Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pioneer Soundtracks
Hopefully this will provoke a revival for original, intelligent music-making. I'm sure a shift from ephemeral, hyped-up, next-best-retro-rock-designer bands is imminent. Pray Jesus!
A better album I have not heard in a good year ("Kid A"). A bit of a pastoral masterpiece, a la "Laughing Stock" and "Is This Desire?". Meloncholy yes, but...
Published on 5 Feb. 2002 by boys_in_zinc

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fairly dull
Crikey it doesn't take much to get good reviews these days does it? I guess it's inventive in parts but overall it's dreary stuff. I'd be amazed if anyone is still playing out, out of actual listening pleasure, in 6 months.
Published on 8 Jan. 2008 by Splossy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pioneer Soundtracks, 5 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Cold House (Audio CD)
Hopefully this will provoke a revival for original, intelligent music-making. I'm sure a shift from ephemeral, hyped-up, next-best-retro-rock-designer bands is imminent. Pray Jesus!
A better album I have not heard in a good year ("Kid A"). A bit of a pastoral masterpiece, a la "Laughing Stock" and "Is This Desire?". Meloncholy yes, but beautiful and boundless. The electronic bounce of "You Show No Emotion At All", recalls "The Garden" by PJ Harvey and the wonderful "Euphoria" by Insides. Only once is old skool indie recalled, in "I Can't Find My Brittle Youth", the rest is a revelation to my sorely deprived post-rock ears.
The opening "... Removed All Trace..." and closing "You're Worth The Whold World" are stunning semi-hip hop stews. There's mad electronica on "...Sell Out(s)", whilst "Branches Bare" and "Lines Low To The Frozen Ground" simply shiver from the speakers.
Winter soundtracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Winter Hit Hard, 3 Jan. 2006
This review is from: Cold House (Audio CD)
I got into Hood through their most recent record, Outside Closer, which I still consider to be the better of the two. This is their more celebrated record, although its follow-up has clearly the stronger selection of songs in my opinion. This is a bleak, uncompromising album. Hood have mastered the sound of wintery desolation like no-one else, and with song titles like 'Lines Low to Frozen Ground' and 'The Winter Hit Hard', it doesn't come as much as a surprise. Anticon rappers Why? and Doesone make discreet but valuable contributions, their trademark nasal mutterings providing brief relief to Hood's sometimes dirge-like Indie. In fact, the juxtaposition works so well you are left wanting more, but that is usually a good thing. Opener 'They Removed All Trace That Anything Had Ever Happened Here' is a perfect example of this - building steadily from inauspicious electronica into a tense, melancholic indie soundscape, a yabbbering looped rap from Doesone creeps in towards the end to augment the perfectly realised production. Similarly 'You Show No Emotion At All' and 'When Branches Bare' literally creak and crack and shiver with their wintery atmospherics, Doesone making a star turn at the end of the latter with the line: 'We spit in the pond to give the fish something to prey to'. A sublime moment. 'Enemy of Time' is a sobre ballard while 'The Winter Hit Hard' is cavernous dub with shards of icy tension crashing through the speakers - and is probably a bit like freezing to death. 'My Brittle Youth' is the closest thing on the album resembling a single, with some nice guitar and up-front-and-personal lyricism, and fades out to a monstrous industrial meltdown that threatens but never quite engulfs the listener. 'This Is What We Do To Sell Out(S)' begins with ear-piercing glitch in the manner of Autechre before the gentlest of voices and guitar breeze in like a lullabye. Things thaw out a little after this point, but its still a striking album, even if you are rarely in the mood to listen to it. If you like this, you may also like the funereal Anticon collaboration with The Notwist, 13 & God - now that is heavy-going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'Throbbin' Hood' (!!), 26 Oct. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold House (Audio CD)
Not the fantastic 'Thunderbirds' villain, but a deceptively involving pop group; Hood are kinda like Pink Floyd circa 1967, when the zest for existence and a lust for experimentation hadn't dissolved into the lax tedium of cumbersome millstones like 'the Wall'.
By contrast - Hood are STILL interesting.

'Cold House' is an album by Hood and despite a somewhat doomy feel to the set, you can't help but feel they have essential humour to go with their not inconsiderable talent. Frolics to be had among the angst.

'Cold House' has the right mix of churning pop and staccato ballads. Some songs: 'the River Curls Around the Town' for example, are almost too experimental in a I'm-not-really-in-an-experimental-mood-today sense, but are not quite experimental enough a few days later.
Titles reflect the vital nature of the songs. You've gotta be careful with things called: 'They Removed All Trace That Anything Had Ever Happened Here' and 'I Can't Find My Brittle Youth' - songs with titles like these DARE not be poor and thankfully they aren't.
They confidently succeed.

Hood have an intriguing knack of sounding like some-one else - only better; 'Trace' sounds like a vastly improved version of those rank woefuls Gallon Drunk, with a mournful violin nod to Microdisney's 'Pink Skinned Man'.

When you close your eyes, sometimes music can be a real eye-opener....
Hood's influences are manifold. The only influences anybody needs in modern music is Cabaret Voltaire and Dollar - coincidentally two of Hood's influences.

Some of Hood's songs like 'Branches Bare' are just plain scary; some of their lyrics are dryly obscure, waiting for pseudo-intellectuals to pick their way through them, but they all have that special-music-something; that which can move you away from the mediocrity and the middlin' and energetically renew your sense of wonder.

When I was a wee bairn, there was a phrase abounding in critical circles: "bringing back something new".
A phrase that could have been specifically coined for Hood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cold house but home, 16 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cold House (Audio CD)
Hood's delicate chords, mournful strings and brass, plaintive vocals and driving percussion are familiar. Fresh to this release is a crust of digital frost, the manic chattering of dose and why? (of Clouddead) and a compelling shape and variety to the collection that leads you through, where previous Hood records would drift in and out of centre. It builds through the Boards Of Canada melody with ZX Spectrum beats of "You show no emotion at all" to the Clicks'n'Cuts Dub madness of "The winter hits hard", hitting a return to the punchiness of Silent'88 in "I can't find my brittle youth", and flowing out through an acoustic wash to The For Carnation sad warmth of "Lines low to frozen ground". Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold House (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fairly dull, 8 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Cold House (Audio CD)
Crikey it doesn't take much to get good reviews these days does it? I guess it's inventive in parts but overall it's dreary stuff. I'd be amazed if anyone is still playing out, out of actual listening pleasure, in 6 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold House
Cold House by Hood (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews