Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Haven outdo themselves AGAIN, 24 Dec 2001
By 
coaleye@hotmail.com (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
wow.read my reviews of other will haven albums and youll catch the drift of thir style.
the quiet bits are even more beautiful and the heavy riffs even more disgusting than anything theyve released before.when i first heard the tracks carpe diem and miguel, i thought, oh no, the new drummer has spoiled the best band in the world.but then when i heard the rest of the album i realised that mitch wheeler has become such an important part in will haven with his hypnotic drumming.and jeff irwin has outstripped his previous efforts with more layers, and the most disgustingly heavy style.there are parts of Carpe Diem that are just so brutally heavy that you wonder what the future of metal is, and parts which are so unheavy that they take your breath away with their structure.they are hard to describe, but the part on finest our where everything reaches a climax, goes silent, and before you realise it has come back still amazes me.the best part of any song ever.Grady has taken a more upbeat stance in his lyrics, but you wouldnt guess it the way he bellows them out, and mike martin's bass is as important as any other part, but seems to take a back seat on this album.thank god their contract with revelation has ended with this album, for now they may get some proper support from a label that believes in them in the US.what they are doing treating a band as important as will haven with such little respect is nothing more than shocking.top marks to eric stenman on his production skills which have enhanced will haven's sound tenfold. This may be a too strong a statement for many, but to me, carpe diem makes 99.9% of modern metal obsolete, such is its power and grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars scream-o-core titans return with old sound, 3 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
formed back in 1995 will haven set out top change the face of metal.after the release of a self-titled ep there was "el diablo" which kicked and screamed its way out of the underground scene.after tour supports with deftones and other top acts came "whvn" another sonic bashing
all important 3rd album carpe diem sees the band reverting back to their "el diablo"sound.except this album is much better that the debut.highlights include 'saga','dressed in night clothes' and 'miguel...'. 'miguel..'is one of the heaviest songs the band has ever recorded and it has the most perfect ending.
the production of this is probably the best of the 3 with eric stenman gaining a clearer sound that with the white-noise like reverberations of 'whvn'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As always, the legends Will Haven shine through, 1 July 2003
By 
Deadsalesman "Random Brit" (St Albans, United Kingdom of Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
Ive been a Will Haven fan for a good long time, after picking up one of their records by chance several years ago. At that time it was the heaviest stuff i had in my collection, and took some listening to. This album is similar to other Will Haven efforts, but it is much darker. The guitar effects, the vocals, all have this deathly sound about them. Dark, brooding, uncomfortable. This album is techincially superb. The downtuning on the guitars is near illegal, the bass rasps malevolently in the background while Grady shreds his vocal chords for all to hear. The drumming is precise and trance inducing. The structure of Will Havens songs is so waterproof that you can end up being drummed into a trance by powerful and unforgiving riffs and technical, electronically superb guitar work.This album doesnt have time to relent, it works harder and harder. Eventually giving a break for a *fantastic* semi-instrumental track. Its a slow, spacey and dark track, long, with a near military drum beat. The guitar effects, phasers and delay whirls around your head as you listen, and slowly tune in to Will Haven. After a pause, Grady with a muffled effect breaks the 'silence' and does what he does best - scream. By this point you know the album is good, you know they know it, you know everyone should know it.. you know it belongs in your collection - if only to sit there and mock those that claim to be heavy. Only to laugh at those bands who try so hard and fall short of the line. Will Haven have outdone themselves again, and made a better album here than their previous attempt. And that cannot be a bad thing. Be a part of the darkness, and be a part of the sinfully dirty riffs..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 11 Dec 2003
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
In short, this album is one of my all time favourites. But Will Haven aren't for the faint hearted! In my opinion nothing else sounds like this band, and this is due to the singer's (Grady) unbelievable voice and the unique guitar setup. The screaming is definitely the best I've ever heard, being well removed from the cliched metal 'roar', instead it is an instrument in itself, fantastic in its precision and genius in its structure. The intensity of the sound as a whole is stunning. In a sense, Will Haven specialise in using repetition and juxterposition to create a sonic landscape that draws you into the songs. The unique heavy, but low on fuzz sound of the guitar and the strumming pattern characterise most songs on Carpe Diem.
The structuring of the album itself is excellent. The first track has a creepy bit of deep bass and tinny guitar notes that fade out, only for the crushing power of 'Saga' to shatter the silence with unmatched brutality. Other tracks like Carpe Diem, Miguel..., Dressed in Night Clothes, Alpha Male and the brilliant exit track of Moving to Montana are all of the highest quality. Overall, this is a must buy for anyone into heavy music (I myself jumped from Nirvana into WHVN) or music that is based around creating a wall of sound rather than the generic heavy stuff you hear on the radio. Given the style of this band I would suggest giving the album a few listens over several days to allow your ears to adjust to the genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carpe Diem, 6 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. C. R. Moore "craigisageek" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
I played this CD today (after not listened to it in a while) and I felt compelled to write a review for it. I dunno what it is about Will Haven's music that compells me in a way other metal bands don't. You'd swear at certain points on this CD that you've heard a riff on another of their equally excellent records, but therein lies the point...Will Haven's music is heavy but at the same time has a very hypnotic quality to it. Carpe Diem for me is different to the previous albums - the trademark screams and flange-drenched guitars are still there but there is a real emphasis on the stacato single string riffs. Whereas El Diablo was a relentless face melter of a record Carpe Diem has a much more WEIRDER vibe. I have no other way to describe it, but I mean it in a positive way :)
Orignal vocalist Grady Avenell (so I've heard) is now re-joining the band for a second time after Jeff Jaworski picked up vocal duties in 2007. On the strength of this album let's hope Will Haven pick up where they left off and give us another amazing piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs repeated listens but is well worth it, 16 May 2003
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
yep, its taken me over a year to appreciate this album but i'm glad that i can now hear how good this is. It is very loud and very angry, and that can make it hard to listen to, but when u can get around that it is brilliant. The amazon review is very accurate when it talks about 'lurching elastic grooves', songs like Carpe Diem ooze this style.
The album is very atmospheric in parts, with the guitar playing a disonant reverbing parts along to processed drums and bass. In others its loud, brutal and dissonant with huge bass, drums and vocals.
I'm sure if you've listened to Wil Haven before u know and like this stuff, but for the 1st time listener like me then it will come as a bit of a shock. Worth persevering with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Genius, 25 May 2003
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
This album is quite simply brilliant. In my opinion slightly superior than their previous 2 releases, Carpe Diem is a masterpiece. The raw power produced by both the instruments and the sadly now departed lead singer Grady's voice. Virtually all tracks are excellent, something not many albums can boast about these days. If you like your music hard or are looking for something different to the bland, pop like nu-metal that all the kiddies are listening to, this is it ! Without doubt one of the greatest metal albums of all time, YOU MUST BUY THIS !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MONSTEROUS!, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Carpe Diem [VINYL] (Vinyl)
After 1999`s `WHVN` album, the haven come back with another dynamic and dramatic record, sounding more complete and whole than any other previous record. With it`s absolutly crushing guitars, pounding drums, experimental techno sounds and Grady`s ever terrifing screams, `carpe diem` is classic Will Haven, just better! Songs such as `BATS` and the title track just explode out of the speakers and leave a lasting impression for the rest of the album. The only flaw with the record is that nearer the end of the album, some of the songs seem to sound the same and also, if you play it too loud, you may need a hearing aid in a few years not to mention a set of new windows! As the track `finest hour` comes to a close, you just can`t help, but wonder if Will Haven had as much fun making the album as you did listening to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kings of Noisecore, 10 Jan 2002
This review is from: Carpe Diem (Audio CD)
Welcome to the greatest Noisecore band of all time. Forget The Icarus Line, Glassjaw and Raging Speedhorn, Will Haven are back and they sure seem pissed off about something.
It may not be as good as the band's last Lp "WHVN" but it is still amazing. Carpe Diem is almost hypnotic, the pumelling grooves likely to send you into a trance.
Carpe Diem marks a return to the more crushing sound of the band's debut "El Diablo" and lacks some of the variety which made "WHVN" so great.
But if you like your metal hard, it doesn't get more earth-shattering than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carpe Diem
Carpe Diem by Will Haven (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews