Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled Electronica To Touch Your Soul
I purchased this album on its original release in 2001 and can safely say that 16 months later it is still fantastic - one of the best albums I've bought in the last 10 years.
Chilled electronic music from Norway is nothing new, Biosphere was creating glacial ambient music as far back as the early 90s. Royksopp differ as their take on chilled electronica is born out...
Published on 10 Feb. 2003 by sensoria

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as kicking as their live gigs but still good chillout
I bought this album after seeing them support Basement Jaxx at the Brixton Academy. Their set was kicking, with live drumming (on electric drums obviously), and that led to me being very disappointed with the album at first. But forgetting the live stuff and listening to it over and over again I found myself getting sucked into it as a chillout album. Really nice happy...
Published on 5 Feb. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melody A.M. - attention please..., 6 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
Open your ears to this. With Melody A.M., Royksopp has carved out a fusion of retro/organic rhythm, resonating basslines, and synthpop bliss while maintaining a unique signature of sound defying any direct comparison. Sound different? It is, but once it finds its way to your stereo you'll be hard pressed to take it out again. Don't let this one get away. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for your CD collection, 23 July 2002
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
When I first heard the name Royksopp, bits of furniture from Ikea sprang to mind - well I suppose they are scandinavian
Melody AM arrived on my doorstep yesterday from Amazon, and it has not left my cd player since.
I bought it on the back of the T-mobile advert (So Easy)Which is a gorgeous and very distinctive track, but there are many others on here that also deserve a mention. The second track 'Eple' is a lovely, tinkly happy tune - very 'feel good'. 'In space' is also fab, then they kick it up a notch to a couple of slightly more dancey tracks 'Poor Leno' and 'Royksopp's Night Out'.
P'raps a bit of a cliche, but it really is very 'varied'. It meanders from the laid back, chilled out to the slightly heavier, more dancey end of the scale, but without being in your face too much.
Anyway, don't just take my word for it - buy it and see for yourself - you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs prozac!, 20 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
If it wasn't for this album. my hair would have gone grey or fallen out simple as that! This time last year i was stressed out big time working hard on the final year of my degree. Suffering nervous exhaustion, i started to find that gettin hammered wasn't helping the stress go away anymore. I bought Melody AM and all my stresses were lifted gently out of my body and thrown aggressively out of the window of my grotty student house. It's wonderful, full of electronic melodies that make your mind deflate and just let it wonder over hills and oceans. In Space, is a perfect example of feeling like you are drifting on a boat, further out to sea and not caring one little bit.
It's not really a chillout album, but somehow it amazingly manages to make you feel happy and relaxed. Wouldn't be sane now if i hadn't bought it. So if you feel depressed or stressed or both, don't bother with doctors. Just prescribe yourself Melody AM by Royksopp and within the hour you will be feelin on top again, guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Chill Out Album of 2001!, 14 Jan. 2002
By 
M. Kille "Mr McKille" (Windsor, Berks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
When I first heard this album I was sceptical but ever since hearing it it has been playing on my walkman. In the year of the Chill Out Album it is refreshing to see some new chill out tunes. Play this album from start to beginning and I guarantee you will be totally refreshed.
The hauting tones of Eple are just great. The only problem is it is too short.
All in all I would say this is THE chill out album of 2001. If you ain't got it yet then BUY IT NOW!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Chillout - great debut album out of Scandinavia., 29 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
Happened to see the video for "Poor Leno" on MTV in the early hours of the morning, when they were playing chill-out videos, and fell in love with the track @ the first listen.
It's very catchy, and as there's so much happening on this track, you have to play it a good few times, to hear everything else that's going on in the background. "Sparks" is a real warm-feeling moody track (definitely to listen to by candelight as another reviewer mentions regarding this album).
My fave tracks (apart from "Poor Leno") are "Remind Me" and "In Space" - the orchestral tones running through "In Space" almost sound like they're about to kick into their own version of the James Bond "Space March" theme.
"Royksopp's Night Out" is another track that takes a few listens as there is so much going on, but it's well worth several plays anyway!
There's not one track on here that you can't feel relaxed to or uplifted. This Norwegian duo need more airplay, as the album is a must.Go out and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant electronica...move over Air..., 1 July 2003
By 
A. G. H. Schofield "Alex" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
this album has been well hyped,there is no doubt about that.with comparisons made to Air and Enigma it was with high expectations i bought this album despite the low price i paid on the marketplace here.the first two tracks which were both singles are fantastic,uplifting electronica with all instuments and synths used to their full potential.the next 3 tracks prove the singles are not the only good tracks which can happen on mediocre albums.
there is absolutely no filler on this album and is an enjoyable 47 minute listen for any occasion.the tracks flow together very well,the quality and beauty of the music dismiss the need for lyrics.overall,quality electronica that is seriously one of the best albums of the new millenium so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fills you with hope ... every home should have one!, 25 July 2011
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as soon as it was released on the strength of the track 'So Easy', having heard a snippet of the song on the T-Mobile advert. I remember everyone going crazy for the track and being desperate to find out what is was called and who it was by.

When I played the whole album, I was blown away at how fantastic it was. Etheral, chilled, majestic, soaring, ambient, breath-taking ... are just some of the words that spring to my mind.

Every house should own this ... it's the one album of that year that made me interested in music again.

Remind me, So easy, Eple and Sparks remain my favourite tracks ... put on Sparks and drift away if you're stressed or depressed ... works like a charm.

Buy this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Thing to happen to W.O.S. since Propellerheads!, 20 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
Their music is chilled, an interesting blend of loud percussion and easy-to-listen-to synth sounds.
Their music gives the impression of being really well thought out, with feeling, and some tracks (Royksopp's Night Out, for instance), are strangely infectious. I was dubious at first, but now I can't put this album down!
One of the best debut albums EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 11 Aug. 2007
By 
vivsy (rural hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
This is electronic instrumental chill out music at its best. I bought it on a whim and I wasn't disappointed-the whole album is very easy on the ear and perfect music for the last hour or so of a party when you are all feeling nicely mellow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royskopp's Night Out... best song EVER! Devilish track., 17 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Melody A.M. (Audio CD)
This must be one of the quirkiest albums i've got, it's just brilliant, like others, I agree... it is a cross between Air and Chemical brothers, similar to lemon jelly too. Not heard much portishead to agree on that one.
I like all of the tracks on it, 'She's So' sounds sleazy in the typical scandinavian way, possibly a suggestive title? 'In space' sounds like being in space too, 'Royksopp's Night Out' makes me think of a devil out on the town getting drunk and looking for trouble, 'Eple' makes me think of massive water droplets falling bombarding an apple. 'A Higher Place' is hard to describe, it's awesome to say the least. 'Sparks' may be about falling in love, and 'Poor Leno' rocks, no idea what that may be based on, starts lovely, explodes into an electronic techno migrane (lots going on), maybe Leno's got the Migrane? 'Remind Me' is trancy, and likeable, probably the most 'normal' kinda song there. '40 Years/Come Back', i tend to skip that one if i'm choosing a track although when it comes on by itself they are quite pleasant to listent to, just watch in case u fall asleep!
Fave song has to be 'Royksopp's Night Out', fast paced, lots going on, and very dramatic, if not spooky and dark. It's amazing to say the least.
I'd recommend this album to anyone who likes good music. It's outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melody A.M.
Melody A.M. by Royksopp (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews