Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and provocative series with a daunting conclusion
The Space series is an extremely innovative and suggestive presentation of the most important questions and some answers which now arise to humans about the universe.
The state of the art technique used surrenders itself more to science fiction than to the true spirit of search invoked by researchers. This dramatisation is further angled towards a gloomy and hopeless...
Published on 14 Oct 2001 by U. Ugalde Martinez

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series ... but forget about DVD extras.
I suppose this series, with its extensive CGI effects lays itself open to the possible charge of 'dumbing down'. However, it escapes this by involving the viewer closely in the science that is being explained. Having said that, some of the science is rather shallow. For example, we are told about 'worm holes' and that they theoretically exist, and efforts are being...
Published on 5 May 2005 by Mr. F. Ledwidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good series ... but forget about DVD extras., 5 May 2005
By 
Mr. F. Ledwidge (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose this series, with its extensive CGI effects lays itself open to the possible charge of 'dumbing down'. However, it escapes this by involving the viewer closely in the science that is being explained. Having said that, some of the science is rather shallow. For example, we are told about 'worm holes' and that they theoretically exist, and efforts are being made to make one but are given not the slightest hint about how this can be done. We are only told that it will involve black holes.
That said, this is a really interesting series, well worth buying and watching more than once.
Avoid the 'Special features' though. I had a look at them expecting more interviews with the fine line-up of scientists in the main programmes. What you actually get are some bizarre clips which look like in-jokes for the production crew. Funny for them maybe, not for anyone else. I would have given 4 stars without the 'extras'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and provocative series with a daunting conclusion, 14 Oct 2001
By 
U. Ugalde Martinez (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Space series is an extremely innovative and suggestive presentation of the most important questions and some answers which now arise to humans about the universe.
The state of the art technique used surrenders itself more to science fiction than to the true spirit of search invoked by researchers. This dramatisation is further angled towards a gloomy and hopeless end to humanity. Something that is neither here nor there to the viewer, since it will probably not affect him or her in his or her lifetime.
Nevertheless, the relentless search of scientists is well portrayed, and this provides perhaps the most positive and cheerful spirit to this series.
I highly recommend it,especially over a good drink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the knockers - this title is brilliant, 6 Jan 2003
By 
C. Crossley "kilo40" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
'For every grain of sand on Earth there are a million stars in the universe'.
Judging from the reviews below one would think SPACE is either a 'love it' or 'hate it' type of product. Personally I fall into the 'love it' catergory. I own both this title and the BBC's excellent 'The Planets' title and would say definately that SPACE exceeds Planets in terms of the very clear and accurate way it uses to explain many of the topics covered by the series. The concept behind the series is clearly to educate viewers about just how amazing the universe we live in actually is, and as such it uses lots of very nice looking computer animations and visual effects to achieve this aim. The result is a very slick, entertaining and well thought out series which will educate and entertain for many veiwings (I have watched mine about 5 times so far and still enjoy it). If you enjoy learning about space and the universe then this is a must have title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Astro Stuff, 31 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy quite weighty astronomy and space products and have seen other reviews that mark this video down in comparison to the very professional BBC The Planets. This is a lighter documentary and has more of the exciting popular science topics such as asteroids and black holes. However, the computer simulations used are the best I've seen on television documentaries of this sort(and I've seen a few, being an amateur astronomer for over 20 years). They include uptodate imaging from Hubble, etc. Sam Neill also gives an excellent performance. It would not be ridiculous to say that he puts across the same child-like wonder yet confident story-telling that made Carl Sagan so entertaining. If you like space or popular astronomy at any level, you'll love this: three hours of visual wonder for young or old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Glossy, Glitzy, Disappointing, 15 Oct 2003
This is a very average documentary. Sam Neil gives it a Hollywood feel, but the subject matter should be enough to excite without this being necessary. The graphics are good but that is all it has got in it's favour. I strongly recommend ignoring this and investing in Channel Four's awesome Universe narrated by John Hurt. It is far superior in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astronomical, 19 May 2003
By 
Nicola Jane Gibson (Lochgelly, Fife United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
well, for a start the graphical representation of space is awesome and give a supremely good view of what space is like. Sam Neil is the perfect host for this documentary. Although the format of presentation is very different to normal documentaries, this stands out as special. I dont see what the problem is about this programme. People mention that the program features the various threats posed for humanity and that this is frightening. Its supposed to make you think, its subject to interpretation . Only something that is dramatic very influencial and is presented in a specific way has the power to fill a human with fear, and that is what makes this dvd one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually Magnificant, 20 Aug 2002
By 
C. Crossley "kilo40" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is great. The CG effects they use to show the sun, planets and universe are nothing short of spectacular and the topics they have chosen for each show in the series is well thought out and well scripted. If you have kids and you want them to learn about the solar system and stars we live amongst then this is an excellent way to teach them. The show is enjoying and interesting to watch, as well as being as good as any Sci-fi program to keep you entertained and interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not really good science, 8 Dec 2001
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
This programme was a bit of a disappointment. I am a science teacher and wanted something contemporary for my 16 year old physics students to enjoy. Some of the graphics are impressive, but the whole thing is far too unscientific. It presents a paranoid view of the future of the universe. There is not much that will increase your quality of life or enjoyment of the wonder of the universe, I'm afraid. It's not bad for someone who holds a placard up saying 'the end is nigh', but if you want decent science, try the absolutely magnificent series 'the Planets'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Afraid!!!!, 19 Oct 2001
By A Customer
What a series. It truely puts mankind in its place! Space shows us we spend too much time fighting amongst ourselves when there are far greater threats to all of us. This series should have been called "Space: The Dangers!" as that is what most of the episodes show. But it does give us hope too that we can try to preseve ourselves. Although some scientists will say a lot is speculation and not fact, it is hard to find facts about a Universe we know very little about. The special effects are awesome. The commentry by Sam is spot on. The content will make you think twice before going about your daily business! The series is not as in depth as The Planets, but how can you go into detail about a subject that is bigger than our understanding? Space will appeal to a wide range of people. It is easy to follow, fun and scary to watch, and has something most series lack....excitement! I hope the BBC make more of this as it does not overload the viewer with ridiculous facts we need not know. It concentrates on explaining the more exciting aspects of the Universe in plain speak, not with lots of jargon or terminology. Space leaves the viewer to make up their own minds about the subjects covered and to want to find out more. This is what makes it appealing to everyone. I only hope the Beeb can make more series.
At last, a series which doesn't send viewers to sleep! Well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sam Neill makes this what it is, 3 Dec 2004
By 
Michael Smith "padremiguel" (orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space [DVD] (DVD)
Despite what some of the reviews say Sam Neill is a key part in why this series was so enjoyable. Granted it may lack a bit in hard science but it presents the facts and theories involved quite well and keeps your interest throughout. I think Sam Neill has the perfect voice for a series such as this and the only thing i can fault is the lack of extras on the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space [DVD]
Space [DVD] by Sam Neill (DVD - 2001)
6.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews