Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
You may say I'm an Enya fan, since I own almost everything she has published. Despite of that, I had never seen her videos. Which I now regret. I have just received the shipping from Amazon and have to admit that the visual material surely adds to Enya's music. It's a small set of dreams.... and when it's over you discover 50 minutes have breezed by. And you wish to start...
Published on 14 Jun 2002 by The singing uncle

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD should have included a Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack
There is nothing bad I can say about 13 Enya's wonderful songs , except the fact that I think it's unfair , like it happened on her last cd , to give a DVD that includes less than 50 min of music ( not including the extras).
My main criticism is that it has only PCM stereo soundtrack , such a DVD that the 'athmosphere" is so important should have included Dolby...
Published on 16 Nov 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 Jun 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You may say I'm an Enya fan, since I own almost everything she has published. Despite of that, I had never seen her videos. Which I now regret. I have just received the shipping from Amazon and have to admit that the visual material surely adds to Enya's music. It's a small set of dreams.... and when it's over you discover 50 minutes have breezed by. And you wish to start over. In the short interview on the disc, Enya tells her songs are mostly based on emotions.... Beautiful and intense emotions indeed.
If you enjoy her music, this disc is a must-have, definitely.
Or, at least, I'm very glad I have it. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music written by a fantastic artist, 18 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Enya The Video Collection (VHS Tape)
It may have been over a decade since Enya became well-known following the success of the 'Orinoco Flow' song back in 1988 ('Sail away, sail away, sail away...'), but this video includes all of the, erm, videos for that and many other hits including 'On My Way Home', 'Storms In Africa', 'The Celts', 'Caribbean Blue', 'Only If...' and even the two very recent singles 'Only Time' and 'Wild Child'. Apparently every song that had a video made for it is here.
And if those videos weren't enough, there are three superb documentaries: two show how the videos for 'Caribbean Blue' and 'Only Time' were made, whilst the other is a life story, which includes interviews not only with Enya herself but also producer Nicky Ryan and fellow lyricist Roma Ryan.
If you are a fan of this Irish singer, or just want something more soulful and mellow, you could do a lot worse than this. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD should have included a Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack, 16 Nov 2001
By A Customer
There is nothing bad I can say about 13 Enya's wonderful songs , except the fact that I think it's unfair , like it happened on her last cd , to give a DVD that includes less than 50 min of music ( not including the extras).
My main criticism is that it has only PCM stereo soundtrack , such a DVD that the 'athmosphere" is so important should have included Dolby Digital 5.1 real surround sound. This lack was a huge disapointment for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word ?? M-A-G-I-C, 24 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This video collection features all videos that Enya made since 1988 (13 in total), an esclusive documentary of Enya's life and the Making Of : Caribbean Blue video and Only Time video. From "Orinoco Flow" to "Wild Child" this DVD is full of beautiful songs and atmospheric scenes. Wonderful the video of "On My Way Home".
This collection is a true "must buy" for all Enya fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, that only Enya can achieve!, 10 Jan 2002
This review is from: Enya The Video Collection (VHS Tape)
Being an Enya-a-holic, this was a definite must for me. Having collected every single, album, soundtrack, video, book that Enya has ever appeared in, I new this was something that would stand out in my collection.
This video is an excellent compilation of Enya's best pieces. Including the smash hit 'Orinoco Flow' and recent songs like 'Wild Child', this video is a work of art. With mesmorising songs and special effects, not only do you get to know Enya, but you find the videos, which you've never seen before!
Hopefully, in the near future, Enya will release another videos which contains:
I Want Tomorrow
Marble Halls
Book of Days (promo video)
May It Be (from Lord of the Rings)
and
Only Time (the new remix!)
I will wait patiently for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Incomplete But Still Worthwhile Collection, 7 Nov 2001
By 
Iago Zabibha "iago zabibha" (Worcester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Included:
Orinoco Flow
Storms in Africa
Evening Falls
Exile
Book of Days (TV appearance)
How Can I Keep From Singing
Carribean Blue
The Celts
Anywhere Is
On My Way Home
Only If
Only Time
Wild Child
Making of...Carribean Blue, and Only Time
A Life in Music, documentary
Ignore all the sales pitches about this being comprehensive - it's not. Missing are the videos for Enya's debut single 'I Want Tomorrow', 'Marble Halls' and 'Book of Days'; the latter song is here, but in the form of her appearance on the BBC's Top of the Pops series - this in itself isn't as bad as it may appear, though, for the BoD video is marred by the inclusion of scenes from the rather embarrassing Cruise/Kidman film 'Far and Away': thus, instead of having Tom Cruise pop up at inopportune moments, we're treated to what became Enya's signature set for TotP - the lady herself sat at a piano, lip-synching, roses strewn across it and the stage, instrumentalists (in this case a couple of cellists, dressed in white) off to the side, and various spotlights flashing back and forth. The only bad thing to not having the 'BoD' promo video, aside from a collectors point-of-view, is that the same animation techniques used in 'Carribean Blue' are also used in 'BoD', and from that perspective it's annoying to not be able to appreciate the two together.
Of the other surprises on the video, the most immediately jaw-dropping is that of the inclusion of 'How Can I Keep From Singing' - and it could also explain the absence of 'Marble Halls', given that, from what I've read, the videos for the 2 songs are identical. Unfortunately, the video is visually unappealing, bordering on the trite, containing as it does scenes of Enya walking around a ruined church/abbey, miming to the song, intercut with footage of the Gulf War ending, various World Leaders doing Good Things, etc. Appropriate to the song though it may be, it sits incongruously between the unreal 'Carribean Blue', and the showy 'BoD' set.
Of the remainder of the videos, 'The Celts' is nice enough, though it shares an unwelcome similarity to 'Storms in Africa', inasmuch as a winsome child gives a very pleading look to Enya at one point, giving the impression that Enya is akin to some Goddess who is here to save us all (though at least in 'The Celts' is fits the 'story' better); 'Only Time' is here shown in it's original cut from November 2000, not the 'Sweet November' version; and here, at last, is the video for 'Wild Child' - both this and 'Only Time' were directed by Graham Fink, and the rapport that was created on the set of 'Only Time' has been cemented here: Enya looks happy (surely a prerequisite to creating a video to match the song's bounciness), moving through a series of elaborate sets, beautifully edited together, with such glorious colours (indeed, all the colours of the rainbow, surely). Before each of the videos, a promotional picture of Enya is displayed, with the song's title super-imposed on top, and the inside of the case (a glossy cardboard affair) lists the directors and producers below their respective videos.
Picture quality is very good, bearing in mind it's VHS - there's a certain amount of graininess to be seen, especially on dark colours, but nothing too off-putting. Also, the videos are shown in their original aspect ratios - meaning 'Orinoco Flow', the oldest here, is full screen 4:3, whilst the newer videos ('Only Time' 'Wild Child') are in what appears to be panoramic widescreen, 2.35:1.
The extras are of differing value. The 'Making of...Carribean Blue', as befits probably the most technically advanced of her videos from the 80s/90s, is a genuinely interesting piece of work, incorporating interviews with the art director, animators and casting director in its short running time to give a picture of how and why it was done as it was. The 'Only Time' making of, disappointingly, is rather more formulaic - not really going beyond a simple promotional exercise; it is, though, the one that features the most shots of Enya talking to the camera, which is it's big selling point. On that theme, 'A life in Music', the 15 minute or-so documentary, is hard to fathom - though it features Enya, Roma and Nicky, all talking about the career of the Enya Trinity, it really doesn't offer anything new (the split with Clannad, for example, is glossed over), nor is there anything shockingly new; in short, it gives the idea that this is simply yet another promotional exercise, and though that is undoubtedly what it is, it would be nice for it to not be quite so overt about it. Having said all that, it would take a heartless person indeed to not smile as Enya recounts a story of a postman who, passing by a photo-shoot which she was attending to, remarked that he had heard, and liked, a song that he heard the previous night - called 'Orinoco Flow'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enya appreciation, 13 Jun 2006
I've read that a number of Enya's Videos are inspired by the Paintings of 'Maxfield Parrish'. Direct takes are; the 4 harpist's scenes and latern lighting scene in 'On My Way Home', the 'Anywhere Is' scene ressembling the front cover of Enya's 1995 album 'The Memory of Trees' and the lake and castle scenes in 'Carribean Blue'.

It is a pity that the promo video for Book of Days isn't included -Enya's dress, the candle lit room and the animation effects are well worth seeing.

Exile and Evening Falls can be grouped together as bringing on one mood, Book of Days promo (not here) and Anywhere Is also click together as similar while the animation effects of Carribean Blue and Orrinoco Flow are alike. Only If and The Celts follow one another on the greatest hits albums and are in a similar 'enya in motion' feel in sound and in video while Only Time and On my Way Home are the most graceful of the videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Special, 29 Dec 2001
Enya's songs do not fit into any standard catagory and are truely unique redefining musical beauty. They fit somewhere between classical and soundtrack but with wider appeal.
Creating video versions of Enya's songs must be very difficult as her songs are probably interprited very differently by everyone who listens to them. This DVD does not disapoint.
with almost all of the tracks matched with spectacular dream like or engimatic sequences. The effects are gorgeous and quite special.
They also highlight the easy to overlook stunning romantic beauty of Enya herself. My only slight criticisum is that the reflective style of many of the tracks gives her far to few chances to smile, the effect of which, when it comes is enchanting.
For my money 'Anywhere Is', 'Only Time' and 'Anywhere Is' are my favourites.
If you are an Enya fan you need this DVD!
If you are new to Enya and want to go go somewhere new and special you have to give this DVD a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Video!, 24 Jun 2005
This collection of videos is excellent, I finally got to see somewhat "luxurious" videos which I had not seen in years, the graphics and "special effects" are superb. However, I would have prefered to have seen the original promotional video of "Book of Days" with the scenes of the film "Far and Away" and Enya in the background instead of a live performance at "Top of the Pops", this was supposed to have been a collection of music videos! The live performance of the song is somewhat boring compared to the rest of the videos! I don't understand why this was so! Other than that the collection was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Collection of Enya's Videos, 14 May 2004
Enya's videos are both mysterious and breathtaking at the same time. This collection displays Enya's work wonderfully. As the reviewer mentioned before me, that person said that Enya was lip-synchining in her "Book of Days" video for Top of the Pops. She was not lip synching, because I too suspected this myself. If you turn up the volume on your TV high, you can indeed hear Enya's non-lip-synching voice. This collection did leave out I Want Tomorrow, though, which is disappointing. Other than that, this collection delivers Enya's work beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enya The Video Collection
Enya The Video Collection by Enya (VHS Tape)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews