Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and provocative series with a daunting conclusion
The Space series is an extremely innovative and suggestive presentation of the most important questions and some answers which now arise to humans about the universe.
The state of the art technique used surrenders itself more to science fiction than to the true spirit of search invoked by researchers. This dramatisation is further angled towards a gloomy and hopeless...
Published on 14 Oct 2001 by U. Ugalde Martinez

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series ... but forget about DVD extras.
I suppose this series, with its extensive CGI effects lays itself open to the possible charge of 'dumbing down'. However, it escapes this by involving the viewer closely in the science that is being explained. Having said that, some of the science is rather shallow. For example, we are told about 'worm holes' and that they theoretically exist, and efforts are being...
Published on 5 May 2005 by Mr. F. Ledwidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Insult to fact, 28 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
Not having watched the Series on television and on hearing the reviews which alikend Space to Carl Sagans Cosmos for modern times, I bought the DVD with great anticipation.
It is totally the opposite. Science ficton married with scare mongering and mixed with fact giving anybody wishing to learn about our Universe the wrong impression on the complexities and wonders that are around us.
I give Space 1 Star for the special effects used and also Sam Niells exellent narration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Doc ever, period !, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Mr Gobz (bristol, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
I don`t understand alot of the reviews for this DVD, I thought that this series was the most entertaining Doc ever. The presenter was very good and the subject matter was gripping, ok so u can`t hear explosions in space and yes some of the scenes are speculated, so what it was all very entertaining anyways !
You do need to watch it all more than once to take it all in as it is not as `padded` out as perhaps the planets DVD, but it matters not when you own the DVD and can watch it as many times as you like, great stuff !
Everyone I know that has seen this DVD also thought that it was very good, don`t know what planet some of the people who reviewed this are from ?, one in a distant galaxy I reckon,
nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sugar-coated peanuts!, 9 Oct 2002
By 
S. JENKIN (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
Being an average 18 year old A Level student stuck in the arts/science chasm and lacking any great physics genius, I was taken by the sugar-coated merchandising of this DVD - at first I was thrown by the picture of a strange man on the cover, and thought it was some kind of silly American drama series or something laughable, but then I turned to the reverse of the DVD and read the episode titles and their descriptions, which seemed very interesting, and noticing that it was a BBC series I was quick to get my cash out - seeing as I had previously bought 'The Planets', 'Walking With Dinosaurs' and 'The Blue Planet', which were all astonishing insights into their particular fields, and excellent viewing for the average BBC2 watching kind of person (someone with a keen interest but no expert knowledge).
This particular series however, is not aimed at the lay-man but the lay-child! Having put the DVD on I soon realised why Sam Neill's presence on the cover is bigger than the title of the series itself - because it is just as much about Sam Neill as it is about the Universe, and the fact that he is holding a shining star on the cover (and many times throughout the series, when he steps into his graphical display area and fiddles around with the universe) elevates him to a God-like being, when he is in fact just a Captain Kirk-like narrator who presents scientifically debatable theories as proven facts! I think the narration of 'The Planets' was much more favourable - where there is information presented scientifically (not factually) and there isn't such a great sense of conquest. In this particular series though, conquest is a common theme throughout all of the episodes: when discussing black holes the focus is put upon how they could destroy us and how we might be able to avoid or defeat them - rather than a true scientific ponder of how we would go about discovering precisely what they are - seeing as we don't know *anything* about them other than that they swallow things up!, but unsurprisingly, 'swallowing things up' is given a half-hour set in this series (to give the graphic designers some work to do and the younger viewers some action to wake them up from the boredom that most of them experience when listening to cosmic rants). Another example of this unscientific stance to the series is the way in which the episodes 'Are We Alone?' and 'Boldly Go' focus on how we will go about conquering the universe, and express an impatient view towards space research (not unlike a child whining "Are we therrrre yet?!" in the back of your car): a good program would focus on what we wish to achieve by space research in the future, whereas a bad one would focus on making pretty videos of how fast our future spacecrafts will be able to go, as this one does.
On the positive side though, despite being terribly factual - the information is true, and perhaps the lack of detail in the subjects is beneficial for the younger viewers who might not understand more in depth concepts (e.g. not going into detail about why a black hole does what it does, because children won't and don't really need to understand any of this yet). Plus most obviously, the graphics in this series are absolutely fantastic - often eccentrically fantastic. If all cosmology series' were as fantastically graphically eccentric as this, then I could imagine the future generation of space travellers being utterly bored at the sight of real stars exploding when they finally do make it to other solar systems; instead of "One small step for man, one giant leap for mankind", "Blimey this is boring, lets go and watch some cosmology documentaries on TV" is what the future Neil Armstrongs would say.
In conclusion then, referring to the title of the review, "Sugar-coated peanuts": buy this DVD if you like sugar and have not studied the universe before, but don't touch it with a ten light-year long bargepole if you have any previous knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A performance by Sam Neil!, 20 Aug 2001
By A Customer
The new series from the BBC, Space is a series that attempts to reveal the mysteries of the universe. Great special visual effects and a good dialogue. However, the content is disappointing. Being an academic, I expected more. You would want a prestigious corporation to make a series as good as The Planets. To watch a series about the universe, you would want that series to inform you about the universe in detail. But unfortunately this series disappoints, if you want more from a series, then nothing less than CH4s, Universe with John Hurt will do. With excerts from the BBC series The Planets, Space is by no means original. Which is what I hoped with this series. Is this the best that the BBC can come up with, if that is the case, the future IS bleak. Better try next time BBC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR YOUNG CHILDREN, 28 Oct 2001
By A Customer
My son loves anything to do with space - but this is a series that will discourage a bright child to follow up such an interest in space science. It makes adults frightened let alone children with its appalling corny over-dramatization - shaking coffee cups, tidal waves, more explosions than a bad American action film. The interesting bits with visits to space labs etc. and the interviews with scientists and astronomers is flattened by the constant swing back to hammy Aussie actor. It also is very difficult when they show footage of exploding stars etc. to know if you are looking at artist's computer images or the real thing (there is real footage included) - as it just carries on in this melodramatic "be afraid, be VERY afraid" format.
BBC trying to go Hollywood. Be warned : Potentially dangerous for any relatives who suffer from depression - they might run out and jump off a cliff afterward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tabloid trash from the BBC - very disappointing, 21 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
Rather light on content regarding hard science, they spent most of theircreative effort (and budget) on glitzy presentation. Alas, even thepresentation metaphor is ill-conceived, perhaps designed by advertisingconsultants rather than communicators of scientific thought. The klutzyquadrangle which represents the cosmos is visually decorative, butdetracts from, rather than enhances, what little scientific content thereis. It appears to provide Mr. Neil with a minor ego-trip, as he seems toenjoy blundering through it like an ignorant demigod. The series returnsagain and again to preaching doom and advocating impotent humility, withtoo many overblown and ill-founded warnings of impending doom (asteroidimpacts, black holes, etc.), and lots of scenes ending with the presenterstaring forebodingly into the camera. In fact, the presenter hogged thescreen enough to be intrusive, rather than a guide to the subjectmaterial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space [DVD]
Space [DVD] by Sam Neill (DVD - 2001)
5.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews