Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more!!!
This is my favourite tv series of all time, and is by far the best screen adaptation of Robin Hood there has ever been. The action/adventure you'd expect with a Robin Hood series is wholly evident, but it's the extra element of magic that really makes this stand out from the rest. And not forgetting the very young, enthusiastic cast who brought so much vibrancy to the...
Published on 15 Feb 2005 by richard_goodfellow

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series, awful production
I agree with all the others saying that this is a great series, and I am looking forward to the others coming out.
But what did they do in the transfer? Absolutely nothing (say it again!).
Colours are washed out (the documentary has restored and cleaned footage, you can see what CAN be done...), there are hairs, pits and scrathces on the system.
Given that...
Published on 30 Mar 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more!!!, 15 Feb 2005
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This is my favourite tv series of all time, and is by far the best screen adaptation of Robin Hood there has ever been. The action/adventure you'd expect with a Robin Hood series is wholly evident, but it's the extra element of magic that really makes this stand out from the rest. And not forgetting the very young, enthusiastic cast who brought so much vibrancy to the series with stars such as Michael Praed (Dynasty) as Robin, Clive Mantle (Casualty, Alien 3) as Little John and the fantastic Ray Winstone (Sexy Beast, Nil By Mouth) as Will Scarlet. The series starts off with a two-parter, 'Robin Hood and the Sorcerer' which culminates in a sinister confrontation with the evil Simon de Belleme and a ferocious battle with the sheriff's men. Then we have 'The Witch of Elsdon' which is about a white witch who the sheriff blackmails into poisoning the outlaws. 'Seven Poor Nights From Acre' is about Robin's desperate attempts to rescue Much from the clutches of a pack of vicious warriors. 'Alan A Dale' comes next, a tale about a young minstrel who's sweetheart faces the prospect of marrying the sheriff!!! This episode tells a lighter, more humerous story. Finally, we have 'The King's Fool', when King Richard, played by John Rhys-Davies (Sallah from the Indiana Jones movies) arrives in Sherwood and causes all kinds of problems for the outlaws. Throughout all of these intelligently told stories, there is a perfect mix of swordplay and magic, surrounding characters who
you'll come to love. Even the baddies are fantastic! You think Alan Rickman is funny as the sheriff in Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves? You obviously haven't seen Nickolas Grace playing the same role in this series. Superb. The whole lot is set in wonderful surroundings: vast castle halls, castle courtyards (the courtyard of Nottingham Castle was filmed at Alnwick in Northumberland where they film Harry Potter), battlements and ramparts, and not forgetting the wonderful deep,
sunlight-dappled forest. This series was perfect, everything about it was done right, and I don't think the Robin Hood story will ever be told anywhere near as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An '80's classic!!, 8 Feb 2005
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
One of the fondest TV memories of my childhood. I can remember how no matter where we were, I would always make my parents rush back so we could catch Robin of Sherwood (much to their annoyance when I would rush straight back out to play football with my mates!).
Sure some of the special effects look dodgy by today's standards - but saying that there are feature films from 10/15 years ago (RoS is 20yrs old!) that look equally dodgy and they were made on ten times the budget! As with all great TV it is all about the story telling and character creation, few do it better than Richard Carpenter. The first two series were especially good, whereas the third suffered not only from its length and Jason Connery's 'wooden' acting, but the fact that various writers were brought in to write some of the episodes. None could recreate what Carpenter managed in Series 1 & 2.
When you buy DVD's from your childhood you do so because you want to revisit that time in your life but at the same time you pray that what then seemed like the greatest programme ever hasn't been destroyed by time and, more importantly, your now critical adult mind!! When I played episode 1 and the HTV logo appeared soon followed by the great opening shot of the Norman horses crossing the river on a raft, I knew it had stood the test of time. I find the production values of the entire series amazing - 3 series shot on a small budget but which incorporated techniques worthy of a major motion picture. Shot on film, in beautifully realistic locations there has been little to equal it, let alone surpass it, since.
A lack of repeats has definitely increased the nostalgia rating but 20 years on classic television continues to be classic television. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best version of Robin Hood ever made!, 17 Oct 2001
By 
Mrs. M. Sachdev (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I don't know if many of you remember this TV series, but it was/is probably the best version of Robin Hood ever made. Using a combination of mysticism, English history, and folklore, it told the story of Robin in the Hood, who, with John, Marion, Will, Naseer, Much and Tuck, fought the powers of Darkness (and the Sheriff, of course) under the guidance of Herne the Hunter. The soundtrack was provided by Clannad, and adds to the incredible atmosphere of the series. The stories are very well written, and the acting superb (especially Will Scatlock aka Scarlett). I have the entire series 1 and 2 on VHS, and have watched it many times. I never expected it to come out on DVD, though, but, the Saints be praised!! Very highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Hooded Man..dum ..dum", 20 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
My all time favourite TV series gets a much deserved DVD release.I never tired of repeated viewings of this 80's classic.My old vhs copies crumbled long ago so my swash was definitley buckled to find these enhanced versions.
There are loads of extras including a souped up surround sound audio track,(the series came out in good old mono..ahhh those were the days..),
and a brand new 'making of' documentary to complement the rusty looking 'shot back in the 80's' one( Were hairstyles and fashion SO bad back then!??!)
Its interesting to see how the cast have faired since 1983..some going on to great success after this...but Michael Praed is still too goddam handsome for his own good,(how I envied him wayback when!!) All in all an excellent package,( you get the benefit of an extra dvd if you buy the box set. Its full of extra behind the scenes footage shot for the 'making of' film)and one I would heartily recommend to any R O S fan wether you have it on vhs or not. Roll on series 2 and 3!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robin i' the Hood still makes for good viewing, 18 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
To my mind, this telling of the tale of Robin Hood is the most interesting amongst the many commited to film. Richard Carpenter writes him as an outlaw spurred on not only by a sense of injustice brought on by the treatment of the poor by the Normans but by his belief in the powers of light and darkness and his place as the Pagan God Herne's son.
Michael Praed plays Robin as a rather intense and very young man; kind and inspiring but also at times rash and fallable. The Merry Men are a rough band - not easy or willing to be simply led without question, yet bound to their leader and each other by love and a common purpose. Marion is a strong character and takes her place amongst the 'Merries' in a departure from most of the other versions of the tale. It is an interesting mix and you come to care for them all as individuals and a team quite quickly.
The Sheriff and Sir Guy are spot on as the snarling baddies that you love to hate.
The stories are well written and quite diverse.
The acting is very good and you will spot familiar faces everywhere amongst the guest actors. All of the regular actors are well cast but some deserve special mention: Praed is excellent as Robin (and not just because he is easy on the eyes either!); Ray Winston plays Will Scarlet as if he might explode as any moment; and Clive Mantle is also very good as the sensitive giant, Little John.
The DVD extras are also excellent (they are listed in the Amazon review so I won't list them again here) and are well worth the price of the DVD even if your old VHS tapes are still holding up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best TV Series Of The 80's, 4 Dec 2001
By 
C. S. Taylor "telstar27" (Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
If you were to pick one of the best television series of the 1980's It would have to be HTV's Robin Of Sherwood.
The series combines many great themes swashbuckling action,mysticism,scorcery,the lot..
If you have never seen this series,and you like your Robin Hodd & his merry men dressed in skin tight thights,then alas this version of Robin Hood is not for you.
The costumes look realistic and earthy but above all the characters are convincing and the stories very well contructed.
I hope this 1st series sells well so that the makers of this DVD will release all the other series to complete what in my opion is one of the finest TV series ever made.
"MAY HERNE PROTECT YOU"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most intriguing programs I have ever seen., 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
It is very hard to explain the overall sense of wonder and amazement I feel each time I view this series. Richard Carpenter has taken a figure from history and not only brought him to life, but has also managed to incorporate many of the varying myths that surrounded the character of Robin Hood. Not only are we are given the opportunity to see and understand the events that forced a 'peasant' to become an outlaw, we are also given the chance to understand what extreme circumstances arose to lead a nobleman's heir into forsaking wealth and power in order to continue Robin Hood's fight for justice.
I am amazed each time I see the episodes. The acting and costumes are excellent. The music is very fitting of the time depicted and the scenery draws you in to Sherwood Forest with ease. The passing of the mantle of 'Herne's Son' from Robin of Loxley to Robert of Huntingdon is especially well done. Mr. Carpenter has combined several myths with fact in order to create a very believable transition of Robin from orphaned peasant to disinherited nobleman.
I hope the powers that be will consider releasing the series on DVD format for the United States in the very near future.
Blessed Be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Robin Hood, 13 Jan 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
This classic series unfortunatly doesn't get repeated on TV due to a dispute about royalty payments. It is possibly my favorite show of all times and I'm trilled that it's now to make an apperance on DVD and hope the other series follow soon. This series was a seemless blend of the Robin Hood legend with older tales (Hern the Hunter for one and Arthur in later series)it also managed to mix the two strands of the Hood legends (renegade Norman and Saxon peasent) when Michael Prayed left after the second series to be replaced by Jason Connery. The show was also the first time a Saracen appeared connected with Robin Hood (an idea taken up by the Costner film). I cannot recommend rhis series highly enough make sure to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best portrayal of the legend so far, 25 Dec 2006
By 
SM (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Like many I saw this series for the first time as a teenager. I've always had a fascination with all things British, especially this period of history, so this was a special treat to get this show in the U.S. during the early 90's. I thought adding the sorcery/pagan aspects to the character and plot were unique and lent a deeper spiritual meaning. Upon a second viewing the show begins to look somewhat dated. Certainly the production standards aren't nearly as good as today and a little bit of the 80's often pushes through dialogue or music. However, the acting is still wonderful after all this time. Also, it's good to revisit the past and see the series again after so many years. Overall, I'd say the series is holding up and despite its flaws remains the unchallenged, best portrayal of the legend to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD - can't wait for series 2 and 3, 17 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Having owned the VHS version of these episodes for some time, I was slightly nervous as to whether I would get value from the DVDs. Still, the sound on the VHS tapes was going, so I thought, why not. Good decision. The DVD adaptation is excellent. I had no idea what the electric picture show was (a half hour programme about the making of which went out in 1983 when the show first premiered). Even better was the "Making of" hour-long documentary, made in 2001, with all of the stars of the show contributing. Excellent to hear how all the characters emerged, especially how Edmund the Archer turned into Nasir! I thoroughly recommend this to anyone who enjoyed the series, or was a fan of either Errol Flynn or Kevin Costner versions [this one really is better].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin of Sherwood: Complete Series 1 [DVD] [1984]
£9.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews