Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'N' Roll DVD...
10 years has certainly gone quick hasn't it eh? And how better to celebrate it than with a DVD release of the best album of that particular year.
When you pop Disc 1 into your DVD player the album starts playing straightaway.
You now have the interactive options at your fingertips.
All you have to decide is whether to push "UP", "DOWN", "LEFT" or "RIGHT" on...
Published on 19 Sep 2004 by gwilimo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overshadowed by Morning Glory
As I said in my review for "What's The Story Morning Glory", Oasis shouldn't really be my cup of tea. But I rated that album 5 stars. "Definately Maybe" was the second Oasis album I bought on the back of my enjoyment of the "Morning Glory". For me this isn't as good but listening to it now, it's probably better than I remembered it to be. It has an edgier sound than...
Published 11 months ago by JKM


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'N' Roll DVD..., 19 Sep 2004
This review is from: Oasis: Definitely Maybe (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
10 years has certainly gone quick hasn't it eh? And how better to celebrate it than with a DVD release of the best album of that particular year.
When you pop Disc 1 into your DVD player the album starts playing straightaway.
You now have the interactive options at your fingertips.
All you have to decide is whether to push "UP", "DOWN", "LEFT" or "RIGHT" on your DVD remote.
You will then be treated to either documentary, live or video for that particular track.
Or if you want press "MENU" and you can choose what to view individually.
Also for certain videos you can select "ANGLE", and be treated to another version (promo).
If I may suggest something, I would put the disc in and press "UP" and watch the "documentary" all the way through. (much easier, and flows better.
"Disc Two" involves a number of featurettes, but can be viewed continuously if need be.
I loved this DVD as you can listen to the album as a kind of Bootleg album as well if you so wished.
Anyway here is the tracklisting if you're interested.
1. Rock 'N' Roll Star (from 'Top Of The Pops', September 1994)
2. Shakermaker from ('Naked City', June 1994)
3. Live Forever (from Glastonbury, June 1994)
4. Up In The Sky (from Chicago Metro, October 1994)
5. Columbia (from Hammersmith Palais, December 1994)
6. Supersonic (from 'The Word', March 1994)
7. Bring It On Down (from Gleneagles, February 1994)
8. Cigarettes And Alcohol (from Southampton Guildhall, November 1994)
9. Digsy's Dinner (from Buckley Tivoli, August 1994)
10. Slide Away (from New York Wetlands, July 1994)
11. Married With Children (from Los Angeles Whiskey A Go Go, September 1994)
12. Sad Song (from 'Later With Jools Holland', December 1994)
The featurettes on the second disc could have been longer but this is not the story of oasis after all, just their debut album. The main interviewee here is Noel, in fact Liam is not on here that much but he only grunts when asked questions anyway. His singing is what he does best anyway.
The group re-visit the shoot where Definitely Maybe was photographed, the booklet is nice work as is the sleeve.
A must for all Oasis fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock n Roll great, 3 Oct 2003
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
We salute you Noel and R Kid! An album which not only gets you hooked an the phnemonen that is Oasis but gives you a taste of what the Manchester brothers will produce in the future. The finest Rock n Roll debut ever, Fact!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Yes!, 25 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
This album is one of the greatest albums produced by a British band ever. Right from the opening of the glorious Rock n' Roll star you will be hooked right until the final strum of the Beatle-esque acoustic strummer Married with Children. For pure attitude and rock and roll it cannot be beaten.
It sticks two fingers right up in the air at any other rock n roll band at the moment, buy this album, if you do your life will be better. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!!, 8 Jun 2003
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
what an album!! From the fantastic opener Rock and roll star right through to the acoustic finale that is married with children the album is just amazing. liams towering vocals combined with noels amazing ability to write songs and youve got a recipe for success and thats exactly what this album is.ill probably get shot for this but in my opinion it is much better than The Stone Roses debut which is another amazing album.This is oasis at their best. Stand out track is Live Forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why have the Japanese been offered this much quality ?, 10 Aug 2000
This review is from: Definitely Maybe+2 (Audio CD)
Rarely do we come across albums of perfect splendour. We all know Definitely Maybe is one of the all time finest so what do we think when we get the opportunity to obtain a track which is not available on any B-side ? We jump on it. For me Sad Song is a glimpse into one of Noel Gallagher's finest musical moments. It's got everything in it that we know and want from him, including the familiar descending bass line that turns a classic song into an Oasis classic song. Why Sad Song has been hidden from us I'll never know...it's a 'Live By The Sea' exclusive. The other extra track 'Cloudburst' stands alongside The Stone Roses 'Standing Here' as a top notch B-side track...spot the difference between the two ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overshadowed by Morning Glory, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
As I said in my review for "What's The Story Morning Glory", Oasis shouldn't really be my cup of tea. But I rated that album 5 stars. "Definately Maybe" was the second Oasis album I bought on the back of my enjoyment of the "Morning Glory". For me this isn't as good but listening to it now, it's probably better than I remembered it to be. It has an edgier sound than "Morning Glory" and for me this means that the listening experience is as enjoyable. The music is a bit less tuneful, the vocals are rougher, but again somehow it still comes out as a pretty OK album, if not one that I would listen to, too often, particularly as it doesn't have as many headline tracks as "Morning Glory". - "Cigarettes & Alchol" as a great opening introduction. "Live For Ever" and "Rock 'n' Roll Star" are also ones I think stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What music DVDs should be like, 8 Oct 2007
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Oasis: Definitely Maybe (Limited Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
If you ask me, this is the first time I have felt that it might be worth buying an album DVD equivalent. The Definitely Maybe DVD includes, of course, all the songs, including videos and live performances of each song. The chances are you already own the album itself, so it's the visuals and the live performances you'll be interested in. And both are definitely worth while, although possibly not particularly in the long term - depends what sort of fan you are.

And if you are the sort of fan I am, then that may not be why you got this DVD at all - the key to Oasis (as many fans will know) is the combination between the music and the men. And in the interviews on this DVD, the men are in fine form. They are full of anecdotes, as you would be in recalling one of the most pivotal events in your life (and in modern music history). The brilliant stories of the recording studio on an island, which meant the lads had to leave the pub early to avoid being cut off, and tales of drug-stealing, tractor driving shenanigans with the Stone Roses are joyous, and hilarious, and will catch you up in the magic of the beginnings of Brit Pop. So will the stories from the technicians - dealing with Liam Gallagher for the first time, or pushing the volume up to the max so that Definitely Maybe was the loudest album on the juke box for the year after its release.

And for anyone that doesn't own the album, then remember that this is the classic oasis - raw, swaggering and brilliant. From the ripped off intros to Shakermaker and Cigarrettes and Alcohol to the wonderful solos and sweeping melodies of Live Forever and Slide Away, to the minimalist brilliance of Married With Children and Sad Song, this is a superb, superb album.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noise and confusion... oh and some lasagne, 5 Sep 2006
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
Once every so often, a debut album comes along that is so self-assured, so complete in its own self-belief that it takes you along with it. It doesn't even need to be the most accomplished or the most profound.

"Definitely Maybe" sounds like it's very good and it knows it.

From the opening noise of "Rock And Roll Star", it's not shy. Here we discovered the best rock and roll vocalist for a generation and his brother who had an instinctive songwriting ability.

Never mind the short-fall of the others. The drumming is rudimentary, the bass is buried and the rhytmn guitar is workmanlike. But that doesn't seem to matter. They all fall into line behind the force of the songs.

"Live Forever" is brash and emotive and beautiful and definite. "Supersonic" is all arrogant swagger and attitude and sounds perfect. "Bring It On Down" is corrosive punk which works despite some of the worst drumming on a great album ever to have happened. "Slide Away" is stunning and moving. Yeah alright "Digsy's Dinner" is just ok and "Married With Children" might not cut the mustard but they're not bad enough to detract from the quality of this album.

A statement of intent that still sounds essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oasis's crowning glory, 22 Feb 2004
By 
M. black "barriebb3" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
it's hard to believe it's ten years since oasis released their debut.this a an all time great, a swaggering, arrogant blast of pure rock n roll that still sounds fresh today.they may never make another album as good as this (they haven't so far) but when you have wrote songs like live forever, rock n roll star and
supersonic to name but a few you don't really have to care.oasis made their mark on british music.they WERE the 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best debut album of the 90's!!, 25 Mar 2002
This review is from: Definitely Maybe (Audio CD)
what can i say, only that this album is stunning from start to finish. by far the best oasis album with ballads like 'slide away' & 'live forever', and of course the greatest oasis song ever 'Columbia' with its fantasic vocal arrangments, big pounding bass line and great feel good lyrics. This album shows that oasis had the potential to be bigger and better than the beatles, and still do if they return to there roots of feel good songs with catchy choruses and great guitar. pure genius!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb46d93a8)

This product

Oasis: Definitely Maybe (Limited Edition) [DVD]
Oasis: Definitely Maybe (Limited Edition) [DVD] by Dick Carruthers (DVD - 2004)
12.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews