Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Selection
Andre Rieu is just someone I can listen to for ages. Some people claim that he has dumbed down classical music to a certain extent, but I would disagree, he plays what people love listening to and if he 'pops' some tunes, then so what? He isn't the first.

I must admit that I got this album today whilst out shopping, it was looking at me and I just couldn't...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by M. Dowden

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars unsatisfactory
only plays to 12, then seems to speed up and sound all garbled..Not an enjoyable Christmas present for my wife.
Published 7 months ago by W.A.Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Selection, 4 Aug 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
Andre Rieu is just someone I can listen to for ages. Some people claim that he has dumbed down classical music to a certain extent, but I would disagree, he plays what people love listening to and if he 'pops' some tunes, then so what? He isn't the first.

I must admit that I got this album today whilst out shopping, it was looking at me and I just couldn't resist. This is a great selection to listen to which amply lives up to the cd title of Dreaming. Most of what I have of Andre Rieu's is more livelier with waltzs, etc. Here we are given something a little more laid back with tunes that you will instantly recognise. This is pure easy listening, an ideal accompaniment to putting your feet up with a cuppa and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting violin collection, 7 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
A gorgeous selection of melodies, beautifully performed. Simply sublime. The Romance of the Gadfly is a favourite of ours, and is hard to find in CD compilations - this version by Andre Rieu is just fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream along with Andre Rieu, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
Companion to the beautiful DVD 'Dreaming', this CD has a delightful programme including 'Air' by Andre and Philipe Rieu, Bach's Orchestral Suite No 3 in D Major "Air on a G String", Youth 'Romance' from 'The Gadfly Suite' and Salut d'Amor. As Andre says, "Music is a marvellous thing, it lets us escape our day to day existence and spend some time in another world." Just right softly playing for a quiet afternoon by the fire 'letting go' or when contemplating the garden in the evening. Salut d'Amor was a favourite of my parents who often held 'musical evenings' with their musician and music loving friends, some of whom played in the local musical society productions. Lovely memories to have and relive through Andre Rieu.

If you like this you might also like the CD 'Baroque Adagios' from the DECCA 'Adagio' series. It has over 2 and a half hours of 'sublime' music including such favourites as Pachabel's Canon, Vivaldi's Concerto No 4 and Albinoni's Adagio all played by distinguished musicians. The series includes 'Movie Adagios', 'Romantic Adagios' and the marvelous 'Christmas Adagios'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To listen is to be thoroughly spoiled, 12 May 2010
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
Andre Rieu with this CD offers the finest antidote to feeling sad that I have found thus far! The glorious, sweeping melodies lift one to a happier place and I. personally, cannot play these tracks without singing (and, I must confess) dancing along! So highly recommended for the sheer joy of the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rieu is fab : keep on dreaming, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
I just can't get enough of this man. This "DREAMING" cd is one of many recordings of his i have. It's excellent - just as all Andre Rieu cds are. This man can't go wrong - just check how many weeks he's been at no. 1 in the Classic FM charts : 26 WEEKS!!!!!!! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Like it, very much, 23 Aug 2010
By 
M. Bizley (Fareham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
Andre Rieu has taken over where James Last and Raymond Lefevre fell off, his live shows are excellent, this CD is a must for a relaxing hour to snooze off to as is most of his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories Are Made Of This!, 6 April 2011
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
Sent as a birthday present to a very old and dear friend who said it brought back many happy memories and was one of the best gifts she had received.
The tunes played by Andre Rieu and his orchestra are varied and a delight to hear, whatever mood you are in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming, 22 Jan 2011
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
Andre Rieu has the ability to select the right tunes to go with his style of playing. It is the perfect recording
to play for a relaxing hour or so and perhaps dream?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu cd Dreaming, 15 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
Typical Andre Rieu - beautiful music which is certainly dreamy. Everything he does is exquisite - I could listen to this all day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andre Rieu, 20 Jun 2010
This review is from: Dreaming (Audio CD)
This is a truly a wonderful cd and i would recomend it to other music lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreaming
Dreaming by André Rieu (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews