Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD
Finally it arrived! The best of Midge Ure and Ultravox on one CD packed with great songs such as "Vienna", "Dancing with tears in my eyes", "Hymn", "If I was", "Breath" and "Lament" which are among my favorites. Many compilations were released during the years either a best of Ultravox or Midge Ure and Ultravox together, but this one is simply the best.
Do not...
Published on 23 Nov 2002 by Ziad R. Hakim

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Does NOT contain the best of either Midge Ure OR Ultravox
This may seem a petty and pedantic point but this collection really needs to be retitled "The Best Of Midge Ure WITH Ultravox".

Midge Ure has had a long career both before and after his tenure with Ultravox, including having been a member of 70's Bay City Rollers wannabes Slik (you may remember "For Ever And Ever"); punk bandwagon jumpers PVC2; former Sex...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by Eddie Snide


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 23 Nov 2002
By 
Ziad R. Hakim (Beirut Lebanon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
Finally it arrived! The best of Midge Ure and Ultravox on one CD packed with great songs such as "Vienna", "Dancing with tears in my eyes", "Hymn", "If I was", "Breath" and "Lament" which are among my favorites. Many compilations were released during the years either a best of Ultravox or Midge Ure and Ultravox together, but this one is simply the best.
Do not hesitate to buy this CD if you are a fan like me.
You will not regret it. The recording is superb, you can enjoy each of the songs with superior high quality sound.
A MUST!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listening With Tears In My Eyes, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
This is a truly wonderful album, comprising, for the first time, all Ultravox's finest electronic moments combined with Ure's more relaxed, and sometimes overlooked solo work.
Fans of 80's pop may be familiar with the big hits such as "Vienna", "If I Was" and "Dancing With Tears In My Eyes", but there is so much more on offer here. Early tracks like "Sleepwalk", "The Voice", and "The Thin Wall" are supercharged synth pop at it's finest and are among the best on the album. Whereas, "Breathe" and "Beneath a Spielberg Sky" are examples of Ure's more recent solo work which showcase his unique voice and wonderful writing ability.
This is a fine tribute to the man most remember as "the guy who wrote Do They Know it's Christmas". A fine legacy indeed, but one, as this collection shows, which doesn't fully justify his talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Trip, 15 Feb 2010
By 
D. Wearring (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
Excellent compilation - all the hits plus a few others thrown in. Ultravox were one of my favourite bands from the 80s and one of the few I didn't have on CD - all on vinyl up in the loft somewhere! I'd forgotten how good they were and what a distinctive sound they had. A must-have for all Ultravox or Midge Ure fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I remembered!!, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
A great combination of gd vocals, screaming guitars, great effects from keyboards, and drums that make you want to 'play the steering wheel' in traffic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
Great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Does NOT contain the best of either Midge Ure OR Ultravox, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
This may seem a petty and pedantic point but this collection really needs to be retitled "The Best Of Midge Ure WITH Ultravox".

Midge Ure has had a long career both before and after his tenure with Ultravox, including having been a member of 70's Bay City Rollers wannabes Slik (you may remember "For Ever And Ever"); punk bandwagon jumpers PVC2; former Sex Pistol Glen Matlock's rICH kIDS (you may remember "Ghosts Of Princes In Towers"); having been one of the driving forces behind the Live Aid phenomenon, co-writing "Do They Know It's Christmas" with Bob Geldof; as well as having released half a dozen solo albums.

Nothing from any of those recordings - several of which are at least as good as if not better then anything that is included here - appear on this compilation.

Similarly Ultravox! enjoyed a 5 year career, releasing 3 albums and several singles, before their original vocalist John Foxx left and was eventually replaced by Midge Ure. Most fans of the original Ultravox! (myself included) will, perhaps predictably, tell you that the original incarnation of the band was superior to the Midge Ure era version.

None of the recordings by the original Ultravox! appear on this compilation.

If you really want to hear the best of Midge Ure then I would recommend that you start here: The Best of the Rich Kids

Similarly, if you really want to hear the best of Ultravox! then I would recommend that you start here: The Island Years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox
Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox by Ultravox (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews