Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top film
Clockers is, in my opinion a gem of a film with a gritty and realistic storyline with very strong lead and supporting roles. Harvey is excellent as always, now all i need now is Mean Streets to make me even happier, hopefully it will be available fairly soon, without having to import. I never thought i would see this release on blu ray, but thankfully the makers decided...
Published 18 months ago by cmac

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars clockers
I found that this film was ok to watch but did not hold my attention too well as the story was a bit slow.
Published 16 months ago by caroleann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top film, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clockers is, in my opinion a gem of a film with a gritty and realistic storyline with very strong lead and supporting roles. Harvey is excellent as always, now all i need now is Mean Streets to make me even happier, hopefully it will be available fairly soon, without having to import. I never thought i would see this release on blu ray, but thankfully the makers decided to do it justice and transfer to blu ray, and they have done a fine job of putting to blu ray, and the audio quality is a vast improvement on the dvd release. As for those posters who give films one star because things did not arrive or do not work, 2 words, STOP IT !! It bugs the life out of me when they do that, take it up with amazon and keep your snivelling away from reviews, it reflects badly on the product, and you as a "reviewer"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Clockers [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
There are alot of good things to say about this film, in fact too many to list, but here are the points that come to mind. The plot of the film is very realistic, portraying aspects of street life in the ghetto that few other films have dared to show in the same level of detail, and even fewer have succeeded. The film actually works better as a drama and uses the flexability of the 18 certificate very effectively to shock and emphasize points that are made without going over the top, which is how many 18s become so bad that they are more like comedies. It has many scenes that will bring out a range of emotions, and some very wise words spoken by certain characters. The acting is amazing and it really helps make the whole film extremely lifelike, along with very skillful camera work which adds to the effect, for example if you see this film then watch how they first show the train journey out of town (you'll know what i mean when you see it). If you give this film a chance, it will really get you thinking about just how hard it is out there, and maybe it will help you understand why they do some of the things they do. I would recommend this film to anyone, especially if you like gangster style movies or tupac's films. You will also appreciate this if you can really "get into" a film and follow its plot well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars clockers, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found that this film was ok to watch but did not hold my attention too well as the story was a bit slow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brothers killin' other brothers ain't no big thing. Blasé, blasé., 14 July 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Clockers [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Clockers is directed by Spike Lee who also co-adapts the screenplay with Richard Price from Price's own novel of the same name. It stars Harvey Keitel, John Turturro, Delroy Lindo, Mekhi Phifer, Isaiah Washington, Keith David, Peewee Love and Regina Taylor. Music is scored by Terence Blanchard and cinematography by Malik Hassan Sayeed.

Young drug pushers in the projects of Brooklyn (Clockers) are caught between loyalty to their drug boss and the detectives out to stop them.

It's not as incendiary as one might expect of a Spike Lee joint, but the director's concerns and astute knack for story telling are very prominent features. It was originally going to be a Martin Scorses film, but he chose to make Casino instead, he does, however, get a producing credit and you can see in the material why Scorsese was interested in directing. Pic is basically a take on urban drug dealing in the Brooklyn projects and the impact said dealing has on anyone who comes into contact with it. From the downward spiral of life for young men earning their pay by illegal means, to fretful mothers desperately trying to keep pe-teen kiddies from joining the ranks of what they think are cool operators, the morality of the play is forcibly rammed home by Lee. Unfortunately this comes at a cost to the white cop characters, who are too thinly drawn to offer up a law and order counter point to the illegal activity involving drugs and murder, they serve only as the "man", and damn the "man" at that. The Rocco Klein (Keitel) of the book is not evident here, sadly, while Torturo may as well not be in it! Cast performances are well in tune with the material, with Lindo as the "black godfather" turning in a scary one, and Lee's camera-work, coupled with Sayeed's moody photography, has a nifty grasp of realism. Soundtracking is soulful and pleasant.

A mixed bag for sure, but it's a story that needs to be told. Bleak and brutal at times, but still offering hope, it's middle tier Spike Lee that always remains intriguing. Even if it at times feels like he was bored telling yet another "black on black is bad" message movie. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Spike Lee, 18 July 2010
By 
[VHS]

With Scorsese behind the scenes and Lee behind the camera, and based upon an important novel, you know something's gonna happen: despite being about 12 minutes too long, and featuring a sometimes tentative Keitel - a great character actor who at times can show his limitations, we have a immensely satisfying...and disturbing film.

Newcomer Mekhi Phifer absolutely holds his own with all the veterans, and (for the time, new veteran) Michael Imperioli of "Goodfellas" and "The Sopranos". He has some memorable "slice of life" encounters with his Boss, played in Oscar-worthy fashion by Delroy Lindo.

Film shows that in 1995, alot of the same problems plague the Black community and create despair and irrational choices. The by-the-book Police Department shows up on the hustling scene and maks their arrests; sometimes they provide counsel.

Rodney, the now established "Clocker", comes from a struggling and supportive home; his Brother manages *two* jobs, both legitimate. But will the impossible conditions bring him down, too?

A first-class production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie, very underrated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning, 18 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Clockers [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
After watching this film it is clear to say that Spike Lee is thee creative genius. His production skills have been exploited superbly to create one of the greatest under achieving films ever. The plot is fantastic and with the level of acting rivalling all other aspects of the film there is no way that anyone with an interest in gang life would not gain something from viewing this film. Without a doubt a great piece of cinematography worth every penny paid for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner!, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Lowe (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clockers [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I was held spellbound for the duration of the showing. Harvey at his best, the plot had me guessing till the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars un usuable, 14 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was a waste of money the DVD does not play on UKClockers [DVD] [1996] DVD players or PS3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clockers [DVD] [1996]
Clockers [DVD] [1996] by Spike Lee (DVD - 2005)
£4.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews