Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 122 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sounds from forgotten group
At last a CD featuring all the Love Affair hits plus the best of the LP tracks.
Really a mod group along the lines of the Small Faces, the Love Affair achieved success with highly produced pop tunes often featuring vocalist Steve Ellis only. This was a departure from their original sound and led to difficulties for the group.
All the great late 60's hits are...
Published on 27 Feb. 2002 by Gary H

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Good point
The only redeeming factor of this collection is Steve Ellis's voice. The rest is the worst sixties pap imaginable. Pub quiz question: how many of those who made up "Love Affair" actually played on their records?
Published on 3 May 2012 by M. A. Coverson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

120 of 122 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sounds from forgotten group, 27 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
At last a CD featuring all the Love Affair hits plus the best of the LP tracks.
Really a mod group along the lines of the Small Faces, the Love Affair achieved success with highly produced pop tunes often featuring vocalist Steve Ellis only. This was a departure from their original sound and led to difficulties for the group.
All the great late 60's hits are here -"Everlasting Love", "Rainbow Valley", "Day Without Love", "Bringing On Back The Good Times" "One Road" and "Baby I Know". They still sound FAB. This cd also features some worthwhile LP tracks by the original group like "Hush" and "Handbags and Gladrags" together with a few recent recordings by frontman Steve Ellis. He was still a teenager at the time of the big hits and had an incredible soulful voice, easily the equal of Marriott and Daltrey.
One negative aspect - sleeve notes are very poor. No summary of the group's career or Steve Ellis' ups and downs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Love Affair That Lasts, 16 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
I have often mentioned that the appeal of the songs that defined the 60s was in the main down to the energy and melodic structure of the tunes. Melody is something that ran through every artist from the Beatles to Presley, Marmalade to Tom Jones, Hollies to Dusty and so on.

The Love Affair was no exception and driven by a classic pop/rock voice in Steve Ellis, they had a period of success that still puts its marker down to this very day.

The 4 stand-out hits on this album are the massive selling "Everlasting Love" plus "Bringing on back the Good Times", "Rainbow Valley" and "A Day Without Love". All are as infectiously catchy today as they were then.

In the 60s, arrangers and producers had a knack of dovetailing guitars and drums with orchestration, which filled a song and made the sound so rich and powerful. All singles of this time and genre were precious 3 minute classics, not album tracks that promoted the release of their latest LP. Time and thought went into making them something special, hence the test of time for material such as this.

All 4 of these tracks are perfectly interpreted through Ellis' voice. The rest of the material is also good with a mixture of classic standards such as "Handbags and Gladrags" and "First Cut is the Deepest". I give it 4 stars because it just lacks enough tracks at the very top end of the quality scale to merit 5.

It's a shame that Ellis didn't have a longer extended career at the top. His anthology CD is superb, but he never had the lasting recognition that his talent deserved. However, when he and Love Affair did have their day in the sun, they turned out wonderful stuff.

This is an excellent disc to have on your shelf. Next time the nostalgic urge takes over, put it in the player and you'll get the warm glow of instant 1960s sunshine radiating through your speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantabulous!, 30 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
The Love Affair epitomise everything that is great about British pop music.Accordingly,this Cd collection epitomises everything that is great about the Love Affair.Essentially,they represented everything that was great about the 60s.Pure genius from start to finish,you will not be disappointed with this fine package.Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60s music at it's best., 29 July 2008
By 
P. M. Dome "Moogsterman" (sheffield uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
What a fantastic album, from, one of Englands most talented, yet less well known bands,although their music is very familiar, being used in Tv ads, and films, such as, Bridget Jone's Diary ect. that most people will recognise.

A London based band, formed in 1966, and headed by talented singer, Steve Ellis, Their music ranges from pop, to pure, Motown, Northern soul,type sounds, to, R& B, and psychedelic sounds of the late 60s.

The album is made up of,their biggest hits, Bringing on back the good times, and their No1 hit in the uk, Everlasting Love.probably their best known hit. The song writing skills of this band, are simply superb. The arrangements, and orchestration stunning. I love the Brass. The latter two songs mentioned, are sung from the heart, and get to your emotions, very uplifting,happy, and great to dance too.
This album also contains, other classic hits, and tracks, from the bands albums. The song Hush being used on at least two, recent uk TV ads. Rainbow valley, A day without you,Baby I Know,and many other great songs, feature the bands styles, and versatility.
At least two songs, have been coverd by, Rod Stewart. The first cut is the deepest, and, Handbags and gladrags. the latter being coverd by the Stereophonics.

This album is somewhat of a rarity, I love every track. It seems to cover their best work, Why this band never had the acclaim of other bands such as, The Kinks, The small faces,of that decade today, Ill never know.
as a songwriter myself, they will always be something to aspire to, but,never equaled. For this is how great music sounds like, sadly many bands today, simply don't have the talent, or originality , although there are exceptions. music lacking in haert and soul. as one track on the album entitled, Gone are the songs of yesterday clearly suggests.

Pitty no sleeve notes about the band as stated by fellow reviewers state, but this is a real gem of a album, with, pure classic 60s indulgence of sheer class, and great to dance too.

Best few quid iv'e ever spent, a treat to the ears, a joy to the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this knocked me out, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
The voice of Steve Ellis is laid down hear for all to hear and how fortunate we all are. I can't stop playing this C.D. at full volume in my car (sad I know). Rainbow Valley is my favorite and as a pro singer when I am asked for an encore (which is every gig I might add) I always deliver Everlasting Love and introduce it with the words from the inner sleeve of this album about how young Steve Ellis was when he recorded this fantastic song. To anyone who is not sure about the album ....buy it because it will be the best few pounds you will have ever spent on music......guaranteed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A GREAT COLLECTABLE, REMEMBER THE SONGS. REMEMBER THE GROUP', 16 Oct. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
As an earlier reviewer rightly pointed out many groups such as this lay forgotten by many,
leaving you actually perhaps remembering a song, and struggling perhaps to remember
who sang it.
The group had a string of hits during the latter part of the 60's they actually formed in 1966
performing just five short years.
Funnily enough i myself was quite hooked with their song 'One Road' which reached number
'16' in 1969 - when i started my mission some years later to cover my vinyl collection this
particular song had me foxed for some time, i didn't own the vinyl, just couldn't remember
who'd sung it, eventually of course i found it.....just an example in truth of how hard it can
sometimes be to find that elusive track.
This album a ideal item to own if you remember the songs, among their hits other than that
listed above......'Bringing On Back The Good Times; (Chart '9' 1969) 'Everlasting Love'
(Chart '1' 1968) 'A Day Without Love' (Chart '6' 1968) and 'Rainbow Valley' (Chart '5' 1968)
Complete Play-List -
01.Bringing On Back The Good Times
02. Hush
03. Everlasting Love
04. A Day Without Love
05. Handbags & Gladrags
06. Rainbow Valley
07. So Sorry
08. The First Cut Is The Deepest
09.Let Me Know
10.Gone Are The Songs Of Yesterday
11.Baby I Know
12.60 Minutes
13.Someone Like Me
14.One Road
15.I'm Happy
16.Tobacco Road
17.Jolly Jaunt
18.Little One
19.Step Inside
There hits all included along with some of teir album tracks and 'B-Sides' collecting groups such
as this is all about the memories you have of their time and their music.
Listening to the album again, as i'm doing right now, simply reminds me that they were a quality
outfit, however as was the case earlier in the 60's - competition for those elusive chart slots were
indeed fierce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIMELESS MUSIC!, 23 July 2009
By 
Mr. A. Craddock "T.C." (Middleton Manchester u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
In late 1967 Steve Ellis & co released Everlasting Love which was a soul track by Robert Knight who would later find success with Love On A Mountain Top. However, Steve Ellis`s Love Affair completely blitzed the original and ended up not only with a uk chart-topper but one of the most enduring songs of all time . Still played regularly today on oldies radio. Their form didn`t end there though because a string of hits followed Rainbow Valley, A Day Without Love, One Road & Bringing On Back The Good Times and some fine covers of popular sixties songs Handbags & Gladrags, First Cut Is The Deepest and Joe South`s Hush. After Love Affair split Steve Ellis still continued not with any great chart appearances but still went on to make great music. Check out Ellis with El Doomo [ circa 1973] To this day he still has a cult following. Buy this album it is fantastic value with some great songs .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British pop-rock group of the late sixties, 7 Feb. 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
The Love Affair were a British pop group of the late sixties who had one chart-topper and several other big hits. Steve Ellis was the lead singer and was sometimes the only member of the group involved in their recordings, with the regular musicians being replaced by session musicians.
Everlasting love was an American hit for Robert Knight. I haven't heard his version but I get the impression that the Love Affair version is superior, based on the opinions of those who have heard both versions. Certainly, it is difficult to imagine how the Love Affair version, with its great horn arrangement, could be improved upon. The British public clearly loved it, as it went all the way to number one in the UK charts and it has since become a staple of sixties compilations. It is easy to think of them as a one-hit wonder because, while Everlasting love is frequently re-issued, their other hits are not, except on the group's own albums. Actually, they had three other UK top ten hits - Rainbow valley, A day without love and Bringing on back the good times - and a top twenty hit, One road.
While not an essential addition to a collection of sixties pop-rock music, the Love Affair made a few great records and deserve to be remembered for more than just Everlasting love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Affair CD, 18 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Jennifer L. Saunders "cat lover" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
What an instant service. Received CD within the week and packaging and CD were in excellent condition. I shall certainly be using your services again in the future. Keep up the good work. Kind regards

J L Saunders (Mrs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Affair...Certainly Good Times!, 4 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times (Audio CD)
What can I say about this album, it was worth the money just for "Everlasting Love" alone. Great nostalgia, great memories of the '60's, riding my Lambretta. The introduction on "Everlasting Love" still makes the hairs on my neck stand out, if there was ever a better intro', I've yet to hear it. Of course there were the other classics too on this album.

What a voice Steve Ellis still has, totally underrated at the time, with the right media publicity, could have been another Steve Marriot. I'm really pleased that you are still performing Steve.

Happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times
Love Affair - The Best of the Good Times by Love Affair (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews