Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy Returns
Okay, so the first major point about this game, is that it is not good versus evil, but good or evil. You can play either as Imotep and use spells, run away from cats, and kidnap Alex. OR as Rik, and use swords, guns, rifles, have to be constantly searching for ammo, and trying to save Alex.
The game basically follows the same story line as the film, with a few...
Published on 26 July 2004 by PS2 Lover

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy Returns - Good Game, But Could Have Been Better
I bought this game primarily because of the promise of exciting Egyptian-themed graphics. In some respects, though, it was a bit of a let-down, as much of the scenery was repetitive. If you've seen the film, you already know the story, but this did not detract from the thrill of the chase - A twist of this game was the chance to be the baddie Imhotep, (soul-suck is such...
Published on 6 Nov. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy Returns, 26 July 2004
By 
PS2 Lover (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
Okay, so the first major point about this game, is that it is not good versus evil, but good or evil. You can play either as Imotep and use spells, run away from cats, and kidnap Alex. OR as Rik, and use swords, guns, rifles, have to be constantly searching for ammo, and trying to save Alex.
The game basically follows the same story line as the film, with a few pleasant extras thrown in, such as more time playing with the Pygmy mummies, problem solving activities, and a scene in the jungle where Rik has to fight crocodiles, shortly followed by a selection of resurected Roman Soldiers, which i'm pretty sure didn't feature in the film.
All in all a great game, which can supply hours and hours of fun, as once you've finished playing on one side, you switch to the other and are suppplied with a completely different game.
The end of the game is probably the most hardest, due to a one to one combat with the Scorpion King who is almost impossible to beat. The controls are quite hard to master, but once you get the hang of them, it's easy, but when i first started to play, i had to have the booklet open at the controls page.
But still a fantastic game, definately worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy Returns - Good Game, But Could Have Been Better, 6 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game primarily because of the promise of exciting Egyptian-themed graphics. In some respects, though, it was a bit of a let-down, as much of the scenery was repetitive. If you've seen the film, you already know the story, but this did not detract from the thrill of the chase - A twist of this game was the chance to be the baddie Imhotep, (soul-suck is such fun!), as well as the hero of the film, Rik. Also, when slicing mummies becomes monotinous, the puzzle elements added variety and challenge. My main gripe with this game was the difficulty in controlling the character - often I found myself launching accidentally to my doom, which was very frustrating. Still, on the plus side it's graphics are pretty good, story is enough to keep you entertained, and mummies a-plenty to waste! All in all, v.entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mummy needs better camera work!!!, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
Leon Star (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
As I have beaten this game using Rick o'Connell and Imhotep I am happy to say that it's a fun game to play if you are a big fan of the movie of the same title.
Yes,this game does give you two roles to play when you first choose a New game.You can play the good guy Rick or the bad guy Imhotep.Both have their own different types of weapons.Rick using fists or guns,while as Imhotep,he can use brute force or he can use his Magic on his enemies...and I must say his magic can be very useful.The way he drains Life force by using his Soul Suck magic from his foes is very impressive!! This gives him extra energy too.
Personally, I like to play as Imhotep,as it's a far better game than Rick.
There are many levels in this game,from a museum,desert,swamps,jungles,Ahm Shere and of course the final level...the Pyramid
There are various enemies too...Rick has mummies,warrior mummies,pictmen,grave robbers,red turbans and robbers to tend with,while Imhotep has museum guards,the Medjai,cats,and Ardeth Bay.While both roles also has scorpions,sabre-toothed skeletons,mummified baboons,mummified cats,spiders,crocodiles (and mummified ones),very annoying Pygmy mummies/shaman (I hate these little critters.It took me a while to get past the jungle level),Roman Warriors (who can be tough to kill),and Anubis Warriors (who are also tough to defeat too).
The combat can be a bit awkward at times too,as you need to be quite accurate where you're shooting and attacking.As ammo is limited for Rick you have to be careful.
Plus of course the final showdown with The Scorpion King who I think must be the hardest Big Boss ever in all the games that I have played.It took me several attempts to defeat him.He certainly does put up quite a fight.So don't expect an easy final battle.
You have been warned!!
All in all....an okay game!! I liked it anyway,as I'm an avid fan of the Mummy films.But,my gripes about this game for not giving it extra stars,is that the panning camera is absolutely terrible in this game.If you make your character walk awkwardly in one direction,the camera will move elsewhere,and you might jump or fall to your impending doom...this can be very frustrating.The graphics are okay,and the music is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Follows the "Curse" of the film, 17 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
I dont know how i lived with out this game. Before when i seen it on the shelf i was expexting to return after i found out it was stupid but i was WAYYYYYYY WRONG!!!!!
Story: Seen the Mummy Returns movie? Well this is totally diffrent. Well sort of. Because its a game there are some modifications but they make the game , IMO , BETTER THEN THE MOVIE!!!!
You play either the Mummy or the Hero(Forgot his name, the brendan fraiser charecter). While the Hero isnt exactly anything that much diffrent from most games the Mummy is to me the best part of the game. While using the mummy you have powers like you can devour peoples souls and grow stronger.
What is it like?: Its feel like Tomb Raider, Resident EVil and some cary kind of game. It ahs puzzles, villians, good graphics and a easy to learn control set up. But its not a easy game. Its far from it. I am only at the 5th level and im stumped on what to do.
Control:It feel exactly like tomb raider. You have to see it to see what i mean. The controls are REAL easy and dont require having to pause and see what button you need to push over and over. Now the Mummys controls are a little advanced as in you would hold R2 for powers and then press either X,O , Triangle or Square for a certain power. But thats as hard as the controls get!
And to anyone saying how am i going to remeber which of those buttons does what. Have no fear it shows the four buttons in the top right corner of screen. And the writings change depending on what your doing. EXAMPLE: If you near a edge the Square button says ''Jump''.
Graphics: I here people say ''Those graphics arent anything special''. Well my friends thats way off unless you play the game you dont see the greatness of the graphics. From Fire to Mummy powers the graphics are amazing for a movie-to-game game. Whats really cool is with the mummy instead of you seeing his half rotted flesh magically turn healed when he devours souls you see his skin sweetly morph into healed skin. While the graphics are top notch like MGS 2 they were some of the best ive seen.
Sound and Music: The music kicks butt. Its that same freaky music from the movie and then some. Maybe its because i got surround sound stereos but the music made the game very creepy in some parts. Not much to say about the music though its your normal scary game music.
The sound was amazing. When the Mummy devours souls or basically does anything that lets you hear him its totally freaky. Some of the sounds can be annoying like the stupid cats near the beggining running around. The voices of the game sounded just like the actual actors. Although the mummys was a little diffrent sounding it felt as though you were playing the movie itself at times.
Levels: Basically the leves are the same as what you see in the movie. There are some levels that are duplicites of scene in the movie but most of them are big and like mazes almost. The detial of certain levels is pretty good and the charecters are pretty darn amazing if i say so myself.
Replay Value? Well that might be the only big thing i really have. It doesnt have that ''Umph'' that makes you want to play it more then 5 times. Although it is fun just doing nothing but devouring souls! But i havent beat it to know if there is any secrets. Although i havent heard of anything so i am assuming there are no secrets to unlock. This would be a rental and not a buyer....well.... depending on your point of view.
The Bad and the Good:
Lets start with the Bad:
They should have added like a Multi-Palyer thing to it to extend its replay value.
Some puzzles are almot impossible to figure out unless you play same level over and over(Which isnt all that bad).
The Hero absoulutly stunk. I didnt even bother with the first level of the Hero story. Although maybe it gets better i dont know!
The good:
Easy controls.
Good sound and music.
Awsome Mummy guy with all his fun things to do!
Impossible Puzzles. A must for gamers that want a challenge.
RESpawning guys in Mummy story. At first i thought this was a stupid thing but then i realized if you dont keep devouring souls the mummy dies. So.....
Fun and Exciting game. Never really a dull moment.
Pretty smart A.I.
Hints(No spoilers):
Always save. Just because you think your great doesnt mean you are invincable. SAVE SAVE SAVE.
When playing as Mummy look hard for what you have to do. The respawning is a pain sometimes.
When the Hero watch EVY for she is apparently not smart enough to defend herself with her gun that often.
Never and i mean NEVERRRRR go off the edge in any level. Theres alot of sinking sand the kills you in the Heros story.
Dont try and devour your friends soul in the game. It messes up everything.
My final thought:
If you liked the Mummy movies( more the second then first) youll like this game. This is nothing like The Mummy for PSX(The flop). Rent it though before buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 2 April 2002
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
Mummy Returns is a good game but with a couple of flaws. First off u get 2 choose the mummy bloke, imhotep, or the dodgy accent guy, Branden Fraiser, aka rick. When u start you'll notice that the graphics are decent but the fightings a bit guff. But it gets better when u get equipped with swords, guns and other weapons like mummys feet and heads.
Ricks levels are a bit dodgy and more runny and jumpy than imhoteps, but imhotep gets all the cool spells.
Here are my ratings
Graphics - 4/5
Sound - 5/5
Gameplay - 3/5
Lifespan - 3/5
Good points
The soul suck
having 2 swords at the same time
beating someone over the head with a mummys foot
the characters voices
imhotep
Bad points
Hard to control sometimes
annoying camras
cats & scorpians
Overall - a decent game thats worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best adaptation of the film..., 10 Jan. 2014
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
Games based on movies are a variable bunch. Some are good while others are terrible. This one wasn't particularly bad but it wasn't particularly enjoyable.

While it does seem to follow the general premise of the film, there are some differences, though being offered the choice between the hero or the villain was good. Why don't more games do that? Playing heroes can get boring after a while.

The camera angles could be annoying and the controls were a little tricky to get to grips with at times. It was also rather slow to start, but this is a norm with games of this type. They usually are, but this one felt slower, though playing as Imhotep was more fun.

The voiceovers. Don't get me started. They were absolutely awful. They don't even sound vaguely like the characters.

Finally, the graphics. I never take much notice of graphics but if you compare the graphics of this to the graphics of Shadow of the Colossus, you can see that this game has worse graphics. This shouldn't detract from gameplay too much but it shows that the graphics aren't up to the PS2's full potential.

A rather mixed bag, all in all. Feel free to try it but only if you can pick it up cheaply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars hmm ..., 14 Nov. 2001
By 
Niculescu Adrian (Bucuresti, Bucuresti Romania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
Hmmm, i don't know how to begin!
You've seen the movie, right? If not, go and see it! You've seen the great special effects in the movie? But you're asking yourself, does the game live to our expectations? I mean, does this game have the quality of the movie? Let me tell you then! The game is good but not good enough! The movie is great! But don't think that the game has the same quality! Don't think that the Metal Gear Solid : Movie will have the same quality as the game! Only if it is directed by Hideo Kojima!
The gameplay is awfull like THE MUMMY on psONE!
The graphics are PS2 standard but sometimes exceeding when playing the FMV's! :D
Well, to be sincer with you, i don't really own the game. But the nextdoor friend of mine has it! But i've played 3 hours on it non-stop and got bored after the first one!
In the end, this game deserves a mediocre five (2) star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT'S MUMMYRIFIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 15 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
I think this game is sensational. It's got brilliant graphics and the weapons are awesome. This game is so wicked I rate it 5 stars easily.I think who ever made this game is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. M. L. Hanford "MH74" (Hereford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
I must confess I've only played this for about twenty minutes,just a couple of instant things stick out,firstly the voiceovers are awful,the guy being Rick (Brendan Fraser) is absolutely dreadful likewise the rest of them,the controls,whilst fiddly,are really only like B,G and E,clumsy at first but picked up quickly,it is save anywhere so that's not too bad,seems okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An ancient egyptian blast feast for all mummy fans!!!..., 20 Nov. 2001
This review is from: The Mummy Returns (PS2) (Video Game)
The Mummy returns to the Playstation 2 with a combination of combat style puzzle packed action where you can choose between playing either the Hero Rick O'Connell or the mummy Imhotep.Explore vast levels in the tombs of egypt, close combat with arch mummies and fight Imhotep and much more.Even if you don't like mummies now, you will after playing this game. A must for all Gamerz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mummy Returns (PS2)
The Mummy Returns (PS2) by Sierra (PlayStation2)
£14.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews