Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxxx..............
An eclectic and unusal compilation of easy listening classics. There's some traditonal pieces here, such as Vaughan Williams's "The Lark Ascending" and Albinoni's "Adagio" (you'll know them when you hear them even if you don't recognize the names!) More interesting, there are some modern pieces that aren't so widely known. For example, I've never come across Reich's...
Published on 3 Nov. 2002 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A relaxing compilation of classical and modern compositions from the films
This is the compilation of various compositions (soundtracks) that appear in movies and TV series. Most of the compositions are classical.

The first CD contains mostly classical compositions and is quite OK. The second CD has more modern compositions that are very far from being classical (i.e. "My Heart Will Go On" theme from teh file Titanic). The second CD...
Published on 24 Jan. 2011 by Eugene


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relaxxx.............., 3 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
An eclectic and unusal compilation of easy listening classics. There's some traditonal pieces here, such as Vaughan Williams's "The Lark Ascending" and Albinoni's "Adagio" (you'll know them when you hear them even if you don't recognize the names!) More interesting, there are some modern pieces that aren't so widely known. For example, I've never come across Reich's "Nagoya Marimbas" before, or Armstrong's "Weather Storm". Both are beautiful pieces of music that may inspire me to look out more by these particular composers.
If I've got one criticism of this album, it's that it assumes its listeners are dumbed down kids of the hamburger generation who can only relate to serious music if they recognize it from and advert or a film! Other than that, the mix of familiar and unusual is refreshing and sets this album apart from others in the same genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully selected music, 28 Sept. 2001
By 
di.g@lineone.net (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
I bought this as an impulse buy, put it on at work as background music and ended up sitting at my desk doing nothing but listening. Containing old favorites like Barber's Adagio for Strings and Vaughan Williams The Lark Ascending adding what are becoming new favorites like the spine tingling Weather Storm by Craig Armstrong it hasn't been out of my CD player yet. It's timeless, beautiful music wonderfully put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - a superb mix of classical styles, 26 Jan. 2002
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after seeing it on Amazon.I am a bit of a classical music beginner and so do not know much about styles or quality, but take my word for it, there is something to suit everybody's taste!
I particularly liked Beethovens Figilo Perduto sung by Sarah Brightman and Allegri: Miserere Mei, Deus from Angela's Ashes as they are so powerful for a chillout Cd. Both the CD's are so good that i have listened to little else for months and probably will not for a while (or at least until they bring out another).
To sum this CD up : perfect to sit around listening to after a busy day or after doing homework. My advice: Go out and get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 28 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
i have found this collection of classical music, and some modern classically-influenced music, an incredible listening experience. simply beautiful and so perfect for winding down. great cd to have on in the background when friends are round too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music so beautiful it made me weep..., 13 Mar. 2004
By 
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
This CD was given to me as a christmas present, but have only started listening to it recently. The first disc is the best with the chest burstingly beautiful "O mio babbino caro", but the second disk is heaving with relaxing hits. It really does do what it say's on the tin, the most relaxing CD on the market, the second being "Pure peace". I can only advise you to buy it now, if I am wrong you can resell it on amazon for almost it's purchase price and I am sure there will be many takers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel's Oboe, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
J. E. Boss "teddyboss62" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
Bought this album after going to a concert and hearing a young man play Gabriel's Oboe so searched everywhere for an album with it on, didn't want the film soundtrack. The bonus is you get plenty of great tracks as well but my favourite is still Gabriel's Oboe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rewarding experience, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
Excellent record.After listening to Classic FM followed up some of the titles already heard.This contained many other titles and now enjoying its ambience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent listening very happy to hear again, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
Previous cd no longer able to play so very pleased with this purchase. Very mellow and tranquil to relax to. Would recommend purchase of same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly easy listening, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
Mostly easy listening but a few opera type tracks which just shriek through my head, spoiling what is otherwise a good chill out type cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 5 Nov. 2002
By 
This review is from: Classical Chillout (Audio CD)
The best thing about this album is that you already know most of these tunes so you really can chill out. It's not just for people who know a lot about classical music, this is for everyone to relax and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classical Chillout
Classical Chillout by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews