Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well i guess this confirms it..the chilis ARE the greatest!!, 21 April 2003
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
And I'm serious. I mean, i had every one of their albums, but until i bought this album i'd NEVER seen them live, other than MTV or Top of the Pops. Man, this show is just mindblowing, who cares if it's made up of 3 different performances, the majority of it is all linked. And the guy who said it hadn't been mixed well obviously doesn't know what he's talking about, ignore him. I've had this for no more than 3 days and alreay i've seen it seven times! And I'm not stupid either, it's not like it's the only music i listen to, i have strong hold on most styles of music including jazz and classical music, quite dissimilar to the chilis. But in all the music i've heard i've never seen such a brilliant collection of musicians in one band, the Chilis!! I'm serious.. BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying for Search and Destroy alone, 11 Oct. 2002
By 
A newish Chilis fan (Somewhere near Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a truly great concert recording showing the talents and pure energy of 4 great musicians. The cover of Search and Destroy (one of the extras)is awesome - 11 great minutes that I never want to end. Just thinking about it raises the hairs on the back of my neck! The pre-show footage and interviews are worthwhile too, giving some insights to the deeper side of this band. Buy - it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best music video ever made!!!!!, 17 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
Off the Map by the red hot chili peppers has to be the best music video i've ever seen. the moment it starts you feel the excitement as it shows the band backstage in a huddle and then walking towards the stage with the crowd chearing outside. the intro which starts the around the world off is the perfect to start to any song. flea plays a muhc longer version of the usual intro and changes it at the start. what follows is the best 70minutes money can buy. what becomes clear within seconds of the concert starting is the amount of energy the chilis put inot their shows. in the intro for around the world john frusicante bends over backwards while playing and flea jumps about all over the stage. this is clearly the chilis at their best. the list of songs is excellent as it has a mix of new and old songs which will appeal to all peppers fans and infact every music fan on the planet. i could safely say that the performances from each member of the peppers in the video could never be bettered, i've never seen anyone play guitar like john does throughout the whole concert and fleas bass playin is just jaw dropping. anthony's vocals are soooo full of energy and powerfull and chads drumming is perfect especailly the drum solo he dopes prior to subterranean homesick blues....which if you've ever heard the dylan version is totally different its a completely funked up version of his song...amazing! theres also a solo spot for john frusciante where he performs usually just a t-shirt...this a beautiful song and is perfectly placed as it leads staright into scar tissue without any fuss as it is in the same key. if you want to see one of the best ever musical performances then buy this video if you want to see the worlds best abdn at their amazing best buy this video if ur a music fan of any sort buy this video you will be amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show from a great era, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The californication era is the one I prefer the most. The band was at their high point. With John back on board, the band took off once again and proved everybody wrong who didn't believe in them. I prefer this concert to any other officially released rhcp show, because Flea still had a huge part in bands sound, which changed a lot after their next album and the whole band just rocker more than in the later years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music shame about the dvd!, 9 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Lets start off on the brilliant points! The music is fantastic, the band look and sound amazing and the goings on in 'Me and My friends' is hilarious! If you can enjoy the music without really concentrating on the picture on the tv then this dvd is brilliant.
However...the continuity is appalling. It is shocking to think that this dvd was done in 2001 when there is no excuse for such obvious problems. The most glaringly obvious continuity errors are Anthony's hair and trousers and that sometimes the audio is out of sync with the picture. It wouldn't be too bad if you were able to ignore it but once you spot the problems you start seeing more and then the enjoyment of the music suffers.
However I hate to leave it on a bad point so if you can successfully ignore these problems then you will be getting a very good dvd. Personally though I would not bother with this one and instead get 'live at Slane Castle' which is 100 times better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny, 18 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This DVD puts together a great set list - mixes the old with the new to please old timers like me and the newer breed of RHCP devotees.
Great bonus tracks are included along with superb footage and band interviews. Subtitles are excellent for those drunken karaoke nights in that we all love from time to time (or is that just me?!!!!).
Put it on, whack it up and enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lively Concert, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
David Freeman "DDxxx" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This DVD footage covers the best and most lively period from the Red Hot Chilli Peppers sporting their familiar Mohawk style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an example of how to perform live, 5 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
this dvd is the best example yet of how a band should perform live!
although being a big chili's fan i am possibly biased, any decent music lover will appreciate this performance.
the thing with the chili peppers is when they perform live, songs come with jamming little intro and outros. they also start jamming in between songs but most of all - they are full of energy!
you really need to watch it to see what i mean!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chillis rock and so does this., 11 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
Listening to the CDs they sound great but watching the video, boy they are amazing live. They put so much passion and excitement into their preformances. For any young, up and coming bands the Red Hot Chilli Peppers are great role models. If they put half as much effort into their preformances then they will surely do well.
I cannot rate this video highly enough well worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001]
Red Hot Chili Peppers: Off The Map [DVD] [2001] by Red Hot Chili Peppers (DVD - 2002)
£7.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews