Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Band ever? Probably!
If you are a lover of rock music, not just punk rock, this album is a must have! Arguably the best live band ever (Fans/Inspirations include U2, Green Day etc.), Stiff Little Fingers take you through their original classics, including a memorable 9 minute punk/reggae version of Bob Marleys Johnny Was.
SLF have gone on to write many, many more fantastic tunes, but as...
Published on 1 Dec 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I ordered a BRAND NEW copy of this cd. Instead i was posted a second hand shabby one which barely works. Very disappointed.
Published 5 months ago by Dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Band ever? Probably!, 1 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hanx! (Audio CD)
If you are a lover of rock music, not just punk rock, this album is a must have! Arguably the best live band ever (Fans/Inspirations include U2, Green Day etc.), Stiff Little Fingers take you through their original classics, including a memorable 9 minute punk/reggae version of Bob Marleys Johnny Was.
SLF have gone on to write many, many more fantastic tunes, but as a live band is where they excel. Buy this album and see why!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The difinitive SLF, 13 Jun 2001
This review is from: Hanx (Audio CD)
Im not usually a fan of live albums which try and bring a cast of thousands into the living room, but Hanx delivers the power and energy of SLF's best two albums without the mediocre production on Inflammable material. Jake Burns and co. are at their most influential here, pumping out punk classics as Nobodys heroes, Suspect device and Gotta getaway with a pride that matches their enthusiasm. However Johnny was is the star of the show and makes the album worthwhile itself. A must buy for any appreciation of energetic music whether from the punk school or not !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S-L-F..at their best live...pure music.a must.!!, 18 Nov 2000
By 
Mr. E. Geddes (Buckie...Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hanx (Audio CD)
SLF.with jake burns at his best live and raw.from the opening johnny was....this album is slf.at the height of their reign as irelands best loved punk band.a must for all fans.not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupendous recording, one of the best sounds ever, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Hanx! (Audio CD)
This is one of my absolute favourite albums. It is utterly stunning in sonic quality - every instrument in its place and supremely well recorded and separated. The drum sound is magnificent, the bass has just the right weighting between lower and mid frequencies, and the snarl of the guitars is perfectly reproduced.

Honestly, they couldn't have done better in the studio. And, like the guy above says, the versions of the tracks included here are surely definitive. The dynamic of the set is excellent, though I must say I usually skip Johnny Was - too long, unlike every other blast of perfection on here.

Stone cold classic, should be owned by everyone.

(Not really sure why they included the old "b" sides Running Bear and White Christmas - which were recorded in Aberdeen, not the Rainbow - they're a good laugh, but a shame to compromise what is otherwise the perfect live album.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gold Standard of Live Albums, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Cormac T. Garvey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hanx! (Audio CD)
This is the album I use for the final 40 minutes of a marathon , hitting the wall and beyond .
Emotive beyond words.Enuf said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A snap shot of SLF doing what they did best !, 23 Jun 2008
By 
J. Logan (Kilmarnock, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hanx (Audio CD)
This album is worth buying for the live version of Johnny Was" alone ! A song recorded by Bob Marley ("Rastaman Vibrations")and regardless of what Jake says it was written by Rita Marley not Robert Marley (sic) ! If I had a pound for everytime I've fell asleep listening to this album, I would be living next door to Bill Gates ! I am on my second copy of the cd and i wore out a few copies since it was released !

This is a snapshot of how good the SLF live shows were in their heyday !
You sit me down behind a drum kit and I will go into automatic mode and start to bang out " Johnny Was" I can never and never will decide what my fav song of all time is. It's either the Live "Johnny Was" from Hanx!or "Whiteman In Hammersmith Palis" by The CLASH."

The album was designed to introduce the band to America before they toured there. It was also released in the Uk so we didnt have to buy it on import. ( hanx 4 that !)

I am going to make a bold statement now that the purists will strongly dissagree with. I think the tracks from the First album ( Inflammable Material") are better on Hanx than on the studio recording. The studio version does have a DIY/tinny feel to them. Hanx, I believe makes them even more powerful.

if you havn't got any SLF albums then this would be a good starting point !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Stiff Little Fingers, 7 Feb 2002
This review is from: Hanx (Audio CD)
I have listened to and have bought many SLF CD's, but this is my favourite. It combines all the hits with the raw punk agression they were so famous for. The song "Hanx" should go down as one of the best. We loved this song until the early hours of the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NORN IRON PUNK ROCK, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. M. Mcaleer "Mac" (Belfast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hanx! (Audio CD)
North Belfast's finest in rip-roaring form. You should buy this if you've never heard it, it ranks up there with classic live albums like If You Want Blood or Live at Leeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Album, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hanx! (Audio CD)
I've still got the original LP some where in a loft but not listened to this album for 25 years!
Fabulous - really great and brings back some great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: Hanx! (Audio CD)
I ordered a BRAND NEW copy of this cd. Instead i was posted a second hand shabby one which barely works. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9896fa4)

This product

Hanx!
Hanx! by Stiff Little Fingers (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews