Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and provocative series with a daunting conclusion
The Space series is an extremely innovative and suggestive presentation of the most important questions and some answers which now arise to humans about the universe.
The state of the art technique used surrenders itself more to science fiction than to the true spirit of search invoked by researchers. This dramatisation is further angled towards a gloomy and hopeless...
Published on 14 Oct. 2001 by U. Ugalde Martinez

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series ... but forget about DVD extras.
I suppose this series, with its extensive CGI effects lays itself open to the possible charge of 'dumbing down'. However, it escapes this by involving the viewer closely in the science that is being explained. Having said that, some of the science is rather shallow. For example, we are told about 'worm holes' and that they theoretically exist, and efforts are being...
Published on 5 May 2005 by Mr. F. Ledwidge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A cosmology series for tabloid readers., 21 Oct. 2002
By 
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, this has good special effects. It's very pretty. The anamorphic transfer is competently done. It sounds nice in Dolby Digital 5.1. Sam Neil is a half-decent presenter. But when what he's given to present is a vacuous, over-simplistic, sensationalised script, it all becomes meaningless. After watching a few episodes you could be forgiven for thinking that the world is about to be blown apart tomorrow, such is the narrowness of the field of vision and the way in which it is presented. If it were to be, if nothing else, at least the BBC would stop churning out rubbish like this masquerading as a serious documentary.
After the superlative 'Planets' series (a far far superior series in every conceivable way) I had high hopes for this. I was sorely disappointed, since each line in the script seems to exist solely to introduce yet another very pretty, but ultimately pointless special effect, whilst telling the viewer absolutely nothing that they doubtless didn't already know. This is definitely a case of style over content, and offers nothing new whatsoever. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD explains in a very graphic way, and in layman terms, the universe from its inception with the so-called Big Bang through to the future.
Some of the conclusions drawn, and indeed the questions left unanswered, are slightly disturbing - the Sun will explode eventually, and Earth will disappear. It's all detailed 'how and why'. Black holes are a very real threat, and there are lots of them in just our galaxy - their power is put into such perspective by Sam Neill that it's mind-boggling.
But the real beauty of 'Space' is that its presentation conveys a lot more understanding about how insignificant our little planet is in the 'whole scheme of things' - for instance, there are a million stars in the universe for every grain of sand on Earth. Distances become meaningless. Fascinating stuff.
And for those interested in a broad philosophy, the series also hints at a new approach to the meaning of life. Or at least it will give you more to think about.
The computer simulations here are first class, taking you on an adventurous ride through the universe, and the documentary on the 'making of' is very good. Sam Neill is excellent, and is obviously engrossed in his subject.
'Space' will leave you awestruck. Also, it's a good companion for BBC's 'Planets'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space DVD, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
What an excellent dvd this is. A great insight to the Planets around us and beyond.
I now have a much greater understanding of our universe. Mind blowing stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
Dr. Nigel D. Miles (Cornwall...UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
A true gift of our current understanding...even limited as it is...the CGI/SFX are wonderful.. the facts are interesting . Well done and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, and very disapointing., 9 Jan. 2002
I'm afraid all the comments about this being completely inferior to both 'The Planets' and 'Universe' are true. This is poor and simplistic, which definitely puts style over content. This series covers very little ground (and nothing really new), and offers simple ideas with either little or no explanations. It does include plenty of meaningless and trivial special effects though.
One of the most annoying things about this series though, is that the (rather simple) ideas presented are shown as absolute facts, with no alternative viewpoints or explanations - and like all these series, some of this is open to debate and alternative ideas.
I also think that a fascinating subject like this does not need the distractions of a presenter with lingering beach shots; the plain documentary style of the other series are completely superior.
Very poor, either watch 'The Planets', 'Universe' - or even 'The Sky at Night'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space, 23 April 2010
By 
N. Pedersen "Voyager2010" (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series which gives you an insight to the great universe that surrounds us.Space [DVD] [2001]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For it's day, this DVD was state of the ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
For it's day, this DVD was state of the art with CGI, still informative and you can't beat Sam Neill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 20 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Great video, for those who would like to grasp basic knowledge about Earth and Space. Its fantastically presented by Sam Neill and supported by excellant graphics. You can see Earth as it is and visualise what the future holds for mankind and Space. Its very easy to follow and you don't need to be Einstein to watch it. Everything you need to know about space is explained clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars again xmas present, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
this a xmas present for my partner i know he will love it as he is well into this kind of thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Insult to fact, 28 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
Not having watched the Series on television and on hearing the reviews which alikend Space to Carl Sagans Cosmos for modern times, I bought the DVD with great anticipation.
It is totally the opposite. Science ficton married with scare mongering and mixed with fact giving anybody wishing to learn about our Universe the wrong impression on the complexities and wonders that are around us.
I give Space 1 Star for the special effects used and also Sam Niells exellent narration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space [DVD]
Space [DVD] by Sam Neill (DVD - 2001)
£5.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews