Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a masterpiece
Don't know too much about The Artful Dodger. Just that they were part of a "two-step", "garage" Uk scene. When I first listened to tracks like "Re-rewind", "Outrageous" or "Twentyfourseven" I thought I had found a new, exciting dance genre to stick to and enjoy... I was really disappointed when I listened to other...
Published on 14 Jun. 2002 by Juan Evaristo Pintado Busto

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Scratched cd
Gd c.d shame it was scratched when I received it so some of the tunes skip.... Very poor quality and disappointed with the purchase
Published 22 months ago by Carl Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Artful Dodger, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possibly the best album that came out of the UK garage scene at that time - Every track is listenable.....Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good cd. Lots of blank tracks at the end, so have to go back to the beginning manually. Otherwise ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, 28 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This is one absolutely fantastic album! Garage/R & B at its best - without a doubt! Although several of the tracks have already been heard before via garage compilations and single releases, the other tracks still do the genre 'garage' justice. If you like your garage with an R & B tip then this is definitely for you!! It's an album you can listen to whatever mood you're in, the album covers every scope and its one that has to be rated TOP CLASS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best garage album, 1 April 2001
By A Customer
There is not one single track on this album that I don not like. Except for Woman Trouble which has been played way too much. Some critics have said this album is awful and it sounds more like r&b than garage. Well believe me it is all garage and the best garage. It has so many great people featuring on the album like Craig David, Robbie Craig and Lifford to name a few. The Artful Dodger prove that they are the number one group when it comes to 2-step.
Here is a quick run down of the tracks on the album. It kicks off with Think About Me which is so relaxing but it still makes you want to dance. Re Rewind, the all time classic. This is the track which launched Craig David's career. It is still my favourite. Then there is Outrageous, this track is so funky it will keep you dancing all night long. Please Don't Turn Me On followes with Lifford's amazing voice. The Lyrics on this track are great. Twentyfourseven has a real groovy tune that is relaxing and funky at the same time. Something is amazing with Lifford featuring once again. Moving Too Fast is the greatest 2-step track of all time. It says that it is a new version but it sounds exactly the same. R U Ready featuring MC Alistar has a sort of reggae feel to it. I Can't Give It Up is a track which will be played in clubs for a long long time. Woman Trouble features two of garages favourite artists Robbie Craig and Craig avid. I t has a great rythm but it has been played too much. What Ya gonna Do is pure garage there is no sign of R&B in it. We Should et Together is the fastest track on the album. It WILL make you dance. It is one of my favourites. Then there is the original of Woman Trouble which is the same as the first one except it is not as fast paced.
This album is the album of the year. If you love garage you will love this album. This album will put you in a great mood. Trust Me. This album deserves more than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTE PERFECTION, 11 Feb. 2001
By 
coogs@btinternet.com (CHESTERFIELD,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
I RECEIVED THIS ALBUM FOR CHRISTMAS AND CANNOT STOP PLAYING IT. THE ARTFUL DODGER ARE SO TALENTED AND JUST HAVE NOT HAD THE RECOGNITION THEY DESERVE. IT IS SHEER CLASS & EVERYONE I KNOW WHO HAS LISTENED TO THIS ALBUM AGREES WITH ME. MY FAVOURITE TRACKS ARE TWENTYFOURSEVEN, I CANT GIVE IT UP, WE SHOULD GET TOGETHER & OBVIOUSLY WOMAN TROUBLE. ROBBIE CRAIGS VOICE IS JUST AMAZING & THIS SHOULD BE A SERIOUS CONTENDER FOR THE BRIT AWARDS FOR SINGLE OF THE YEAR.ALL THE TRACKS FLOW INTO EACH OTHER & ARE EQUALLY AS STRONG IN THEIR OWN RIGHT & ARE ALL POTENTIAL SINGLES. ANYBODY INTO QUALITY MUSIC MUST BUY THIS AS IT WILL GIVE PLEASURE FOR A LONG TIME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Core of UK Garage!!, 2 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Artful Dodger practically invented Uk Garage when they hit it off with Re-rewind. It's one of the best albums i ever brought. Some of the songs are purely UK Garage, you couldn't get any better sounds and some are rnb mixed with the garage. They got some stunning vocalists like Craig David--if people don't call him good, then you're all crazy! And Lifford, Michelle Escoffery, Robbie Craig and Romina Johnson from the singles and some other talented singers such as Nadia and Lynn Eden. It's a good thing to listen to for any time of day. You really should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love love love :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T DARE DODGE THIS ONE, 22 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
THERE ARE LOTS OF ALBUMS OUT AT THE MOMENT, AND IF LIKE ME YOU'RE THINKING WHICH ONE SHOULD I BUY BECAUSE YOU CAN'T AFFORD THEM ALL THEN THIS IS THE ONE. THE TRACKS ON THIS ALBUM ARE WICKED. IT'S GARAGE WITH A SLICE OF POP ALL ROLLED UP INTO ONE ALBUM. IF YOU LIKE REWIND WITH CRAIG DAVID, WOMAN TROUBLE WITH CRAIG DAVID AND ROBBIE CRAIG OR EVEN THE NEW LIKELY SMASH HIT PLEASE DON'T TURN ME ON THEN YOU WON'T WANT TO MISS THIS ONE. I RECOMMEND THIS BECAUSE IT'S VERY GOOD AND YO'LL LOVE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT U WANNA HEAR, 18 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
THIS ALBUM IS SIMPLY OUTSTANDING !! I WOULDENT HAVE EXPECTED THIS ALBUM TO HAVE BEEN AS GOOD AS IT IS. I THINK EVERYONE SHOULD OWN A CHUNK OF IT. MY FAV IS NO 1 ITS RELAXING AND PUMPING AT THE SAME TIME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Garage music for 14-year olds, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
Their singles are a perfect summary of what you will get on the album - pop-friendly garage. This in truth is not even a fair summary, as at times this borders more on R'nB than true garage with all of the guest vocalists.
What you get here is tight and well produced - just don't kid yourself into thinking that what you have here is anything other than a well produced pop record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It'S All About The Stragglers
It'S All About The Stragglers by Artful Dodger U.K. (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews