scenes of Miss Kubelik and Mr Baxter alone together are quite wonderful. 'I was Robinson Crusoe,' Baxter tells her at one point, 'shipwrecked among eight million people, till I saw a footprint in the sand and looked up to find you.' Among a million films, I would suggest, this one will leave a lasting imprint on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It stands apart, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Apartment [DVD] (DVD)
I'd like to have given it 5 stars, but it does have its longueurs in the middle and, I suppose inevitably, some of the supporting cast are weak. But Jack and Shirley were at the very summit of their virtuosity and the script for the most part achieved the not inconsiderable task of giving them stuff worthy of their teeth. As millions must have said before me, it's funny, sad, witty, satirical, hilarious and well, satisfying.

A genuine 4.5 stars.

Douglas Wood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Apartment [DVD]
The Apartment [DVD] by Billy Wilder (DVD - 2001)
4.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews