Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2001
When you pick this up you'll experience a re-run of your favourite smiley face memories...unfortunately thats as good as it gets!! Don't get me wrong there are some very good tunes on the two CD's however some of the versions selected for this complilation weren't the best, an example being the Radio Edit of Dirty Cash by Stevie V which was the second version to be released not the original. I was also left wondering how on earth some of the tunes had managed to feature on a supposedly "old skool" complilation, an example being the first half of CD 2. It features such rave classics as C&C Music Factories "Everybody Dance Now" and Beats International "Dub Be Good To Me"!? If your looking for an underground complilation from 88-93 then this is a more of a Womble complilation...Underground, overground affair! C'mon... I know its makes financial sense to cater to a wider audience but not at the expense of your grass roots market.
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2001
This CD is more than just a compilation of old tunes. It takes you back to your days when you would be prancing around (like a nut case) in some field with big smiley faces all over your clothes. This CD includes all the back in the day tunes such as Prodigy's Charley, Moby - Go and N Trance - Set you free. This is a superb CD and I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone who went clubbing from 1988 - 1993. The only thing that keeps me from giving a full five stars is that is not mixed. Big shame really but still brilliant nevertheless.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2001
I put this on at a recent house party and within seconds there was loads of us 20-somethings laughing and dancing arond like idiots. Great fun.
Yes it's 95% chart music, but that's the point isn't it? - the MOS label is about as far away from underground as you can get.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2001
Oh dear, oh dear. It really does seem like the Ministry of Sound label have lost their way. There was a time when they released quality dance compilations such as the 'Sessions' series. But now, it just seems that they are content on cashing in on any scene or re-vive fad, and their latest release 'Back to the Old Skool' is a prime example of this.
'Old Skool' music may have different interpretations, but I suspect for the majority this genre recalls those songs that defined white gloves, light sticks and dance music of the early 90's. The album has the usual anthems of this time, like 'Set you free' by N-Trance, and Liquid's 'Sweet Harmony', along with the odd forgotten gem such as Cola Boy's '7 ways to love'.
However, the majority of the content is full of commercialised chart stuff around at the time, with not nearly enough of the kind of anthems that made the rave scene what it was in the late 80's/early 90's. And why on earth have they included tracks by artists such as Stone Roses, Stereo MC's and Yazz? I do remember at the time that these bands sat quite happily in the indie and pop charts and were not exactly old skool material. A bizarre selection to say the least.
This is a very disappointing effort from the Ministry label. They have just stuck a whole load of songs around at the time and have hoped that the label name will make it a big seller. Flawed, and just generally poor, this isn't so much Old Skool, but old tosh.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2001
This CD will take you back to the early 90s. However it does not really represent the energy nor the quality dance music which came out in those days. Servral chart dance tunes from the day are on here, not necessarily a good thing. Out of the 40 tunes, I would say that only a few are worth listening to. I would really rather spend my cash on a propper old skool CD which will give you a better idea of what was happening at that time. However it still takes you back and if that's what you want then this is for you. NOT FOR THOSE WHO KNOW!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
This album is for the people who listened to the charts between 1988-1993. If you asked anybody who was raving in those days they would never list any of those trax, bar strings of life and voodoo ray (two real classics).
If you are a late20/30something looking to relive naughty nights out in a field you will know not to buy this already. This is a great compilation for people who liked chart dance for those years. A big disappointment from M.O.S.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Great album. My nephew who's 15 heard it and wanted it too although it's not quite his era. I bought this for him as I'd bought it for myself previously and the only down thing I can say is that it's seriously gone up in price compared to when I bought it about 6 months ago. Still cheap though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
One of a plethora of compilations put out on Ministry Of Sound's lucrative record label. This celebratory, two-and-a-half hour two CD release, from 2001, looks back a decade to document some of the best dance music from the late-eighties through to the early nineties. It manages to do it pretty damn well. An impressive portion of its forty pretty much unmixed tracks left me gasping for breath at their glory (including offerings from M.A.R.R.S, Strings Of Life, A Guy Called Gerald, Liquid, and SL2). Only a few of the more trite chart hits in the running order had me screwing up my nose as I listened to them (Yazz, C&C Music Factory, and Snap). However, this populist, relatively well-informed collection - with its broad definition of 'old skool'- could well have raised an even wider smile on my face if some vital, hypnotic records of that era, such as Joey Beltram's 'Energy Flash' and LFO's 'LFO', had featured somewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Not as good as i thought it would be the CD condition itself was good but the music wasn't what i expected was expecting some good songs they sounded more like cheesy pop tunes than oldskool not good ministry of sound
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2001
I can honestly say I've embarrassed myself to almost all the tracks contained on this compilation! As a snap-shot of the "times" it comjures up the right mix of the early UK Dance scene. My only gripe is why oh why have they incuded the execrable Yazz (one star knocked off) over the wonderful D-Mob?(a golden opportunity missed to get respectable 30-somethings nationwide shouting ACCIIEEEDD !!!!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)