Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky there's a Family Guy...
The only drawback to buying this DVD is that once you have the wrapper off, you just can't help watching all 14 episodes in one go. I underwent a serious mental battle with myself after disc one but was unable to prevent myself forcing disc two into the drive. I now feel it is my duty to warn you that Family Guy is a severly addictive product, and may cause withdrawal...
Published on 23 Aug 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Really funny
Family Guy is a brilliant show and it is hilarious but the reason I only gave the series three stars is because the later episodes are a lot better. The show is just starting and just like Simpsons it takes a while to develop. Some of the voices of the characters are different from how they are in later episodes.

Most of the episodes are really good and there...
Published on 25 July 2007 by Bahlob


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky there's a Family Guy..., 23 Aug 2003
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The only drawback to buying this DVD is that once you have the wrapper off, you just can't help watching all 14 episodes in one go. I underwent a serious mental battle with myself after disc one but was unable to prevent myself forcing disc two into the drive. I now feel it is my duty to warn you that Family Guy is a severly addictive product, and may cause withdrawal symptoms in some people. It did with me. I bought series two and three the next day. If you can't afford all three series, don't buy any- it will drive you mad. Seriously though, BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Witty & Politically Incorrect., 19 Dec 2002
By 
J. P. Ellison "jpellison" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the first DVD that I ever purchased, owing to the fact that it was cheap, and that I'd seen the TV series, but not much. It was a spur of the moment purchase, and what a purchase it was.
Whilst showing no special features, this DVD has managed to become the most watched in my collection. The outrageous and controversial humour will literally have you holding on to your sides, and at the same time, you'll cringe in disbelief and question whether or not they're allowed to do this.
The two discs hold 14 episodes, none which are disappointing, and some, including the pilot, which are truly classic Television. What's more, these episodes are uncensored and uncut, meaning the parts they didn't - no, couldn't - show on Television are all here, and each one is as beautifully offensive as the last.
If you don't own this DVD, get it, right now. If you do, run a search for Season 2 and pick that up too. You'll be quoting all the best lines in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Oh my ! It's so good it just has to be fattening !", 5 Oct 2002
By 
Stewart Methven (Falkirk, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Animated sitcoms seem to have a niche that they aim for, the Simpsons is a family show, Futurama tends to the sci-fi fans we don't want to say we are, South Park is for the foul mouthed inner child in all of us. Family Guy has a stranger target.
Family Guy is the comedy equivalent to that piece of chocolate cake you nibble away at when you're supposed to be losing weight. You know it's wrong, but it's richer and more filling than anything else in your diet, that you can't help but cut yourself another piece.
It's the same with this, you know it's wrong to laugh about jokes about race, disability and other taboo subjects, so it shocks you to hear them, but when you see them in the nature of the show, they're either too surreal to accept as being true, like Hitler with his own TV show, or to show how unintentionally stupid and insensitive some characters are, like Peter's comments about his neighbour in a wheelchair who's better than him in pretty much every way, and it's because the writers find a way to talk about such taboo material in such an open way which exposes our dumb prejeduces, that adds a little shock to the humour because you never expect a show like this to be so upfront about it, and it's that shock that keeps you on the edge of your seat so you can try to catch the next one.
If any of what I've said puts you off watching it, then don't watch it, the show doesn't pull any punches, but if you're curious about how a baby can get away with saying he's "Cuckoo for Crack" or how you could get away with laughing to that and many other desktop-startup-worthy jokes and quotes, then go ahead and sound-proof the doors and windows so the neighbours won't complain from the fits of laughter when this arrives in the mail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is no one-liner that can describe Family Guy..., 12 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Any comparison with other shows of the genre (Simpsons, South Park, Futurama) are unfair. This show has a unique type of humour - almost to the point of surrealism. The gags can be read on so many levels and I can honestly say I've never managed to watch an episode without laughing out loud.
I'd be suprised if anyone were to mistake the names of the characters for those of the lesser cartoons. Peter Griffon could never be pictured as a 'Hank'.
If you enjoy Simpsons, but want a little more intelligent humour...
If you like South Park, but want your humour in a more subtle way...
If you enjoy King of the Hill, but would prefer to be entertained...
Family Guy is the show to see.
On video, it was great, on DVD - quality preserved forever, it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dysfunction has never been so funny!, 20 May 2007
By 
G Parnell "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I was introduced to family guy through a friend, who kept telling me how funny it was. I went out and brought this boxset and fell in love with the characters instantly.

There is Peter Griffin - who works in a toy factory and falls asleep on duty and "only drank so the statue of liberty would take her clothes off..." and whose daily rituals of TV watching take priority over everything else.

There is Lois Griffin - devoted wife and mother who dreams of becoming a star entertainer, and juggles housework and motherhood with piano lessons (she teaches) and avoiding being killed by her murderous infant - Stewie Griffin.

Stewie Griffin - Youngest of the Griffin clan, but certainly the most intelligent. His plans of world domination are hindered by his infancy - but he isn't about to let that stop him!

Meg Griffin - the daughter of the family, and disliked by everyone who think she is so ugly they refuse to acknowlege her. Meg dreans of being popular, passing her driving test and of another family.

Chris Griffin - the elder son of the family who loves food but has roughly the IQ of a cheeto. He's loveable though.

Brian Griffin - A talking dog who offers the family advice - not that they take it - and who loves a martini or several, a smoke and outwits Stewie.

There are classic episodes here, worth repeated viewings and for me, this first series was the best! Stewie is more evil here than in any other series (his character seems to have been watered down to centre more on questioning his sexual orientation) and the show bristles with humour, verbal and sight gags which are still funny despite the fact that some of the gags are lost on us british as some gags are from american culture - but we get the meaning behind it anyway.

Buy it - watch it. Then watch it again.

Then go and buy the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest animated comedy ever?, 30 Dec 2006
By 
Ptjennings (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Family Guy is one of the funniest animated shows I have ever watched for a long time. The best thing about it is that where other animated shows seem to run out of ideas quickly and become tired Family Guiy has come on in leaps and bounds seeming never to run out of ideas to support episodes. Another good thing about episodes is that most of them support at least two stories at a time so you get to follow two or more members of the family which keeps you interested until the end of the episode. Some of the jokes on the show are a bit risque with some jokes poking at tender subjects such as the OJ Simpson scandal, racism, drugs and sex but this is why it retains some of it's charm as some jokes will make you laugh out loud and others will shock you and make you laugh later. The one flaw of the show is a lot of the jokes are relevant to american pop culture so it's hard for a Brit to follow some of the gags but it doesn't get lost in american pop culture so us Limeys can still laugh. Some people may tell you to start with the second or third season but don't, get the seasons in order or you may not get some of the jokes or understand the storylines as some are relevant to previous episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Entertainment !, 1 Nov 2006
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I only recently came across Family Guy, but what a belated pleasant surprise it was !

The storylines all revolve around a rather dysfunctional and often quite odd family, headed by a gormless father, plus their friends/workmates.

The humour is often adult in nature, very rude and cerebral. This is one of the few recent comedy shows (and that includes The Simpsons) which genuinely makes me laugh, as opposed to 'just' smiling or getting the occasional chuckle.

Many of the jokes/plots might be deemed 'politically incorrect' as they take big swipes at particular sections of society, so it is quite possible some will take offence - you have been warned.

However, a large proportion of the gags are extremely original and regularly 'off the wall', which makes them all the more enjoyable...

The storylines are simple, but it is their unusual nature and the non-conformist characters (eg a talking dog, 'Brian' my favourite, and an ultra-intelligent/apparently psychopathic baby) which make Family Guy true entertainment.

One word of advice. If you can, search out the Region 1 DVD versions of Season 1 - 3 and 4 onwards (be warned: they are referred to as 'Volumes', not 'Seasons') as they not only contain Extras, such as Episode commentaries, but also show the episodes in the correct order (parity exists only for Season 4) !

For example :

The Family Guy, Vol. 1: Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

Family Guy, Vol. 2: Season 3 [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

The Family Guy, Vol. 3: Season 4 [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Comical, 3 July 2007
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I have to say that I am quite new to Family Guy. I had watched the odd episode or two from the various series on television, but it wasn't until I purchased season one on DVD and actually sat down and watched it that I realised how good Family Guy actually is. I couldn't tare myself away from it. I was hooked and just wanted to watch episode after episode. Family Guy is compelling, addictive and above all else - very comical. Stewie is my favourite character for obvious reasons. (I myself was an egotistic compulsive power hungry infant set on world domination) 'Chitty Chitty Death Bang' and 'Death Is A Bi*ch' are my favourite episodes in the season. To think I wasted so much time watching other animated shows, while Family Guy was waiting to be discovered. I have four more seasons to catch-up on but if all episodes are to the same standard as the one's I've seen then I doubt it will take my long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most hilarious comedies on TV for years, 31 Oct 2007
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Family guy is a rip-off of The Simpsons, but it's a superior rip-off that not only exceeds it's 'inspiration' but also pretty much every other comedy out there.
The series follows the (mis)adventures of a lower-middle-class American family with a stupid slobbish father and a nagging mother, so-far so-Simpsons, but they also have a psychotic baby intent on world-domination and the murder of his mother, a dog that's clearly the best educated one there, and a neighbor whose sexual practices are so perverted he's built up an immunity to mace spray.
Family Guy is a very adult show, with regular swearing and sexual references many will not be happy exposing to children (who won't get the jokes anyway since the humor is actually very intelligent for the most part). So if you are easily offended you really should think carefully and look up some clips of the show before buying this. To that end there is currently a 'Freakin Sweet Collection' available that contains a few choice episodes and at the time of writing this review was a little under a tenner on amazon.
For those of you who are not put off by the adult and occasionally offensive material, you are in for an real treat here. Every episode is cleverly written, extremely funny and very re-watchable, the first series doesn't contain a single bad episode and it's continued hilarity on repeat veiwings makes it well worth the price tag.
A highly recommended, highly entertaining show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Opening Season, 10 Sep 2007
By 
A. HILL - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD collections of Family Guy are kinda hard work when compared to other TV shows. The Simpsons, for example, neatly package all episodes into one season, whereas what we have here is 7 from Season 1 and 7 from the 21 episode Season 2. It does make sense to have more episodes in one package, but maybe they should have used the American format (sticking both Seasons into one volume) to save people the confusion.

Aside from the messy Season structure, this volume of episodes is well worth the money. Each episode is incredibly tight, jam-packed with hilarious jokes and some strange but satisfying story lines. Of course, the characters sound a little different than they do now, and the animation is slightly poorer, but it still has the Family Guy charm.

I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed about the lack of extras on the DVD. If you've ever bought Simpsons seasons before, you expect a thick booklet, commentary with each episode and some animatics, etc, which are quite valuable if you are interested/want to get into the film/animation industry. I've come to the conclusion that the people behind Family Guy must be quite averse to doing commentaries because even the later seasons have few commentaries (the extras do get better though).

Still, the meat of the DVD is the episodes and they do not disappoint, which is why I've given it a flawless five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD]
Family Guy - Season 1 [1999] [DVD] by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2004)
6.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews