Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and decide for yourself.
Opinion certainly seems to be divided on the relative merits of this album.

I really like Machine Head and I will be traveling to this years sonisphere to see them.
I have all the albums. When I go to choose which one to play I pick this more than any other and I can't recommend it any higher than that.
Superb production, great musicality, riffs that...
Published on 4 May 2009 by Mr. Kevin J. Duffy

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing
They have had three attempts at it now and Machine Head have still not come close to equalling the awesome achievement that was their debut album, 'Burn My Eyes'. And frankly, going by what 'Supercharger' has to offer, they never will.
All the right elements are evident as usual - punishing guitar work, a rhythm section that could stun at 100 yards and Rob Flynn's...
Published on 5 Oct. 2001 by dkavanagh@webaudits.net


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing, 5 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
They have had three attempts at it now and Machine Head have still not come close to equalling the awesome achievement that was their debut album, 'Burn My Eyes'. And frankly, going by what 'Supercharger' has to offer, they never will.
All the right elements are evident as usual - punishing guitar work, a rhythm section that could stun at 100 yards and Rob Flynn's seething / roaring vocals. However it's what they do with this impressive arsenal that is the source of the problem. Quite simply, too much of the songwriting on Supercharger is uninspiring and lacking in any kind of memorability. Some tracks absolutely slay, but others fall well short. Many of the tracks just don't stick. They bowl you over in a storm of metal bluster and attitude, but when they're gone you can't quite remember them. All the right sounds are here, but they have failed to carve out any kind of real identity.
Whatever shortcomings the album may have musically, special mention must be given to the extraordinarily honest and harrowing lyrics written by Rob Flynn on some tracks. A brave move and one to be lauded.
However overall, 'Supercharger' is inconsistent and unsatisfying. Personally. it's a great pity because the album is superbly performed and produced. I just know this band is capable of delivering a more consistent album than this. When they do hit a rich creative vein the results are as impressive as one would expect from the people who brought us the masterpiece that was 'Burn My Eyes'. However, it's fair to say that about 40% of this album is substandard.
My advice to prospective buyers is to borrow a copy before making the purchase. Hey, maybe you'll like it more than I do and pick it up.......the choice is yours....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars buy anyother machine head album, but not this., 19 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
I managed to get a copy of this a day before its release several years ago, and was very excited to get home and listen to it. after several listens i was soon disapointed. A couple of tracks were stand out, and actualy quite good. Alas the rest of the album was poor, watered down rubbish. Not a patch on the raw brutal machine head i was expecting.

Fast forward about a decade or so, i decided to get this album down off the shelf (where it was collecting dust) and give it a spin.

So whats the purpose of this review? simple! to stop other people parting with their hard earned cash for a sub standard album. All i can say is that time has not improved this album, and all the disapointment i felt the first time round came rushing back.

buy burn my eyes, the burning red, through the ashes of empires or the blackening instead. disapointing these are not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen and decide for yourself., 4 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Opinion certainly seems to be divided on the relative merits of this album.

I really like Machine Head and I will be traveling to this years sonisphere to see them.
I have all the albums. When I go to choose which one to play I pick this more than any other and I can't recommend it any higher than that.
Superb production, great musicality, riffs that stick in my head for days and deep lyrics - I fail to see how anyone who liked there previous works would be so turned off? But we all have different tastes - check this one out for yourself and don't take the word of the naysayers. You may find it as rewarding as I do... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not a metal record, 4 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
To start this review off, this band's last two albums 'The More Things Change' and 'The Burning Red' are my two most favourite albums ever, so I had a huge expectation for this record.
Ok, starting off...when the band does what they've been known to do, songs like 'Trephination', 'Bulldozer' and Supercharger' are all awe inspiring on speed and their firal pace alone. But thats where the fast, heavy stuff ends.
Thats not to say it's all bad at all, 'Only The Names' and 'Blank Generation' are a return to the darkness of the slower stuff off 'The More Things Change..' and Crashing Around You is just a great song despite it being very melodic. All brilliant.
But the experimentation with melody doesn't always work as well: 'Kick You When Your Down' features melodic vocals that just blunt a song that really wants to go crazy, 'Nausea' sounds like a riled version of Papa Roach with guitar solos and 'A Deafening Silence' is an overblown rehash on The Burning Red's 'Silver'.
Generally, this is the sound of a band that are being complacent. If this wasn't <M|H>, the band that are capable of producing so much better, then I would give it a 4 star but Supercharger has flashes of total brilliance that just makes the rest of the album pale in comparison and knowing what this lineup is capable of just makes it even harder to swallow.
Burn My Eyes thrashed, The More Things Change crushed, The Burning Red seared red raw, Supercharger just limps past. For a band like Machine Head,3 fast heavy songs on a 14 track album does make you wonder what the hell happened.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not very progressive, but still great, 16 Sept. 2001
This review is from: supercharger (Audio CD)
One of the year's most highly anticipated releases, MACHINE HEAD's Supercharger is a surprisingly diverse and defiantly "untrendy"-sounding effort that is likely to disappoint everyone who is expecting the Bay Area quartet to return to the ultra-testosterone-charged sounds of their first two albums, 1994's Burn My Eyes and 1997's The More Things Change.... While several of the tracks on the new album feature a noticeably more aggressive vibe than was the case with the group's last studio offering, 1999's The Burning Red, Supercharger sees MACHINE HEAD combining the elements that made TBR one of the most underrated metal albums of the last decade and with several new ingredients to create a crushingly heavy-yet-infectiously-melodic mix that should satisfy the more open-minded fans of the group's previous efforts. Whereas The Burning Red was a bold departure from its predecessors and a creative high point that, in the eyes of this writer, should have catapulted MACHINE HEAD to the ranks of the genre's forerunners, Supercharger is for the most part picking up where the album before it left off-just different enough to be passed off as a natural progression, but essentially treading a similar musical ground to The Burning Red without managing to outclass it in the songwriting department. As usual, there are a number of highlights here that reaffirm mainman Robert Flynn's status as one of the most talented and versatile composers in the metal genre today; at the same time, however, there are a few moments that indicate that MACHINE HEAD might have taken their current sound as far as they could, with several of the tracks falling short of the standard set by the group's previous releases and consequently preventing Supercharger from being the all-out masterpiece that we were hoping it would turn out to be. Here are my favourite tracks on the album;
"White-Knuckle Blackout"(A mid-paced number with a catchy riff and a crushingly heavy chorus)
"Crashing Around You"(The most "radio friendly" song on the album. A simple drum beat and an extremly catchy chorus that is as close to a "single" as MACHINE HEAD are ever likely to write)
"All In Your Head" this song starts out with a SLAYER-esque slow riff and kicks into a heavy groove section under Flynn's marginally rap-tinged vocals before climaxing with one of the most memorable, melodic choruses on the album. A soon-to-be MACHINE HEAD classic.
"American High"(Kicks off with Robb doing vocal version of the very cool main riff. Tounge-in-cheek lyrics!)
"Deafening Silence"(One of the most "different" of the new tracks, this one can best be described as a MACHINE HEAD-style "power ballad", a dark, emotionally-charged epic that allows Flynn's passionately melodic vocals to shine through)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Machine Head - Supercharger, 21 July 2011
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
Machine Head's fourth studio album Supercharger was released in 2001 to a reaction of almost universal disapproval. The album has since grown a reputation as an absolutely awful album to avoid at all costs.

Personally, I think that this was a bit of an overreaction. I like the album and think more people would too if they gave it a fair chance. Admittedly, the choice of direction that the band had taken (inclusion of rapping and nu metal influences etc) wasn't what anyone wanted from Machine Head.

The band have since rectified their direction with the albums which would follow however, and I think a lot of people need to take a fresh look at Supercharger. People were too busy disapproving of Machine Head playing nu metal to objectively judge the actual collection of songs on the album and the album just became the sort of cool-to-hate album that people feel the need to stick the boot into.

The album is by no means the best Machine Head album, but nor is it the disgusting mess it has been made out to be. There are a few great tracks on the album, most notably `BullDozer,' `Trephination,' and the title track, all of which may contain some of the more distasteful calling cards of the time, but all of which also contain enough of the classic Machine Head style to warrant reinvestigation. They are heavy, have a lot of groove to them and are generally just good songs.

Even if you only like very heavy music, a few of the less classic Machine Head sounding tracks are fun and unobjectionable and you should listen with a more open mind, people place too much importance on their metal credibility and miss out on good music like this as a result.

While I may be defending the album, it is still worth pointing out that the lyrics are a little cringeworthy in places, the song structures may follow the quiet/loud structure that was popular at the time and there aren't the same caliber of guitar solos and dual leads to be found on newer Machine Head albums.

Supercharger is no masterpiece, that much may be true. I would really not recommend this album to be your first Machine Head album, but don't blindly write it off forever without judging it for yourself either. There are better Machine Head albums out there to be sure, but if you have already listened to them, Supercharger can add a few more decent tracks to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Downwind of greatness:- by quite a margin., 7 April 2014
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
A poor effort from these long running metallers; and in-fact, hands down they're worst CD from a typically self-challenging and volatile band. This transmorphing blend of nu-metal, rap and distilled metal:- likens itself to the popularity of the scene during it's time of rampancy during the early 2000's. All that largely remains now that the wind has blown over is ultimately, a very weakly arranged and produced record. It's saving grace is due to the excellent "Bulldozer & Crashing around you" tracks. It's experimental face is also to be aplauded even if the results are largely a centrepiece of disaster.

The slipstream metal sound, for the first time on a Machine Head CD takes a back seat to other new influances which dominate the appearance of so many of these songs. There is mass-filler from all sides of thos 3rd Machine Head CD and some seriously messy vomit to boot:- with both the pointless noiZe of "Brown Acid" and the truly terrible mistake of "American High", they are both easily enough to seriously devalue any casual listening experience. In summary, Supercharger isn't a great album and it never was, and it should really only be purchased to complete the set or to stock up on some bookshelf filler.

*the digipak version is probably better to buy if you must! as there is [4 additional tracks] - 2 bonus studio efforts: (Hole in the sky & Ten fold), plus 2 extra bonus live songs; and If that is enough to sway you - I guess 2 lousy stars it is then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one hell of an album, 22 Oct. 2001
This review is from: Supercharger (Audio CD)
the buring red is better but tracks like 'Crashing Around You' and 'Bulldozer' make this another master peice from robb flynn and the MH boys! its got roaring vocals, its got soft vocals, soft guitaring and bloody heavy guitaring, if u liked the amazing from this day then go out and buy this album! its one hell of an album
its well good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 12 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Machine Head have the problem of having to compete with their debut album "Burn My Eyes". This, their latest release, has had mixed reviews which all focus on the band's previous discography. The fact is that Machine Head will no more produce another "Burn My Eyes" than Metallica will produce another "Kill 'Em All" or Guns n Roses produce another "Appetite For Destruction". Had they done so they would have been slated for that as well. However, what Machine Head have produced is their best album to date. Great songs (which commit the crime of having hooks!), intelligent lyrics, fine production and an undiluting of the ferocity and musicianship which caused all the fuss in the first place. The opening track "Bulldozer" is one of their most ferocious yet, ending with an absolute monster of a riff. There-on-in the assault never wavers. My personal favourites are "Bulldozer", "All In Your Head", "Trephination" and the title track but you can choose your own.
The bottom line is that for the price of a take-away and a couple of cans of lager you can own a great heavy metal record instead. And I advise you to treat your ears and not your waistband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, again, 4 May 2006
This review is from: Supercharger [Digipak] (Audio CD)
MH may be a bit predictable by the time you get to this album, but that isn't neccesarily bad.

A tight set of guitars and drums brings more of an old-school metal feel to this compared with the previous 'Burning Red'. The tracks aren't that well defined, although the early part is stronger with 'Bulldozer', 'All in your head' and 'Crashing around you' good to play loud.

A few experiments as always, and as always, they work. 'Only the names' is the quiet side, and these guys remind you they are good musicians and they think. This may be old school guitar metal, but there's more than Motorhead going on here.

So why only 3 stars? Because they're not hitting the level of other albums. 'Burn My Eyes' has never been beaten and others are stronger. But you can always buy a MH album without risking serious disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supercharger [Digipak]
Supercharger [Digipak] by Machine Head (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews