Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush find their best since sixteen stone....
This Bush album is irresistible. I could quote more euphemisms, however it would be a excercise in futility. The only way to see what I mean is to buy it, and listen to it. Golden State goes where no Bush album has been since thier first, Sixteen Stone.
I found bush, as many, through Razorblade Suitcase following the release of 'swallowed'. I thought this was good...
Published on 26 Oct. 2001 by Simpo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good songs ruined by production
I echo the thoughts of the previous poster who said that this album suffered from too much pro tools. So many interesting guitar riffs and sounds appear to get lost and the whole album sounds flat. Only The People That We Love and Inflatble sound like they are the best they could be. While the likes of Superman, Fugitive and the Land of the Living have all the features...
Published on 13 April 2011 by choly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush find their best since sixteen stone...., 26 Oct. 2001
By 
Simpo "the_simon" (The End of the World) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Golden State (Audio Cassette)
This Bush album is irresistible. I could quote more euphemisms, however it would be a excercise in futility. The only way to see what I mean is to buy it, and listen to it. Golden State goes where no Bush album has been since thier first, Sixteen Stone.
I found bush, as many, through Razorblade Suitcase following the release of 'swallowed'. I thought this was good until I bought Sixteen Stone. Golden State is not as dark or contrived as Razorblade Suitcase or The Science of Things. It emits energy from start to finish, and flows from one energy charged track to the next. Track names are irrelevant, you just have to listen to the twelve songs as if they are one. There are simply no dull moments to be found here. The songs feel relaxed, unlike some previous, that sounded like Bush were trying to write, rather than create. Go and buy this CD. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Driven Music..., 15 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best i own.....The Album consists of some great Rock tracks such as "Solutions", "People that we Love", "Reasons" etc whilst also comprising with Gavin Rossdales ever growing sensitive song writing side in songs such as "Inflatable" and "out of this world".
The album also has a great closing and very catchy song in "Float". It's one of the best Rock albums of the year and if you're into great riffs, catchy songs and songs that will touch you, then Golden State is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning album, 21 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
this album is supurb. no doubt about it. ranks alongside the previous 3 albums. and by the way, the science of things is just as strong as sixteen stone, or even better than sixteen stone. u need to listen to it deeply to get the full effect of the album - its a work of art. anyway, golden state mixes all the good parts from the previous 3 albums to come up with the best album realeased this year by any artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The climax of Bush, 5 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. R. Howe (South Shields, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
'Golden State' is what every Bush fan wanted and nobody truly expected from this band. A great album which is undeniable, unrelenting, uncompromising in every way. Everyone who saw the huge potential on their debut LP 'Sixteen Stone' and hung around for the Nirvana carbon copy 'Razorblade Suitase' will be thrilled when they hear this album from start to finish.

The truth is, while Bush were a decent rock band with some incredibly catchy tracks and great sombre epics, it was only once Bush shook off their Nirvana fixation on 1998's 'The Science Of Things' and began experimenting on finding a sound that was truly their own did they realize their great potential as a rock band. 'Golden State' is the climax to their career. They could not top it, they never even tried.

Gavin Rossdale finally lets his voice go all out here, when listening to 'Land of the Living' you'll be forgiven for whispering a quiet little 'yesss' to yourself as he lays into a massive vocal performance which, in previous years, he would have held back from to suit the band's more reluctant mood. You can almost feel the relief as the frontman finally lets out that pent up anger. The result is quite spectacular. Bush are fortunate that both their ability to write rockers AND Rossdale's canny ability to pen a fantastic slower number have peaked simultaneously here resulting in this incredibly solid, zero filler LP. 'Inflatabe' is an overnight classic, 'Out Of This World' sees Bush finally master the slow burning buildup strategy they had tried on several earlier albums, and album closer 'Float' was the perfect way to end an astonishing set.

Atlantic Records failed to promote this LP in any way, such was the low expectation going into this production form the record company themselves. What we're left with is a criminally under-rated, time-withstanding, massively strong rock LP which captures Bush at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back and in Great State, 28 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden State (Audio Cassette)
You may have seen this album making minor features in the music mags during the last few weeks.All of the magazines have classed this as the best Bush album so far, but have given it ratings on the same level as the ladt ones were given!So the anti-Bush feeling in the music papers is still there.
This album is simply superb, not only the best Bush album so far but is it THE best album this year by a long way.From the opening song "Solutions" we can see Bush have created something special with this album.All the way the album is packed with classic rock songs, heavier than any of the previous Bush offerings but also more commercial.
The album does not contain a weak spot, and it is hard to pick out the great tracks and thus disrespecting the others.The second track, "Headful of Ghosts" is one of the outstanding parts of this album and is sure to be a future single release.As the album plays on tracks such as "Hurricane", "Land of the Living and the punk orientated ,"My engine is with you" do tend to amaze its audience.Another great track which deserves a mention is "Reasons" which is sure to sound impressive live.The slow songs on this album are limited to two which are the emotional "Inflatable" and the even better "Out of this World".You simply have to buy this album.
6 STARS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as sixteen stone, 19 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
'Golden State' is a magnificent return to form. 'Sixteen stone' was, and still is an amazing album which would be hard to top, but this new album by Bush is nearly as good. Razorblsde Suitcase and Science of things were a bit of a let down after 'Sixteen Stone' but there is not a song on this new album 'Golden State' that I don't like. The first six tracks are much like their old style, with simple but powerful guitar chords, combined with a few excellent riffs. 'Headful of Ghosts' and 'Hurricane' are my favourites. 'Inflatable' is a more mellow new style that works extremely well, mainly down to Gavin Rossdale's voice.
If your a Bush fan, this album is a must. If your not a Bush fan, you will be after listening to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush go grunge again, it works!, 4 Jan. 2003
By 
Insulin Junkie (Vienna , Austria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
After albums like "The Science of things" and the mix-album "Deconstructed", which in my oppinion explored the softer side of Bush, this album shines with heavy grunge tunes and base guitars, giving it an exiting new texture. This album also contains plenty of the catchy tunes that we so love from Bush. All the songs are great but some really stand out - from "Superman", a powerful song with a sing-along refrain to "Hurricane", a more agressive grunge song with a harder refrain to "Headful of Ghosts" in which we have the pleasure of hearing the traditional Bush-tune guitar mixed in among the grungy base guitars. The album is fantastic, it's a must-buy for all Bush or grunge fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the five stars says it all, 4 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
an amazing album. from start to end this album gives you bush at their best. awesome guitars, and great vocals from gavin as ever. this album really shines and hasnt come out of my CD player since i got it. "Hurricane", "Solutions" and "My Engine Is With You" are all must hears with the rest of the album supporting them to their full potential. Not only does this album contain real raw bush with "People that we love" and "Reasons" but it also carries quality mellow delights such as "Inflatable". A must have for all. Well worthy of five stars, and continuing Bush's run of awesome albums. Be proud to own this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooops...i just fell on my album!?, 5 May 2003
By 
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
After the guitar in solutions i was overwhelmed. The sheer sonic landscape of sounds coming from my CD player when listening to this is amazing. I have to admit i love melodic songs and bush have shown themselves to be triumphant. 'Inflatble',''Out Of This World'and'Superman' are just superb!! If you play this CD just after 'The Science Of Things' Or 'Razorblade Suitcase' You will agree they have changed so dramatically. 'The Science Of Things' Had 'Warm Machine','The Chemicals Between Us','40 Miles From The Sun' and the eye watering 'Letting the cables Sleep' Razorblade suitcase also has 'Cold Contagious','Swallowed',etc. The first thing you should do is buy the five official albums - Sixteen Stone, Razorblade Suitcase, Deconstructed (Album of mixes of the two previous albums and one new release ' In A Lonely Place'), The Science Of Things And Of Coarse GOLDEN STATE! BUSH RULES (SO DOES FEEDER and TOPLOADER and SYSTEM OF A DOWN)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOLDEN STATE_-_BUSH *****, 27 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Golden State (Audio CD)
5 Starts maximum, as a life long fan of bush i've always liked they're old "heavy" rockness ^__^. But as time goes by i have grown rather fond of their softer side. Razoroblade Suitcase had Distant Voices, 6teen Stoned had Glycerine, Science of Things had the ultimate tearjerker Letting The Cables Sleep and now Golden State takes the best of the softer/experimental side of Bush and brought it to it's best. A Must buy, i recommend it to all Feeder, Muse and Smashing Pumpkins type fans. BUSH RULE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden State
Golden State by Bush (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews