Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2005
As with some other great bands such as Nirvana, the first recorded work actually proves to be the best once all the hype has died away. Raw and beautiful, each track an individual masterpiece.
There are other great White Stripes records, but no other perfect White Stripes records. This is the masterpiece.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
From the pounding drum intro to opening track 'Jimmy the Exploder' this album is a winner. Check the liner notes; they even give credit for the loan of the 18" floor tom that helps to make this massive racket. Zipping through 18 songs in 45 minutes, these selections are stripped down, raw and full of energy. The reverb is cranked up high, the playing is intense, and the attitude is ferocious.

I've been a bit of a latecomer to the White Stripes, but I've almost caught up now. I think De Stijl is still my favourite, but this one comes close. It's what the White Stripes are supposed to sound like.

And that's all I have to say about that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
I'll keep it short and simple. This is an amazing album, one of the best you will ever hear and maybe the White Stripes best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2008
It's hard to imagine that this raw, powerful and bluesy album never sold millions when first released in 1999. From the garage rock stomping first tune 'Jimmy the Exploder' to 'I fought pirahnas', this album is electric blues, reminiscent of the Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin. But electric blues with The White Stripes very own unique twist. Be sure to buy it, it will not dissapoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Delighted to have this baby on vinyl at last. The album has the raw feel of punk, but with slightly more direction. Perhaps lacking the melodies of De Stijl and Elephant, this album punches low and hard, and has some rough edges sticking out for you to catch your baby toe on, but it is very good. The cover of Dylan's One More Cup of Coffee makes this album for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
only buy this if you are already familiar with the white stripes- buy elephant first, not great as an introduction to them incase it puts you off. . it takes a couple of plays to really like every song. but after that you begin to love them. very, very good-probably the most raw and heaviest album out of the 6.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I had four of the White stripes Newest albums, thought I would venture back and try their earlier stuff, I wish I had done it earlier, its a lot rawer than their newer stuff but I think its even better !! great guitar music !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
the white stripes havent ever topped this they came close with elephant, its stomping, loud, aggresssive and full of raw talent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2001
Stripped down guitars...bassless...brutal drums...a voice a little like Robert Plant...and you have the White Stripes. They combine with the brazenly beautiful words to create an assualt on the senses. This will leave you with your ears ringing...absolutly exhausted from po-going around the room...and the feeling that at least a couple of people still believe in honest rock n' roll ...the White Stripes first...and most sonically abusive lp.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
YOU JUST GOTO LOVE THE POWER AND HEVY SOUNDS THIS BAND PUT OUT . SOME PROPER HEAVY RIFFS AND TRACKS THROUGHOUT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.67
£5.00
£4.50

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)