Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weller unplugged but still electric.
This album is a faithful record of Weller's recent accoustic tours. It finds the man in good humour and equally good voice as he dips into his extensive back catalogue. At last he has started to embrace the calls for Jam and Style Council numbers, realising that far from being a millstone around his neck, they should be celebrated. And celebrated they are; English...
Published on 8 Oct 2001

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big disapointment
Right I've been a Weller fan ever since I picked up Wild Wood all them years ago and have bought most of his stuff from the Jam and The Style Council and his other solo releases. Saw him on Jools Holland show do his set and was amazed as well to how beautiful the songs were crafted together and when stripped down to accoustic were even more magical. I guess I just wanted...
Published on 16 Feb 2002 by P. M. Dalton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Live Album, 5 Feb 2004
By 
C. Blackburn "blackadder79" (Stockton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
I agree with the reviewer who thought that some of the other reviewers must have been listening to a different album to Wings of Speed. It must also rank as one of my favourite albums. The bad sound quality mentioned by some reviewers as far as im concerned doesn't exist. Wellers guitar and singing is crystal clear throughout and the only time you hear the crowd is occasionally during the chorus or at the end of each song, which is a vast improvement on most other live albums I've ever heard. As for the songs sounding samey I would again disagree, of course the songs have the same sound on this album because they are all played on an acoustic guitar without accompaniment, but to say songs like 'Thats Entertainment' and 'English Rose' sound the same is to push the point too far. Indeed Paul Wellers singing and playing are on top form on the album. Overall the album is excellent and a must for any Paul Weller fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for anybody, 15 Nov 2001
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
Being someone that only knows a few of Weller's songs, Days of Speed is the best album to buy. It brings you up to date with most of his work, without having to be a manic fan. The acoustic sound is great, however i was a bit disappointed to find that 'Going Underground' was not to be found
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are the other reviewers listening to the same album?, 16 July 2003
By 
Ian Grace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
Are you sure you're listening to Days of Speed? Maybe it's personal, but this album ranks among my all time favourites - simply superb mastery of the guitar, wonderful to listen to, atmospheric, enjoyable and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mod-father is back - With Style., 4 Nov 2001
By 
MJG "Marc" (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
This album is a must even if you weren't lucky enough to see one of his live and acoustic sessions. He shows here yet again, that he is not just a band member, Can't knock it. My only issue is that you simply cannot capture on recording the electric atmosphere from when he performs - even armed with just a guitar at his side. You can play this album anywhere and his latest more passionate rendition of "English Rose" brings on a great deal of nostalgia.
Keep it up Paul - Your the guvnor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Weller at his best, 27 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic, I have always liked the B sides of some of PW's singles, as he included some great acoustic pieces, and what he has done with this album is put all this talent on one album. The energy and atmosphere really do come through and it is a joy to listen to, also some of the well known classics, Out of the Sinking, You do something to me, really do hold up to an acoustic rendition.
David Halcro
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
I beleive his finest compilation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
Great album, now a confirmed Paul Weller fan!!!
Great value, listening to this over and over in my car - fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Weller, 19 July 2013
By 
Sparkle (Rotherham, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
There is a fantastic mix of songs on this album. Pleasure to listen to - one of his best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does Something To Me, 9 Mar 2013
By 
Kyle W. Elsbernd (Janesville, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
This review is from: Days of Speed (Audio CD)
Tracks 1-9 (minus English Rose, which, though better than the original, still has an incongruous, hermetic Victorian feel) are an ABSOLUTE MASTERPIECE, a clinic of live solo acoustic guitar. This album showcases a mature artist at the pinnacle of his craft. The show begins as a mildly melancholy/romantic introspective confessional. This aspect of Weller's personality is not surprising. We've known it in him all along, even from The Jam days and heartbreaking songs like "Life From a Window." Hiding first behind punk attitude, then behind Euro/sophisticate in the Style Council, Weller finally abandons all pretense here as a solo act. This is the man entire, his voice pulsing with the electric immediacy of a raw nerve. Admittedly, Weller represents a style of songwriting which is charmingly passe; he could never write, say, a Dave Matthews song. If popular music had not taken a left turn somewhere a few miles back, it would sound a lot like Paul Weller. How he continues to wring fresh material out of the same Motown, R&B, funk, etc. influences is a credit to his well-secreted work ethic. Tellingly, the liner notes of his Studio 150 album charge modern song writers as being "just plain lazy. That's the truth."

As an opener, "Brand New Start" draws you in in a way that no cliched "big opening number" could. You can picture an ocean of lighters swaying in the darkness for "Loved." Weller sings with absolute assurance. Far from being "wooden" (as the pretentious review above charges), Weller is too cool for school. Not a single unnecessary note is to be found. "Clues" benefits from not having the "rocking flute solo," or the overwrought Ginger Baker tom tom fills of the studio version. It has much more mystery than the original. Who would have thought that "Out of the Sinking" could sound so good with half the chords of the original? Yet it does. It's muscular and cocky, a song with shoulders and a fist. As a performer myself I can tell you that people love this version without ever having heard it before.

"Above the Clouds" sounds like a Marvin Gaye song. The audience sing-along is a nice touch. This version of "You Do Something To Me" breaks my heart at the dissonant chord over the line "hanging on the wire." "Amongst Butterflies" actually sounds like children chasing funky butterflies in the summer. The funk is turned up on "Science"; how do you write a funk song about science? Yet the Modfather pulls it off.

"That's Entertainment" is a bitter but delicious little song, an indictment of stupidity, complacency and modern suburbia. "Wild Wood" is dead wood in my opinion, an overrated clunker. But if you want feel the pure joy of life and love captured in one three-minute masterpiece, it's "Headstart for Happiness." This may be the greatest song he has ever written. "Town Called Malice" rounds out the album.

It is an f___ing crime that this man is not more famous in America. It's no hyperbole for me to say that one of my great privileges in life is to be able to listen to this man's music. He is a rare example of talent that has not dried up. Compare him with Bob Dylan, who should have bowed out in 1974. You get the feeling that Weller's restless soul is moving on a trajectory well past the scope of a normal life. He won't live to see his best work. Days of Speed, indeed--he's moving fast toward something that's always just out of reach: commercial success in America, the bottom of the creative well--whatever it is, Godspeed Paul Weller. Oh, and the cover is very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Days of speed, 5 Mar 2013
This review is from: Days Of Speed (Audio CD)
Weller at his very best. Some of the old classics sit beautifully with more contemporary songs. A journey through much of what makes the man a genius with some marvelous live recordings. A must have for all fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Days Of Speed
Days Of Speed by Paul Weller (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews