Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of 2001., 27 Aug 2002
By 
J. Bates (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
This album is a stunner. Other people have compared his style to McCullogh, Sinatra. I'd throw Leonard Cohen, Johnny Cash and Chris Isaac in there too. Such a variety is no bad thing as the end result is truly original, and the quality of songs brilliant. The single 'Baby you're my light' is an old fashioned and timeless classic, and the obvious hit on the album. 'Long Black Train' and 'Love of my life' are just two of the standout tracks, but every track is good and it's not often you can say that about an album. I've played this CD to several friends and all of them have bought it. It's a real grower and I cant wait for the next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's all too beautiful...., 7 Sep 2006
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
There is nothing bad to be said about this album.

It contains beautiful songs, beautifully played and sung, that happen to be beautifully written.

It's as if Roy Orbison, Johnny Cash and Paul Heaton met over a beer and made a beautiful album.

As near a perfect album as we can get in this day and age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic first full solo effort, 16 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic full album debut from Hawley, following on from his mini-album released last year. When you here his voice from the opening bars of "Something is..." you wonder why he let someone else take the lead vocals in his previous carnation as guitarist in brit-poppers The Longpigs. His voice is part Frank Sinatra, part Ian McCullogh with a bit of Scott Walker thrown in occasionally for good measure. With succintly written lyric and some brilliant tunes as well as the voice which would carry a much lesser album. At times serious, but at times more tongue in cheek, especially on the final track, the wonderfully named "The Light at the End of the Tunnel (was a train coming the other way)".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Torch songs for the melancholy, 15 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
Late Night Final, which came out in 2001, was the first album from Sheffield singer-songwriter Richard Hawley (discounting his mini-album released in the same year). Before taking to the stage on his own, he played guitar in various Brit-bands such as Longpigs, Pulp, and featured on tracks for All Saints and Finley Quaye, all the while keeping his baritone crooner voice and music-hall songs in the wings. The Guardian described him as 'as lachrymose as Roy Orbison, as romantic as Frank Sinatra, but as unsentimental as Jarvis Cocker'.

Lyrically, he likes to sneak a bit of sardonic wit into melancholy: 'You want to know how we got to where we are now? The nights are cold'. On stage (he is touring the UK in September 2007) he's like old caberet singers with his gag-song-gag routine. At the Scala club in London a few years ago, he summed it his music: 'Some people have described this kind of music - gentle music - as bedwetter music,' he observed. 'Well, I'll come and piss on your mattress any fookin' time.' (4.5 stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, super guitar, lovely songs. He'll go far., 20 Feb 2002
By 
Darryl Still "daxvondrac" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
I really hope Hawley gets what he deserves in a cynical and often sterile industry, because this album really does suggest he is an original talent who will produce great things in the future.
A deep, haunting voice with a lovely lush arrangement, Late Night Final is an excellent start and I really believe that big things will follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LATE NIGHT FINAL, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
Richard Hawley is a quality singer and songwriter, all his stuff has something to offer, simply good music for grown ups.
check him out, great musician from sheffield, saw him live in liverpool, funny bloke too.
bottom line is, just listen to his stuff and you will get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late Night Final by Richared Hawley, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
This is the second Richard Hawley cd I have purchased for my wife and she could not be more pleased with it. I will definitely be buying more. What a beautiful relaxing voice the man has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
Delivery as expected.CD seems genuine and works perfectly.It was for my wife so I cannot comment much about the music but she enjoys it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present well received, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. J. R. Neeld "kareteko" (cambridgeshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
This was a birthday present request which I had sent to the address. The recipient liked it thanks very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars late night final, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Night Final (Audio CD)
Disc was in good order and arrived within time limits. Decided to purchase it after seeing Richard Hawley in concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9295354)

This product

Late Night Final
Late Night Final by Richard Hawley (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews