Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2002
This is, hands down, one of the best albums in my collection. That my not sound much at first, but my collection also contains such classics as Dr Dre's 2001 and The Chronic and 2pac's All Eyez on Me. The reason why this album is so good is because Ja Rule manages to contrast his harsh, scratchy voice with soulful, tuneful melodies and fantastic singers to match, resulting in the perfect mix. Songs that stand out on the album are 'Always On Time' with Ashanti, 'Dial M for Murder', and of course, the incredibel 'Im Real' with J.Lo. This album should be in any hip hop fan's collection, as it is one of the best albums of 2001.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2003
After buying The Last Temptation which was average I got this CD which is simply brilliant and a must have for all hip hop fans. The Best tracks are "Worldwide Gangstas" which features Irv Gotti and many others from Murder Inc, "Never Again", "So much pain" which features a great bit at the end by 2pac and the last track "Pain is Love" which shows a slightly softer, emotional side to Ja. Aslo in with the album are the more famous tracks like "Livin it up", "Im real" and "Always on time". The skits are pretty bad, but apart from that a great album!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2003
On this rather unusual album, Ja has successfully found his originality. His raspy voice is very uncommon and can become slightly irritating after a while, but other than that, I thought that it wasn't a bad album, but there was room for improvement. Unfortunately, I found that there was too much unnecessary vulgar language. I mean, yes you're allowed to express your personal feelings in your songs, but I am sure you can find many other more useful words to replace these profanities. However, I do have quite a few favourite tunes on this album, which include LIVIN' IT UP, LOST LITTLE GIRL and ALWAYS ON TIME.
Ja Rules' collaboration with Jennifer Lopez and have produced some really cool remixes. 'I'M REAL' remix was the first of many and I love this song. I'm not a real fan of Jennifer Lopez but since she has started working with Ja I have paid more attention to her work. She's not an exceptional singer and she hasn't got a special voice, but put Ja Rule and J.Lo together and you can expect something special. If you are a real Rap lover, I think that this is the perfect album for you. But I advise that you take heed of the warning on the front of the CD when it says 'explicit content'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2002
His first album ('Rule 3:36') was brilliant, but never got the respect (and sales figures) it deserved. The singles were all amazing, but never got anywhere. Then came along Jennifer Lopez, and his part on her latest single 'I'm Real' launched into Europe. Although I don't think he needed to break into the UK by riding on the success of a diva-type actress, he's done it, and this is the outcome. Well worth any amount of money, 'Pain Is Love' is a great album - one of the best rap/r&b crossovers ever. The catchy 'Always On Time' is a bit reminscent of some of the tracks on his debut LP, but it still stands out as a ...well, stand out record. The J-Lo single is a slight disappointment, and puts a downer on the last half of the album. The 2-Pac references and inclusions sneakily acknowledge the fact that many critics think he is like 2-Pac, but they also lend credence to his music as he manages to NOT ruin the songs (as many artists generally do when they cover tracks). The Stevie Wonder cover, although slightly predictable (it seems everyone has done a cover of a Stevie Wonder track), manages to exude class, while the best track on the album BY FAR, 'Pain Is Love', showcases his talent. Definetly the rap star of now.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2006
while reading reviews on this album i noticed they are quite mixed responses to pain is love. i dont disagree with anyone as everyone is entitled to an opinion. in my opinion i totally love this album, the beats are great and uplifting, i really enjoy listening to this. best songs are always on time, down ass bitch and never again.the skit where he is taking calls on a radio show or something is pretty cringe worthy though! i am a massive 50 cent fan but you have to give credit when its due, ja has been around longer and he blew everyone out of the water with this album. id recommend this to you if your a hip hop fan and dont get easily offended by swearing! also if you like more commercialised rap, this album is for you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2001
Thisalbum is honestly, in one word, amazing. I heard JaRule a while back but never thought that much of him. Then i heard IM REAL and just fell in love with it - its a million times better than the original!! Anyway, i decided to buy the album after i loved Livin' it up too and im so glad i did coz its been in my CD player ever since! I cant go through all the tracks one by one cz they all are brill but i especially love X, numbers 2 through to 5. soz i only no them buy the numbers i play them in my CD player!! Anyway if u like cool rap with good beats then this is the cd 4 u. go out and buy it 2day!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2002
i thought that the CD album was really good,the leo i have to admit that it was really hard to understand the words but other that i thought that it was really good. The best song on the album was the one with 2pac and it really did bring back the memories of the great rapper 2pac. The album could have been better but i thought that it really is the one to buy for a presant for anyone who real;ly likes rap and by the way the song that is done with ashanti is so not pop, if it was then it would be more like Britney Spears and i dont think that that song is bad at all, the only thing that you have to be careful with is the swearing in some of the songs but the songs on the album are really good, the album is great!!! BUY IT NOW!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2005
This album serves up Ja's most gangsta side and it's slickness and sheer quality sums up to an amazing experience. Ja's lyrics on the opening songs cut up the competition and Livin It Up shows that he can create classic party songs that never go out of fashion! Overall Ja still looks very much on top!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
This albums seemed to be played at every party I went to at the time it was released so on that basis it's full of good memories for me. Some great tracks. Mainly purchased for nostalgia reasons, wouldn't say it's the greatest hip hop album out there but still, good for a general listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
This is, hands down, one of the best albums in my collection. The reason why this album is so good is because Ja Rule manages to contrast his scratchy voice with soulful, tuneful melodies and fantastic artists such as ashanti to match. resulting in classics. Brings back the memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)