Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect accompaniment to a remarkable series
You know you're about to watch something quite special when the score first kicks in and something inside you reacts instantaneously. I had the exact same feeling with "Gladiator" that I had with the first episode of "Band of Brothers" - expecting them to be both crash-bang-wallop action extravaganzas, but as soon as the music started, I realised that...
Published on 7 Nov 2001 by Pendaswyf

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
After re-watching Brazil and Baron Munchhausen for the umpteenth time, I decided to look up the composer because the soundtracks were so good. This CD was the only one I could find, so I bought it. Unfortunately, the themes other than Brazil did not do it for me and seemed repetitious and listless. Subsequent attempts at listening did not improve the quality for me. I...
Published 20 months ago by Brion O'Quigley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect accompaniment to a remarkable series, 7 Nov 2001
This review is from: Band of Brothers - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
You know you're about to watch something quite special when the score first kicks in and something inside you reacts instantaneously. I had the exact same feeling with "Gladiator" that I had with the first episode of "Band of Brothers" - expecting them to be both crash-bang-wallop action extravaganzas, but as soon as the music started, I realised that I was in for something quite different, and quite emotional. This score is fantastic, and again like the "Gladiator" score, perfectly captures the atmosphere of the film. This music really makes something happen inside of you emotionally, both raising your spirits and creating a sense of dread that match exactly the mood of the outstanding series that it accompanies. The standout tracks are the music for the title sequence, the 2 suites (tracks 2 and 3) and Winters on the Subway. Absolutely beautiful. It's one of those rare soundtracks that seem to have been made by the picture rather than for it. If you are as huge a fan of the series as I am, you could do a lot worse than buying this album. The title music is worth the money alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative, exciting, pathos. Music to get emotional about!, 2 Dec 2001
By A Customer
The music evoked another time, another place that those who were there can recall only in their memories and those who were not can but imagine. As Easy Company fought their way from Normandy to Germany the music was a wonderful way of reliving the episodes already screened and imagining the content of those still to air. Like many of the 'minmialist' sepia-like visual sequences, the music too had a simplicity that seemed to focus on just the essentials - nothing wasted, yet with a rich melange of mood. In my view one of the finest pieces of screen music for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmatched Accompaniment to a Majestic Series, 29 Aug 2003
This review is from: Band of Brothers - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Since purchasing this album, I've listened to virtually nothing else. The Main Theme alone is probably one of the most moving pieces of music written in the last fifty years; the two Suites are admirable and vastly 'listenable' alternative takes on the rest of the score, and the selection that makes up the rest of the album is superb. The string quartet is enough to make you cry, and the final track, featuring a choral accompaniment to the main theme is strangley uplifting. The TV series is the ultimate statement of there being no glory in war, only infinite sadness, and this album echoes and enhances that sentiment without becoming mawkish. I know of no other soundtrack that both matches its source perfectly, yet remains a masterpiece in its own right. Utterly, utterly wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional bliss!, 1 Jan 2002
By 
J. Kirkland "jennyk" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Superb from the first moment that you here the main theme you know this is something special!
Haunting, perfect and captures a past time superbly, soundtracks don't get much better than this!
To add to this the two Band Of Brothers Suite's are excellent, all the music reminds you of scene's from the series and its finale with Austria and the exceptional Band Of Brothers Requim put this in a class of its own.
Michael Kamen should be proud, this music is everything it should be and a little more. Buy and listen! For any person who likes classical film music this belongs right up there with John Williams! Superb and the emotional impact is huge. Thank you for producing such a wonderfull soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jan 2002
This Soundtrack recaptures the moving account of the famous Easy Company in the Band of Brothers series.It's not hard to feel very emotional when listening to the various tracks.Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Nov 2001
This review is from: Band of Brothers - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I never really liked Michael Kamen (although I love a great deal of other film composers), but Kamen has, with this Coplandesque masterpiece, won me over. This is a fine score, even if, like me, you never found the music particularly interesting in the actual series. On it's own, however, this album really shines. Highly recommended - even if just for the wonderful suites (especially the second one). You don't even have to be a particular fan of the series to enjoy this music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Band of Brothers music from the series, 10 Feb 2009
By 
R. A. Ballantyne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Band of Brothers - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This is a good compilation of the Michael Kamen score and creates memories of the series. Hearing the tracks in the absence of the video you can concentrate on the score and I heard significant parts that I missed when watching the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Kamen's Opus, 25 July 2001
By A Customer
A collection of some of the very best work of film scorer and composer Michael Kamen. Here he has hand chosen 12 pieces which he feels best describes him and his style. Each track is unique in its own right and contains a different listening experience each time. From the beauty and lush strings of 'Marian at the Waterfall' to the heavy powerfull guitars of 'Nuclear Train' this is one soundtrack compilation that deserves a look. The only reason this failed to recive 5 stars was the fact that most of my favourite cues from Kamen's films are missing such as music from the'Lethal Weapon' films, 'The Three Musketeers' and the exciting finale from 'Die Hard'. Still, a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fans of the Show, 5 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Band of Brothers - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
This rating is based on the fact that I'm a big fan of the series. The music is wonderfully evocative and is great for easy listening background music.
If the Theme music for the series moves you then this is for you especially if you like classical music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, superb, Michael Kamen sound track music. Best buy., 26 Jun 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Band of Brothers - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Audio CD)
The stirring and meditative backing music from a truly awesome series.
Aworthy dedication to the incredibly brave and couragious men of the
101st Airborne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews