Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 22 July 2003
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic, I bought this album on a whim!! What a great whim!!!! I bought the album about 2 months ago, thought it sounded good then, now i just can not stop listening to it.
First song that caught my attention was "Mitch", it then moved on to be "10 Lessons in love", now 2 months down the line it is "Poems".
The guy is a genius!! If you like Beautiful South you'll like this album, if you don't like Beautiful South- you will absolutely love this album.
Everyone of my friends that has heard my copy of this album has bought their own copy.
Can't believe this didn't get into the charts- "what do the charts really stand for now anyway?" Would be a good question to ask here, i reckon!!
You really should by this album it's brill!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heaton - more of the same please!, 16 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
with the beautiful south paul heaton wrote some of the finest pop songs britain has ever seen and now with joe strummer's backing band he is doing it all over again the perfect example is mitch: a country-esque story of a bachelor heaton has side-stepped a mid-life crisis and made a smashing album lew kirk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm afraid the man is God......, 2 Nov 2001
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
Let's be fair, no one is doing anything like Yorkshire's finest since Weller lost the plot after "Stanley Road". The supposed lyrical geniuses like Mr Gallagher and Mr Albarn can't measure up to a man whose managed to maintain the quality with the width, simply by staying on the outside of London town and the huge mansions. He hasn't been without his upsets, "Painting it Red" was one, but with this album PDH is back to his jaunty and cynical best. Pointing out your experiences and twisting them to a beat that has you humming the tune is this his forte. If you like your music to reflect your feelings at any given moment in your life and make you think while your tapping along then BUY THIS ALBUM! It deserves a lot better than it has got in terms of publicity. My own gauge is the amount of copies flying around Yorkshire right now.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A platform for unemployed views in a perfect pop envelope, 17 Sep 2001
By 
eoinmeade@talk21.com (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
It's a pity "Fat Chance" had such a low key release because it contains some of Paul Heaton's best songs since The Beautiful South's "Miaow". Lyrically, Heaton continues to mix personal with political, commenting on everything from idealised relationships ("Perfect Couple") to media moguls and their narrow news agendas ("Mans World")and salvation seekers ("If"). As usual, though, his best moments are introspective. "Poems" is a perfectly penned unpicking of the writer's perceived deficiencies in both love and art. A song with the most gentle and understated momentum, it is beautifully aided by Zoe Johnston's comely vocals. The sounds are more playful than a lot of TBS's recent output, especially on "Mans World" and "Barstool" where Heaton mixes Buggles and Air to give himself an altogther more chilled vocal presence. Special mention for Sharon Eusebe, who's tennis match duet with Heaton on "Perfect Couple" begs to be witnessed live - complete with horn section and the wicked line, "when that bald guy sang You Sexy Thing, both of our pants just dropped". Heaton continues to do great work on the enigmatic margins of the pop world and consistently eeks bright and bouncy hope from the mundane, muttering and melancholy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking album from Mr Heaton, 18 May 2011
I am a big fan of Paul Heaton and rate him as a fine wordsmith and singer.
This album, discovered by accident is fab. The tunes are quirky and upbeat and the
lyrics are great too. "Mitch" is my favourite song so far, can't stop singing it but there are other tracks which are equally as good.
If you are a fan - buy this album today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Jammy Dodger, 25 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
As the brains behind the Beautiful South, PdH was always going to have a hard act to follow in his solo incarnation, and comparisons with TBS are inevitable. Of course, lyrically he is almost peerless, to my mind the lyrics are paramount when listening to a Paul Heaton record, as the jaunitiness of the tune can often decieve. I would place him in the category of (an altogether happier) Nick Cave, or Ian Curtis. The problem is that he does not dress his lyrics up in metaphor, they are blunt, yet cut like knives, and that can cause some critics to miss the subtext of many songs.
This album sounds like The South crossed with The Housemartins in places, noteably 'Man, Woman, Boy, Girl', which is also a prefect example of the lyrical bluntness ('Every man in this world thinks hes got a big nose / or a slightly under average sized knob'). The album has sold poorly, due to, I believe, several things. Firstly there was more pre-release publicity for the last Freddy Kruger movie than this album, and it was probably easier to get hold of a signed first edition of the Bible than 'Fat Chance'. Also 'Mitch' was not the best song on the album, that is definitely 'Poems', and the vocal on the single was probably not distinctively Heatonesque to many radio listeners.
The sound of the album does confuse, as there is nothing here that could not be done on a TBS record. When I heard Heaton was doing a solo album, I thought it would be mining his soul influences, not going down the pop lane again. That said, if this were a South album, it would rank as one of the best, up with 'Miaow' and 'Painting it Red'. Heaton deserves all the credit and praise in the world for this album, as far as biscuits go, this is a Jammy Dodger, far more tasty and filling than the boring old Digestive Creams in the charts at the moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Sep 2013
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
Fat Chance was an album i came across by pure accident, i didnt even know Paul Heaton had done it, until i heard it. This is right up there with his best ever music in my view.

I listen to it nearly as much as TBS never getting bored with it. Excellent and a 10 out of 10 recommendation from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can never tire of Paul Heaton, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
Having seen Paul Heaton support Squeeze in Leeds recently, I had a little look around for some of his solo stuff. I bought the Housemartins first album on vinyl as soon as it was released and have been a fan of everything Paul Heaton has done since. This is a great album, as always catchy tunes, powerful lyrics and delivered as only Paul Heaton can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fat chance, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
i came across this album by accident. Being a Beautiful south fan i have grown to love Paul Heatons voice.
This album i believe is a good mix of traditional tone you woud expect with a typical Beautiful Souh song and then a few slightly diffrent . This is a great little find
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fat Chance (Audio CD)
Good glad I purchased it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fat Chance
Fat Chance by Paul Heaton (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews