Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is that fresh.......fresh feeling......
...you know the one you get when a band moves on with their music...take note all Mancunian guitar bands. The Eels have again produced an enigmatic and inovative selection of rock, blues and chillin' sounds; combining the development of Mr. E's sound from the past 5 years - a greatest hits album of brand new songs. Although a little hard to get to grips with if your an...
Published on 22 Nov 2001 by dainscully@yahoo.com

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed...
Having already purchased Daisies of the Galaxy, Beautiful Freak and Electro Shock Blues, I thought I would add Souljacker to my collection, expecting the same high standards. Unfortunately (and surprisingly) this isn't the case. The rocky tone of this album isn't what I have come to expect from Eels and, for me, lacks a bit of heart and soul. Eels albums usually have...
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Cliff Chips


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is that fresh.......fresh feeling......, 22 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
...you know the one you get when a band moves on with their music...take note all Mancunian guitar bands. The Eels have again produced an enigmatic and inovative selection of rock, blues and chillin' sounds; combining the development of Mr. E's sound from the past 5 years - a greatest hits album of brand new songs. Although a little hard to get to grips with if your an Eels vigin, a couple of times through and your hooked. Tracks vary from 'Fresh Feeling'- string production overload, to 'Souljacker Part 1' - guitar riff ala bass. Buy it, listen to it and if you don't have the other albums, you will soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 31 Aug 2002
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
I knew this album would be good, because its Eels and i've never heard a bad song by this amazing band, but after i listened to SoulJacker i was blown away. This album gets better with time, the more its played the better it gets.
SoulJacker is a perfect example of sublime originality in songwriting, and should be taken far more seriously then it will enivitably will. Eels deserve far more then they get in terms of admiration.
The album works on so many levels, just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
This album quite simply continues to prove E's songwriting ability. The best thing about it is that it's once again completely different from their last album.
The style of music is rocky, lively, it can, at times, can seem busy and complicated, but each song still has meaning and hasn't just been written for chart success. But that's the beuaty of it, the fact that they can create a song which not only simply rocks, but has a meaning to it too. Even though not all of the songs precisely relate to E's life, there are some which do, such as Fresh Feeling and Friendly Ghost.
The best tracks are Dog Faced Boy, Fresh Feeling, Bus stop Boxer (brilliant) and That's Not Really Funny. They are all full of catchy rhythms and lyrics.
Pure Eels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A AMZINGLY SMOOTH 4TH ALBUM BY EELS., 24 Sep 2001
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
This is another class album by a band who should be a lot bigger than they are. This album has eels trademark smooth sound and E's creative genius, once again. This album is among the best stuff they have done since beautiful freak. The best tracks on this album are (all of them but especialy) Fresh feeling, Woman driving man sleeping, souljacker part1, teenage witch and bus stop boxer. This album is, like all eels albums quite depressing but with all the musical genius you will never get bored with! A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a little harsh, 24 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
Upon hearing the Souljacker: part 1 single, I knew this album would be nothing like Daisies od the Galaxy. I would appear to have been proved right. This is nothing like the previous albums in terms of the style of music, although the dark, pessimistic lyrics aren't too dissimilar from Electro-shock Blues. As for the tracks, Souljacker: part 1, Dog Faced Boy and That's Not Really Funny are the immediate standouts, but, as with every previous Eels album, there's not a weak track in sight, although many of the tracks won't appeal immediately to all Eels fans, especially if you were expecting a Daisies part 2. This is right up there with Mercury Rev's All is Dream and The Strokes' Is This It for best album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed..., 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
Having already purchased Daisies of the Galaxy, Beautiful Freak and Electro Shock Blues, I thought I would add Souljacker to my collection, expecting the same high standards. Unfortunately (and surprisingly) this isn't the case. The rocky tone of this album isn't what I have come to expect from Eels and, for me, lacks a bit of heart and soul. Eels albums usually have the ability to send a listener on an emotional roller coaster but Souljacker fails to do this. It's certainly not all bad, however,as 'Woman Driving, Man Sleeping', 'Fresh Feeling', 'Friendly Ghost', and 'Bus Stop Boxer' are all excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Rockiest Yet!!!, 25 Sep 2001
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
I've only had this album a day but already it's sounding like one of the albums of the year. Anyone familiar with the Eels last two albums will be quite shocked, they haven't used this many guitars since their '96 debut `Beautiful Freak'.
Opener `Dog Faced Boy' is a rather excellent rocker which also features the great couplet `ma won't shave me, Jesus can't save me'. The pace continues until we get to `Fresh Feeling', which is a mellow, string-laden affair. Beautiful.
Other highlights include `Souljacker (part 1)', the best and most exciting three minutes of rock released this year, `Friendly Ghost' and the haunting `Bus Stop Boxer'.
As if the twelve tracks on the actual album weren't good enough, you also get a bonus CD featuring another superb four tracks.
All in all, well worth buying even if you don't know their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant new direction for Eels, 24 Sep 2001
By 
Harry Carr "carrliadiere" (Teddington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
Eels want to 'rock', now, and man alive, they have done it. They have done it big time. Souljacker is everything i wanted from eels, from the quite literally TOO groovy 'souljacker part I' to the incredibly uplifting (this is from eels, i remind you) 'fresh feeling'. E has not only expanded upon his first three albums, he has even bettered 'electro-shock blues' which was, until now, the bands finest work. And this all proves that Eels can do whatever they set their sights on, and they can do it well.
One downside, if you can call it that, is that they seem a little bit too proud of their achievement with the Souljacker album (read the back of the album to find out what i mean).
All i can say now is that i prey they write more like this. Or just write more, because it's all gonan be musical gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Brilliance, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
A warning should go the fans of the previous eels albums. This is differnet. Superbly different. Fuzzy guitars, heartfelt lyrics and all the awareness of the experienced, musically gifted beings that they are. A true gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eels have morphed again and it's good..., 25 Sep 2001
This review is from: Souljacker - Limited Edition (Audio CD)
The thing I love about the Eels is that each one of their albums has sounded different from the rest while still being superb and this one doesn't disappoint in either respect.
The single release "Souljacker Part I" gives some indication of what to expect - the tone is darker than "Daisies of the Galaxy" with fuzzy, dark guitars and E growling along to an energetic beat. There is gentler material though, with songs like "Fresh Feeling", "Friendly Ghost" and "Souljacker part II" demonstrating the kind of wistful, heartfelt music E seems to have an unlimited supply of.
The album rewards close listening. In addition to the fact that each song tells a separate story, the Eels have drawn samples from their back catalogue which are employed to great effect on "Fresh Feeling" amongst other songs.
The album also comes with a bonus EP which -refreshingly since it's an extra - easily maintains the established standard. Look for "I write the B-sides" which is vintage Eels stuff from the Beautiful Freak era and also a beat-driven, bluegrass remix of "Mr E's Beautiful Blues"
Overall, fantastic stuff. I would recommend this to any fan of Eels or anyone looking for indy rock that's slightly offroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Souljacker - Limited Edition
Souljacker - Limited Edition by Eels (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews