Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars60
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2003
If you like old skool g-funk, this is where it all started. This album introduces some of the best rappers in the business to the big stage, RBX, Snoop, Kurupt, and the lady of rage among others. This album is way before its time, so if you like artists such as Snoop, ice cube and LA gangsta rap, if you don't already have this, go out and buy the damn thing, you WILL NOT be disappointed! Contains classic g-funk bangers like nuthin but a G thang, Dre day, stranded on death row and lyrical gangbang. I can't believe no-ones done a review on this, coz it needs to be known how good this is. So go out and buy it rap fans...
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2001
this album blasted Snoop Dogg into the rap scene and proved that Dre could still make the beats and produce the goods without Eazy E and NWA. Nuthin but a G thing is one of the best songs i have ever heard its first line is true brilliance" 1 2 3 and to the 4 Snoop Doggy dogg and Dr Dre is at your door" "let me ride" and "Wit Dre day" are just as good as this and the whole album proves the one thing everyone knew. Dre is the best producer on the mic. You have to have this album not only for Dre but for the sheer quality Snoop doggy dogg throws up on his debut.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
An immaculate album that emphasises the beats and lyrics that revolutionised West coast rap.This is far superior to '2001' and is on a level with both classic NWA lp's, whilst Snoop's rhyming throughout the album is his best! Dre's production as on this album will probably never be equalled, it is just a shame it was before 2pac's time on the greatest and most influencial of contemporary record labels(Death Row),as his presence may well have enhanced this album further.....if possible!!!
Tracks to look for are 'nuttin but a g thang', 'lil ghetto boy', 'let me ride' and 'f*ck wit dre day'......BUY IT NOW!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
Ok. I am a hip hop fan and this album is ..... wicked. If you are thinking about buying it, stop thinking and just go and buy it. Its a couple of years old but, yo, the tracks are proper dope. It's not typical hip hop, its more of a mix of rap, soul funk and old skool but dre and snoop kill it on the album. Snoop is up Dr Dre's ass as he is featured on every track but he drops enuff dope lyrics on the whole album. The Intro is just gangsta-when u buy it, turn the volume up and blast the first track - it is proper ghetto gangsta ..... My fav bit on all of the album is 'A Nigga Witta Gun' when Snoop Dogg drops a verse at the end - 'BLAM BLAM, BLAM TO THE FALL, LISTEN TO THE SHOTS FROM A NIGGA DOGGY DOGG, ETC ETC. But overall most of the tracks are pretty good and I like all of them. But dont expect a host of modern jingles featuring Eminem cos the album was released in like 93, but dont let that put you off, the album is still standing and is still a number one classic hip hop cd. buy it! Compton style!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
Dre's album is a superbly crafted and linguistically inspired piece of 90s rap. With the help of other gangsta rappers, most notably Snoop Doggy Dogg, Dre's tunes demand a convertible car and a big pumping stereo. Lay back and chill with some of the dopest beats yet. Quite simply a timeless classic that outclasses virtually every other rap record, including Chronic 2001. Dre will inspire you to move to LA, wear gold chains, gather bags of chronic, and chill with various 'women-folk'. Respek.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2001
Well a truely great hiphop album.Nearly every song is brilliant,the best though are wit dre day (and everybodys celebratin)let me ride,nuthin but a g thang and rat-tat-tat-tat.it is full of kool background music and realy ace lyrics.He has many good rappers on aswell like snoop dogg,nate dogg,and rbx.A truely great hip-hop album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
For many, this is the best Hip-Hop album of it's era. For me, this is just a fantastic record.
Although it isn't as influential as people think it is, each track is a classic. Dr. Dre is a genius, perhaps only rivalled by RZA when it comes to Hip-Hop production. His low-key funk samples suited his artists perfectly and whilst Dr. Dre's raps are usually below average, his beats make up for it.
Every track is as worthy as the next, and if this isn't already a part of your collection, I suggest you buy it immediately.
It may not be the best Hip-Hop album of all-time (as many Rock publications made it out to be), but it is certainly a 5-star record, and one worthy of your attention.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2000
This is the best Hip Hop Cd ever, i mean EVER! this album proves Dre is a true genius, by unleashing Snoop on us, giving us one of the best hip hop songs ever (nuthin' but a g thang), and starting the whole G funk thing. This surpasses any of his earlier work with NWA, this is a stone cold hip-hop landmark. of all the albums i have, this is the one i have listened to most, it's never out of my Cd player. well enough of me talking about it, what are u waiting for? Hurry up and buy it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
This album defined what is called Gangsta Rap today. The beats are just as fresh and funky as they were back in '92 and this album showed the way for virtually every other gansta rap artist to this day. Pure genius, smmooth flow, funky beatz, Dre is the godfather of rap and this album proves it. If, like me, ur a lover of rap, no record collection is complete without this at the top.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album i think is particularly superb and should stand next to snoops doggystyle with pride. Classic songs like "LET ME RIDE" and "DEEEZ NUUTS" are really really good and show off dres potential as a quality rapper.Everyone loved 2001 but i think this is better. This is pure old school dre. SAM RHODES
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)