Customer Reviews


7 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best dance release of the past 3 years.
I first heard the name James Holden in 1999, when I first heard Nick Warren drop Horizons in one of his sets,....somewhere in Europe, Amsterdam I think.....I was on holiday.
Anyway, everyone probably knows 'Horizons' by now, so lets get to the review. The mix just flows, Holden a.k.a 'Pixie-Trancer' prooves why he is cosidered by many to be the one to revitalise...
Published on 8 Oct. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
After the genius of the Balance 005 mix..and the reviews I read here I was really excited to get this. However, aside from a few top tunes at the end, this is a let down. I don't really know what to say other than it's boring. Get the new Sasha album instead.
Published on 27 Oct. 2008 by James O. Croft


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best dance release of the past 3 years., 8 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear of a Silver Planet (Audio CD)
I first heard the name James Holden in 1999, when I first heard Nick Warren drop Horizons in one of his sets,....somewhere in Europe, Amsterdam I think.....I was on holiday.
Anyway, everyone probably knows 'Horizons' by now, so lets get to the review. The mix just flows, Holden a.k.a 'Pixie-Trancer' prooves why he is cosidered by many to be the one to revitalise trance. This mix is suitable for any Club/Home stereo, all you have to do is turn it up loud, regardless of whether it sounds to dreamy for you. Superb buildig, track placing and mixing.... speaking of mixing, Diggers, eat your heart out!! This guy mixes like God.
Holden starts out a bit ambient..full of feeling and emotion, but later on the mix gets more brooding/darker. Towards the end, a more powerful, uplifting vibe kicks in. This mix also has the best climax I have ever heard. 'One for You' is the best track of autumn,2001 in my book. Holden also prooves the no one can mix his own tracks and key match like him, not Sasha, Diggers, Taylor...nobody.
This cd is light years ahead of anything Global Underground can put out. Take my advice, even if you don't like it the first time round, give it another listen, this mix is more intelligent than any other mix cd or artist album out there. My only complaint is that it's too short (only 1 disc).
P.S..the only other releases in the past 2 years that come close to the quality found in Fear of a Silver Planet are :
1.Way out West - Intensify (2001)
2.John Digweed - Bedrock Vol 1. (1999)
3.DJ Tiesto - In Search of Sunrise 1 & 2 (1999/2000)
But now that I come to think of it, even these honorable mentions seem pretty average compared to Holden's masterpiece. If I could give more than 5 stars, believe me, I would...Heck, I would even give James Holden Best Pop Grammy Brit award for Album of the Year if I could...hahaha.
Keep it coming, James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 16 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Of A Silver Planet: MIXED BY JAMES HOLDEN (Audio CD)
james holden has rewritten the dance music agenda. in this superb compilation, james' personal touch is ever present. drawing influence from all corners of modern music, the result is a mind-expanding journey into modern house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality deep house, 2 Jun. 2002
By 
Mr. T. Ahmed "tarrzan" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fear of a Silver Planet (Audio CD)
this is really a quality deep mix of what is classed i guess as progressive house. i like deep mixes but at the same time i dont like them to be too boring and just go so deep u loose yourself and fall asleep. james has managed to deliver a finely tuned balanced album. it starts off prety deep and slowly build and after the interludish track kaern things build up and well with his remix ofOne for You by Brancaccio and Asher things just drop big time!! great tune!! probably the best thing about this mix is that it has no limits. he has incorporated different genres together which maybe at first dont appear apparent but listen closer. his ambient mix of horizons has this deep dnb type sine bassline, heavy stuff!! anyone that liked max grahams transport will love this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 24 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Fear Of A Silver Planet: MIXED BY JAMES HOLDEN (Audio CD)
According to the inlay James Holden mixes it up with sometimes 4 tracks at a time showing some exeptional dj-skills and if this is true it would put him on par with the likes of Ritchie Hawtin, Ben Sims and other 3 turntable deejays. James however stays clear from any loop-based techno and dives into the deep with the most powerful type progressive house stompers and he did this at the height of the progressive revolution early this decennia.

This one is absolutely brilliant! As someone else before me mentioned here before already, he outclasses most of the Global Underground releases where most of the compilations are simple tune in - tune out exercises (with great tunes of course!!) and put a lot of the mainstream superstar deejays at shame who barely can hold their grounds with 2 turntables and whose highest deejay-skills are great taste in music and a bit of beat-matching. What James does here on this disk nowadays deejays only seem able to do with the use of ableton (Think Transitions 4 by Digweed or any of Sasha's last mix-cd's) and he does it with great, great class.

Compared to what he has done after (Balance 005 and at the controls) I personally like this one the best. Both other albums were great but I miss that underground warehouse feel in both of them, which I always seem to be looking for in deejay mixes. I want to be able to close my eyes and see lasers beaming and crowds cheering in ecstasy.

Bwz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Fear Of A Silver Planet: MIXED BY JAMES HOLDEN (Audio CD)
After the genius of the Balance 005 mix..and the reviews I read here I was really excited to get this. However, aside from a few top tunes at the end, this is a let down. I don't really know what to say other than it's boring. Get the new Sasha album instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 5 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear of a Silver Planet (Audio CD)
If you think James holdens Horizons is good (and if you dont, whats wrong with you??), then you are gonna LOVE this mix. James Holden is a genius, this mix is genius, what more can i say! Progressive house at its VERY best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go get it now!, 25 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fear Of A Silver Planet: MIXED BY JAMES HOLDEN (Audio CD)
If you dont have this you are missing out big time. Perfectly mixed with skill and care, the cd WORKS as a whole, you know?
Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fear Of A Silver Planet: MIXED BY JAMES HOLDEN
Fear Of A Silver Planet: MIXED BY JAMES HOLDEN by James Holden (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews