Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for UK buyers of Blu Ray
**For UK buyers of the Blu Ray import with the red cover, this US disc is region free and works on UK Blu Ray players.**
I love this film and have seen it multiple times since it was released so long ago so I wanted to get it on blu ray with some urgency, and here it is, the quality is excellent, full 1080p with a razor sharp picture, a must have.
Published 23 months ago by K. Dennis

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining
Very entertaining war movie, if completely inaccurate historically. Ed harris carries the movie. there are some great set peieces including the factory sequence.
Published on 3 Oct 2010 by uncle joe


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for UK buyers of Blu Ray, 23 Aug 2012
By 
K. Dennis "gamer" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
**For UK buyers of the Blu Ray import with the red cover, this US disc is region free and works on UK Blu Ray players.**
I love this film and have seen it multiple times since it was released so long ago so I wanted to get it on blu ray with some urgency, and here it is, the quality is excellent, full 1080p with a razor sharp picture, a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plays on European Region B Blu Ray Players., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
American imported disc but plays on region B players in Europe I can confirm. PIcture and sound both excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On of the best modern-made war films, 22 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
A good film, that sums up Enemy at the Gates. War is hell, and that is what this film shows without the need for a over the top story that Private ryan used.
Jude Law is at his usual best, and like all the characters in this film, is believable. Based on a true story, two snipers (Jude Law with the Russians) and Ed Harris (German) play a game of propoganda cat and mouse, who is the best?
This film is also non-patriotic to either side which is a much needed relief from the biased U-571, Thin Red Line and Private Ryan.
Its not the most succesful War film but the best films rarely are.
watch it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling war drama which is a must buy, 8 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film at the cinema and was blown away by the quality of the performances, the storyline and the amazing reality of the sets.
The film is set during the battle for Stalingrad in the winter of 1942, and as with all good war films has a very personal story line set in the midst of this massive confrontation. There are several fine performances from key British actors, especially from Jude Law in the main role of Soviet Sniper - Vassili Zeitsev.
I especially enjoyed the lack of American or British armed forces involvement, as films such as Pearl Harbour and Saving Private Ryan have taken much away from the massive contribution the Russians gave to the World War II effort.
I was keen to purchase the DVD as soon as it was made available, and I would recommend this as a worthy addition to any film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First review at the gates., 22 Oct 2011
By 
J. Giles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Why has nobody reviewed this film yet?

Enemy at the Gates, is indeed a marvellous film. Based on the WWII exploits of one Vassili Zaitsev (based on Vasily Zaytsev) as he grows from humble, timid Red Army soldier into a symbol of hope for all the motherland in the form of a extremely talented sniper. In an attempt to crush soviet morale, the powers that be within the German army bring in German Major, Erwin König(an equally brilliant sniper) to eliminate Zaitsev and improved the chances of winning the battle of Stalingrad for the Germans.

This film, while apparently not historically accurate, really captures the gritty essence of WWII and war in general. Played out brilliantly by actors Jude Law(Zaitsev) and Ed Harris(König) as they hunt each other through ruined buildings in equally perilous attempts to assassinate the other. With other flawless performances coming from Rachel Weiss, Bob Hoskins and Ron Perlman, this film really is worth viewing.

My only quarrel is the lack of Russian and German accents in the film, it's hard to imagine battle hardened Nikita Khrushchev(Hoskins) talking with an English accent, with nothing but a tiny smattering of Russian. But this is easily looked past as all the actors play their roles superbly, the set pieces are utterly flawless and the story is thrilling and thoroughly compelling.

For such a cheap price here on Amazon, you'd be silly to miss out on a truly fantastic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 3 Oct 2010
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Very entertaining war movie, if completely inaccurate historically. Ed harris carries the movie. there are some great set peieces including the factory sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but still dazzling, 2 Sep 2005
By 
Martin Anderson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
Aside from a very dodgy ariel shot in the film's opening battle sequence, the special effects here are so superbly implemented as to be seamless - it simply looks like the producers bombed a 1940s Russian City and took some cameras into the devastation. Only the later scenes in Polanski's 'The Pianist' match it for gritty, ambient realism. I cannot even put 'Saving Private Ryan' in the same class, since these dystopian, bombed-out landscapes are *vast* and hypnotising rather than episodic, and Stalingrad itself -as depicted by the producers- is a major character in the film.
On paper this film has the utterly compelling simplicity of a spaghetti western, with Jude Law's brave but talented farm-boy sniper and soviet hero pitched against Ed Harris's taciturn and masterly sniper, stringing out a long and complicated cat-and-mouse game among the astounding sights of Stalingrad in ruins. And, in fact, whatever criticism I have of the film, the premise and visual execution are simply so compelling as to outweigh them all.
That said, I wonder if the apparently French-speaking director was really able to elicit convincing performances from a first-rate cast...? I suspect a director with better English might have trashed and retaken a lot of the dialogue scenes that ended up in the final cut here. The delivery of the not-terrible dialogue is often hokey and stilted, and only the masterly Ed Harris seems to have a consistent handle on his character.
There is something pleasingly old-fashioned about this war-movie, and it seems as if it could have been made in the late 1960s high-budget war-movie revival, inasmuch as the accent is on strong story and character rather than tortuous and ambiguous issues of morality, which latter approach by no means hampered 'saving Private Ryan' (it was the poor execution of a worthwhile idea that did that).
The only grating modern intrusion is the uncomfortable grafting-on of a ***VERY*** weak love-triangle thread, but this seems to have been imposed on the film-makers by some focus-group obsessed, now-fired idiots in head office, and the director wisely makes as little of it as he possibly can without utterly cutting it out, which you get the feeling he would like to do. It was all pretty unnecessary since the three main characters are interesting enough to justify their screen-time without this cold contrivance.
On the 'love' note, the film contains an extraordinarily erotic love-scene between Rachel Weicz's and Jude Law's characters, which takes place in a full-to-capacity bombed-out doss-shelter, elbow to elbow with legions of weary, indifferent and half-asleep soldiers.
The absence of Americans or Brits from the character-cast, combined with there being no particular cultural axe to grind with the Russians as a race (at least while this film was being made), leaves the film-makers free of the onerous task of having to massage fragile American egos/sensibilities regarding WW2 - it's simply not an issue, as there isn't a Yank or a Limey in sight (until you check the actors playing the roles, that is), so the film is refreshingly free of xenophobia and condescension, particularly for an American-made war-film.
I must agree with another reviewer here who feared that the similar poster-campaigns for this film and the execrable 'Pearl Harbor' probably put a lot of people off seeing this; at the time 'Enemy At The Gates' was in cinemas, it put ME off - based on the advertising artwork, I was convinced it was from the same producers as 'Pearl Harbor'.
The 'accent problem' in war films and historical drama in general is a very old one, almost always solved -as in 'Gladiator'- by EVERYONE adopting an English accent (even the Americans actors). That is mostly the solution taken in 'Enemy', though with wildly varying results between the actors. However it was very good to see Bob Hoskins playing someone else besides Bob Hoskins, and really putting the effort into the voice-work, if not the accent - I guess he at least had tapes of Nikita Khrushchev to steer him away from either of his two accents, and he is a chilling presence in the film. Ron Perlman's accent also crosses the Atlantic-if not the equator- several times before he is put out of his misery - but he is otherwise excellent as ever, and all too briefly showcased here.
Rachel Weicz is as winsome as ever (and unusually touching), Jude Law alternating between hypnotising and hypnotised and Joseph Fiennes - well, he showed up on set and knew his lines most of the time, so lets be generous here. Like Mark Wahlberg, he always looks to me like the otherwise-unemployable nephew of one of the film's financiers, but even he has his moments here, particularly his last ones of the film.
This is a film I would love to have seen Kubrick make, particularly in the 1960s, though it would perhaps have been unbearably dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZAITSEV - hero of RUSSIA, 11 Dec 2011
This review is from: Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD] (DVD)
ENEMY AT THE GATES in my oppinion is a must see movie for any fan of film ,based on a true story and set in the battle of STALINGRAD where Stalin himself had ordered his army that they 'MUST NOT TAKE ONE STEP BACK' , ,it tells the story of the celebrated prolific soviet sniper VASILI ZAITSEV,after taking out a group of german soldiers at long range with a standard issue Russian rifle / with no telescopic sights , ZAITSEV is swiftly assigned to the Russian army sniper division ,where he thrives , he kills 4 or 5 german officers and soldiers each day during a 3-5 month period ,and single handedly he starts to demoralise the advancing Germans troups morale , this in turn gave a much needed boost too the soviet army morale , and it gave them a hero to look up too, and the inspiration to repel the German attack time and time again , the Germans are so worried about ZAITSEV'S superior shooting ability that they draft in there own top sharp shooter to try and kill him , his name is major ERWIN KONIG a brilliant sniper in his own right , a battle of wits now commences as they both try and gain the upper hand and try to get the perfect kill shot at one another , they do this by trying to trick each other into giving away there sniper position - so now it's ZAITSEV v KONIG - LET THE BATTLE COMMENCE , who will come out on top ? , thats the question

The story is terrific and full of suspence , the movie is beautifuly shot , the battle scenes look very very real indeed , Stalingrad itself was reduced to rubble during the battle , and it is recreated amazingly well in this movie , the acting is off the very highest standard and JUDE LAW , RACHEL WEISZ ,JOSEPH FIENNES and ED HARRIS are terrific in there lead roles , and director JEAN-JACQUES ANNAUD did a sensational job of putting it all together .... if you aint seen this movie yet ,then YOUR MISSING OUT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enemy at the Gates [Blu-ray] [2001] [US Import], 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enemy at the Gates [Blu-ray] [2001] [US Import]
one of the best ww2 films ever from the russian against the germans in stalingrad and one of my favourite films of all time. there are many reviews you can read them for more info i just want to put up the blu-ray import is region free and will play any blu-ray player and mine came straight from the states, they haven't done a uk release on blu-ray, my advice get the blu-ray its worth it detail is so much better.
basil.
p.s. make sure you buy from resellers is 5.24 + 1.26 delivered and not from amazon at 13.92 with free super delivery this will save you money!
i suggest using this link for resellers
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B00AEFXV8O/ref=dp_olp_new?ie=UTF8&condition=new

Enemy at the Gates [Blu-ray] [2001] [US Import]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plays back fine on my PC!, 8 July 2014
By 
P. Johnson "Papa Jay" (Slough, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Plays back fine on my PC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD]
Enemy at the Gates [2001] [DVD] by Jean-Jacques Annaud (DVD - 2001)
3.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews