Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2002
every now and again an album will come along that is so brilliant that you'll stop thinking that all new artists that emerge are a pile of s**t and realise that there is some hope in world of music.
this album is one of them.
after hearing 'perfect day' on the american pie 2 soundtrack i went out and bought this album with little optimism. i thought perfect day would be a stand out track. i was SO wrong. every song dffers from the last and the album is perfect whatever mood u may be in. it lifts you up when you are sad and yet there are still tracks on it which make you tingle inside. 'don't wait for the sun' and 'safer on the outside' do just that.
i'm a fool has the most brilliantly uplifting guitar riff at the beginning that makes you want to jump up and down around the room and scream with delight. it has to be one of the best tracks on the album.
'another perfect day' is the only acoustic sng on the album and sounds weak compared to other tracks, but still satisfies greatly.
there is no way you can pick out one single track from this album and say it is the best. every song is a masterpiece in itself.
i bought this album about 6 months ago but only recently started listening to it again and realised ive been missing out. every time i play it i am reminded of its brillinace.
if you dont own this album, go get it, even if your not a fan of melodic meaningful solid rock. i promise you will love it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2001
I first heard of AHF with their single Flavor of the Weak. Upon buying the single two weeks previously I decided to shell out for the album. The album is a mix of fast paced Blink 182 type songs, Nirvana style guitar riffs and Greenday style songwriting. My three favorite songs rolled into one. The best songs on the album are 'Flavor of the Weak', 'Black Satilite', 'Hi-Fi Killer', 'Dont wait for the sun' and the great 'A bigger mood'. There are only one or two bad songs. Buy this album!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2001
i got this cd after hearing "flavor of the weak" and its one of the best purchases i have made this year. it is a truly mind blowing album. although "flavor" is a great song, very catchy, it is in my view outshone by at least 2 of the other tracks, primarily "safer on the outside" and "don't wait for the sun". Both are incredibly touching, deeply heartfelt songs with beautiful lyrics, such as 'dont wait for the sun, it could turn black any day. i lost my head in the clouds, when will this haze go away? i never wanted this...' combined with fantastic melodies. the first time i heard that song it brought a tear 2 my eye! there are some very frank and honest songs on here, as well as more uplifting ones. This cd is both uplifting and comforting - if you are feeling down, the two tracks i mentioned previously are so identifiable with. This cd is not quite in the same love-lorn league as the ataris, but they are on the same lines. for those 'flavor of the weak' fans, 'im a fool' is much on the same lines, poppy yet punk, and uplifting yet touching. Basicaly there is something here for anyone who likes new school melodic punk and bands such as new found glory, sum 41, blink 182, green day etc. i strongly recommend this!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2003
A really cracking little album. Lots of variation in the tunes, nice melodies such as in 'Another perfect day' and some great catchy ones you'll be humming for weeks, like 'Flavor of the weak'.
Described by my girlfriend as a poor man's green day, but then her favourite band are runrig so don't take any notice of that.
It has become almost a permanent fixture in the car cd changer and i cant see it being removed until something very, very good comes out.
Buy it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
This album has to be the best debut ever made...ever since hearing 'Flavour of the weak' i knew american hi-fi were something diffrent and fresh on the punk rock music scene. I feel every song on this album is easy to relate to and the beautiful song 'another perfect day' proves they have talent of a new and diffrent level.
The album is amazing and the best advice i can give is BUY IT!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
This album is superb--you'll be singing it for weeks.Deserved a nomination for a grammy if you ask me.nearly all tracks are excellent.Much better than their next two album's,though there are some great tracks on them. Well worth the price, buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2005
i saw these at a bowling for soup gig & thought they were pretty good so checked out the review's here.most recomended this album and boy were they right ! it rates as one of my top cd's and for the price of pint !!buy it!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2002
After hearing Flavour of the Weak, and the equally excellent Vertigo, I felt the need to buy the album, and I was pleasantly surprised. There is an eclectic mixture of happier tracks,such as I'm a fool, as well as slower songs like'Don't wait for the sun.'Surround' also manages to lift my spirits every time I hear it.
However, the only negative comment concerns 'my only enemy', which consists mainly of linkin park style screaming, which seems completely out of place on an album of such high standard.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2003
This CD introduced me to my favorite band in the whole world: American Hi-Fi. Stacy has a great voice, and he really has a talent for writing great lyrics. The music is great. It's kinda rock-pop. Flavor of the Weak, which was popular a while, is definitely their most pop song. American Hi-Fi is a rock band, and they're great at it. KEEP ROCKIN'! Oh yeah- and buy their new album, The Art of Losing. They're both great. I'd give this a zillion stars if I could!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
This is American Hi-Fi's first album and what an epic one too, their best by far. they have release three more albums since this and not one of them even comes close. I first heard Flavour of the Weak on Kerrang! which grabbed my attention to the rest of the album and im so glad it did, this is probably one of the best punk rock albums ever, any punk rock fan must hear this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)